Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Baan Smile Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Baan Smile Hostel Located at 119/46 Chaweng Beach Road, Bo Phut, , Koh Samui.
Baan Smile Hostel
Thailand
Koh Samui 84320 119/46 Chaweng Beach Road, Bo Phut
78% 177
9.5401900 100.0712212
Baan Smile Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Aug 2016
8.3

Baan smile is located really well, just outside the main strip of chaweng. So while you're still in the thick of things you're not suffering from the loud music and drunken masses. I think it's run by a local since all the staff is local. While they speak enough English to get by they are extremely warm and helpful. I think they serve as a travel desk as well. Their bathrooms are a bit on the lower side but still clean. Make sure you try the eatery across the street, family guesthouse!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.0

I wasn't impressed with this hostel, it's not the cleanest, the shower is terrible. There isn't a good common room for people to gather and there was just one other person in the hostel at the time. So if you are a solo traveller I would choose elsewhere. The hostel is a bit of a walk from the main action although there are a couple of good bars nearby on the beach. The only thing it's got going for itself is that it's cheap! Try cheeky monkies or liquid lounge instead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.1

Great time at Koh Samui, the hostel is just 10 minutes from the airport. Staffs here are very helpful, they help me to get cheap Tuk Tuk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th May 2016
7.4

Air con is good and beds are comfy! Simple hostel so you get what you pay for in Samui. Not a great hostel if you want to meet people - I was the only one staying here across the whole hostel. If you need a basic place to stay with access to a beautiful part of the beach and access to next doors pool then this is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.6

It is the best rate at the chaweng beach, room is clean and next door is 7-eleven. Super friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.0

It's good for just a place to sleep. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The dorms are super small and cramped but you get a locker which is good size (not big enough for backpack). Bathroom was fine but shared by quite a few people. Power kept going out at night but not the hostels fault. Air con was critical and worked well while we had power.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.0

Good location, helpful and friendly staff and a good price. Very happy with our stay and would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
6.3

My booking got messed up so I ended up in a private room one night which was great. Dorm was nice too. Comfy bed. Bathroom a little gross and no common room. Overall a nice stay. Staff told me I couldn't extend my visa (false) and that I'd have to go to the border. Don't know if they were ill informed but it left a bad taste in my mouth because it felt like they were just trying to sign me up for an unnecessary visa run.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Mar 2016
9.4

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Mar 2016
8.0

The family who run the hostel are so lovely. Happy to talk to you and give you lots of information. The hostel is quite basic but okay for a place to stay for a couple of nights. We had a private room and the Air con worked fine, the wifi is good downstairs and in the living room.. The shared bathroom is clean. Right across from the beach and about a 10 minute walk into the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.