Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Baan Tai - Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2017
6.9

It's great for partying and to meet people. Cleanliness and the inside facilities are little less than average, tho.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
2.6

DONT STAY HERE. Nothing like pics,tiny lockers in the common area and our bedroom door wouldn't shut let alone lock, no atmosphere, staff never about, bar never open, ants everywhere in room, brown water, dirty sheets and rock solid bed, tried to overcharge me TWICE, gave somebody else our bed after we had been there two nights so got woken up by some screaming girl?! (They overbooked and didn't even apologise). It's recently sold so seems like they don't care now. Don't waste your £$€.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • GavinBoyle6176
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
3.4

Place is being bought out by the hostel across the way staff didn't seem to care much about the place anymore room was a disgrace was asked to choose a bed they all looked like someone was already in them it was that messy. Ants everywhere, seen spiders and when I woke up seen a lizard on the wall. Place across the way looked great though

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place to post up for Half Moon party. Fun, laid back staff and great place to pregame as a group before going into the festival.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Booked 1 night but stayed longer, great staff, really helping us to see some of the island. Bar is busy and good atmosphere with pool table and drinking games etc. Made loads of new friends! They even had a huge cinema room to chill out in. Location is close to the Jungle and Half Moon party and loads of taxis passing to go into Had Rin. Plenty of choice to eat nearby and 7-11 just few doors down. Definitey one of the best hostels I stayed in during my travels so far. Thanks guys!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Super friendly and lively staff know how to make your stay a good time. Rooms were very clean. Couldn't be a better location. If I come back I will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th May 2017
5.1

Here for full moon and there was no atmosphere!! Staff are rude. Wouldnt give my passport for me to rent a bike. Asked for the paint for full moon at 11pm so we could get started and they said no not until midnight! Rude staff, worst atmosphere. Only good thing was the wifi and aircon. We spent all our time over the road at Echo beach where the staff were great even though we weren't staying there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2017
6.0

Just an okay place to rest your head! Could be way way better, but also could be a lot worse. The rooms were incredibly dirty, and the pillows had mold. The air-con did not work! If you want to stay somewhere with an atmosphere in the same area, I would recommend Arena.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
7.4

The staff was very nice, and helpful with finding ANYthing you could want or need. The room I booked was supposed to have A/C, but it did not, and during the hot season, that sucked. The atmosphere was slow compared to other hostels in the area, because it doesn't have many beds. This price for a hostel during Full Moon tho, you can't beat the value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tizbungi2210
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel. Owners and staff were great at getting the party started and really friendly. Good atmosphere, very social and great for partying. Only downside is the cleanliness isn't great. I'd still return :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.