Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Baan Kai Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 175 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 175 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

The gentleman at the front was so wonderful and welcoming. The friendliest experience I had at a hostel while in Thailand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Tony was amazing, he organized trips and transportation for us, was very helpful with any questions we had, and kept the place in great order. It's a wonderful place to stay and next to some great places to eat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 71 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Although it's not so close to the scene, I totally recommend it. The staff is amazing and they took us everywhere making it easy to meet people and see the island from a great perspective. It's also very easy and cheap to go around. There are great and cheap restaurants around besides family mkt and 7-eleven. Just book :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

I can't say enough good things about Baan Kai Hostel! As a solo traveller I am always nervous about hostel atmospheres and Baan Kai was the best hostel I've stayed at by far. The owners are amazing and extremely helpful. They want everyone to have a great time and help everyone feel very welcome. It was like I was visiting friends I've known for 10 years. They include everyone in events and ideas they have. I would stay here again in a heart beat!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

The owners are brilliant. They helped me out in any way they could and always made sure I knew how to get around the island and even gave me a lift a couple times! The rooms are nice and cool, with good aircon. It got very busy during full moon, like everywhere does - the owners hosted pre drinks. Chilled atmosphere after full moon with everyone leaving the island. Very nice hostel and I'd definitely return. Unfortunately I didn't get to go on the day trip around the island

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay and the staff were the most helpful and lovely people on our trip to this point. Highly recommended this hostel if you wish to chill and do activities during the day and still party during the full moon/ half moon parties.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.4

I can't speak highly enough of Baan Kai. Geoff who owns the hostel is so warm and welcoming to every guest. He brought us up to an amazing sunset view the first night to meet everyone and then the next day organised a trip for everyone. He really wants everyone to experience Koh Phangan for what it is and not JUST the full moon although even for that pre drinking and getting ready in the hostel was awesome. There's 2 great restaurants right beside the hostel that are super cheap too. Winner

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Very nice guesthouse for backpackers. I was amazingly well welcomed by a lovely girl from the staff. Room and bathroom wasn’t luxurious but good enough. Nice comfy common area with relaxed atmosphere. I would have enjoyed to stay more if I had liked more Koh Phangan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michelleernst6121
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

AMAZING atmosphere and the owners do an amazing job to make you feel at home! They even took us out on a full day adventure and showed us some absolutely stunning places!! Definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rachfaulkner
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.4

Owners very welcoming. This hostel really stood out for me coz the owners didn't want you to believe that koh phangan was all about partying. It's not, it's got a lot more to offer and if it wernt for them I wouldn't have seen or done what I did. Couldn't thank them enough. Also got a great cafe next door that serves nice cheap western food. Only down side is I felt the lounging out area and bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner. Main thing the rooms and beds were clean & comfy. Recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.