X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Baan Klang Vieng Hostel Reviews

127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
181 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This hostel is good however sometimes i could not get hot water running for a shower. I had a single room was cheaper than the dorms and it was really nice, basic but clean and everything you needed. The receptionist,Jik, was so lovely and helpful.


74%

Do not book the Basic Twin room, it's facing the street and noisy ventilation system of the hotel. Moreover as the thin windows are accessible over a small common balcony, we didn't feel too safe about our valuables during our stay. Changed the room after the first night.


71%

For the price this was a reasonable option. My major gripe is that has 'Tours/Travel Desk' listed as one of the facilities, the staff seemed to struggle to answer questions and arrange anything. Indeed, the things they could help with seemed to be limited to booking taxis.


83%

This was a nice little hostel. It was cheap, and their single room was clean and spacious. It also had some amenities you don't often get at budget places, like a tv and a mini fridge, table and chair in the room, which was nice. However, while I was staying here, there was only one girl working at the hostel who could speak English. When she wasn't working, the front office was closed, and there was no one who could answer my questions or help me. The wifi was also spotty at best during my stay


86%

The facilities were very nice and extremely clean. Great atmosphere, and we appreciated little touches like the bottled water sitting out for people to drink. We stayed in the double room, and it was very nice. Spacious, clean, with AC and private bathroom. The outer door of the place was always unlocked, but our room had a lock, so I felt safe. My only complaint is that the wifi service was pretty terrible during our stay.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good place, the room was clean and spacious, beds comfy, staff was friendly and helpful. Location is also good, right in the heart of the cit in the Old Town. I would definately book it again.


83%

It was a very spacious room with great air conditioning! The location was fabulous! However, it was very noisy throughout the night time. Dogs barking and fighting, doors slamming. The only reason I didn't give good for cleanliness was because no one ever came to empty the trash throughout the stay and there were questionable hairs in the shower upon our arrival. The common areas were very clean and the lady at the front desk was very helpful. Will recommend

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Only one people from the stuff speak in english.. We had booked 4 nights but the manager moved us to a worst room because he booked the same room to another family. Thwy dont clean the bedroom all the days, you have to tell them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
For this customer, we tried to accommodate to meet their requirement. Before arrival, we informed them the deluxe room was fully booked, we suggested them to see dorm room before making decision once they arrived the place. If ok, they can stay one more night. After had a look, they asked for discount, we gave a special offer, and they accepted it. Please check the past reviewing, cleanliness of our hostel is always on top two ranking. We have never made any response except this case.

100%

Fantastic hostel would totally stay here again . Highly recommend it

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

We booked the private room with shared bathroom. Poor room for the money, not what the pictures represented on the Internet. We were put into a different building that was new and nowhere near finished. Construction work was still going on. No hairdryer, no locker, no water, no TV, sticky and dirty floor, bad housekeeping, aircon right over the bed. We could have stayed somewhere better for half the price. It's more like a home stay rather than a hostel. Overall definitely not value for money.


100%

Such a great place to stay. My partner and I had a double room and it was so spacious, and the bed was huge! The lady who ran it was really nice and helped us book some activities. She was so helpful with everything! It's just a quick walk from the centre area, and was a decent walk to all the night markets. Definitely worth staying there. If we go back to Chiang Mai, we'll stay again for sure!


100%

Very pleasant stay. Helpful staff who knew the area very well, set in an ideal location close to all the main attractions, market and nightlife. Superbly clean! Good working air con and fridge which were much needed, and very comfortable beds. Defiantly the best location in chiang mai.


100%

Staff was amazing and super helpful in booking excursions and even helping us book our next hostel in Pai. Highly recommend.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel that is more of a guesthouse right n the heart of old city. Very quiet place with no common area so if you're looking to meet people or party this probably isn't a good fit for you. Host was very nice and willing to book anything we wanted/needed to do. Highly recommend.


94%

Perfect, nothing more is needed.


94%

Staff were very kind and pretty helpful. A great value for the money and it is centrally located on the Backpackers street so it wasn't too far of a walk to anything you would want to get to.


94%

Very clean and comfortable. This is by no means a party hostel; no common area/activities to meet other travelers but if that's what you're looking for, boom!, this place is for you. The manager was extremely nice and very attentive to what tours we wanted to do. She booked everything for us. The hostel is located in what I believe to be a pretty central area. Near several 7/11s and pharmacies and not far from Zoe in Yellow/bars if you wanted to get a little crazy and walk back to your room.


80%

This was our second hostel in Chiang Mai. The owner was nice but strict on rules and being quiet after 11pm. There is no common area to hang out, so not a great place for a social scene. The room was fantastic tho! Bed was comfortable and air condition worked great! It's also a good walking distance from a lot around the city.


100%

This place was great, and made me feel so comfortable. The women running it was honest, friendly, and was more than happy to help. The place was quiet and for the price and it exceeded my expectations. A huge bonus was its location! Close the night market, cafes and a great little restaurant at the corner.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed two nights here as a base to go to Baanchang Elephant Park (which we would strongly recommend!). Perfect for what we needed. Private twin room with ensuite. All v clean and good air con. Wouldn't recommend to those who want to come back loudly and late at night because from what we could gather the owner and her family also lived in the house. Upstairs rooms were for hostel guests and everywhere had clean white tile floors and homely decorations. Excellent location for Sunday night market


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(128 results)


View all Chiang Mai Hostels

Please give us your feedback