Hostelworld.com

Baan Kai Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.9
Baan Kai Hostel Located at 3/9 moo 4, Baankai Road, Koh Phangan.
Baan Kai Hostel
Thailand
Koh Phangan 84280 3/9 moo 4, Baankai Road
90% 110
9.7001738 100.0342673
Baan Kai Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Fun and friendly, and it's also not a big hostel, so all get to know eachother pretty well and all go to the full moon together which is really nice. Goff the owner is amazing, kindest person I've ever met, he also organises day trips to some awesome beaches on Koh Phangan. Right next to Baan Kai beach, and has a really good value restaurant next door (50-100 baht a meal). We ate there almost everyday. Will definitley be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Mar 2016
9.1

Such a good hostel with a great atmosphere! Goff the owner was so helpful and took us out on a day trip to some beautiful beaches on the island. He was very helpful in arranging everything for us and the atmosphere was great. One thing that could be improved is adding bins to the room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
8.0

The hostel was a great spot to stay for the full moon party, it's only a 10 min ride from it (about 100 baht). The best part of this hostel is the staff, Gof and the other guys planned little day trips to explore the island and also were great at recommending other places to see on the island. Overall the hostel is basic but the staff made it worth the stay. I highly recommend staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.4

Had an amazing few days at Baan Kai. The owner Gof is friendly and so helpful whether it came to giving us lifts around the island or recommending restaurants. Would def come back here. Great location for full moon too, as a little out of the mayhem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
8.3

The owner of the hostel is fantastic, goes above and beyond, giving tours of the island, takes you to great beaches and to a sunset bar. The only downside is it is quite a small hostel so a bit limited for meeting people and the toilets aren't that clean. Overall atmosphere makes up for that though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Mar 2016
7.1

Had a good time in ban kai hostel. Small family style hostel. Gov the hostel owner was very nice, helpful and was a very good company! Hostel itself was old and unfotunately not that clean. Its located in a good starting position for all parties but itself its a bit apart of the town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
9.7

Where do I begin! Me and my friend did not know what to expect coming to the island, and especially staying at this hostel. it blew us away! The hostel has a great hang out area and the beds/bedrooms are nice! But what made our time here even better was the owner, Goff. HE IS THE MAN! He truly cares about his guests! He was a super down to earth guy who took us to the coolest spots on the island. Unreal trip! Will be staying here again if I return! Great/cheap restaurant next door as well :) !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Mar 2016
9.4

I really recommend this place! The owner is an awesome guy that helps a lot for everything! The 8 dorm is nice and the location is perfect. It is only 100 b from the center. Most friendly hostel that we had in Thailand since one month traveling around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2016
8.6

I had an amazing time here - the other travelers and the wonderful guy who runs the hostel (goff) made my stay. Couldn't ask for better atmosphere, and Goff is the BEST.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Feb 2016
9.4

Spacious rooms, self serve kitchen, lockers outside the dorm, tv with tonnes of shows and movies in common area (nice for hungover days). But the real winner about this hostel is the staff. They were top notch. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Goff was just amazing with helping out with ferry tickets, party tickets, all information about anything we could possibly need. He even took those without scooters out on island tours. Just amazing people running this hostel. Sad to have left.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.