X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Baan Tai - Backpackers Reviews

Ban Tai Rd., Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
181 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Stayed here for a few nights and had a great time!!! Staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was always good!!! Would definitely recommend

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazingly welcoming & lovely staff. Fab vibe at the hostel. Really informative setting you up with whatever your interests/needs are. Helped whenever they could. No pressure can chill or drink. Future plans will make it even better! Budget fan dorm was amazing value- but it does get toasty with 6 bods! Fan dorm bathroom could do with a serious clean- but how long do you really spend in there??! Rest of building was clean. Would definitely return - thanks for having me and for all your help xx


91%

Tristan and the crew are amazing. They really care about their guests and love getting to know them and showing them the coolest places of the island. Awesome place to stay before one of the big parties because you are sure to meet tons of new friends before the party even starts. I would return in a heartbeat. Very sad I had to leave.


100%

The location is great and not too far from both main towns. The owners (Karen and Tristan) are super amazing and friendly, along with the workers, and make this place what it is. Also, we rented a bike and Tristan was more than happy to take us to some spots we'd never find on our own. The rooms are big enough (definitely pay a little more for air con, it's worth it!), clean, there are lockers for valuables and the bathroom is huge (I was in a 6 bed dorm). Can't fault the place.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

had a really fun trip over Full Moon at the hostel, great place and really friendly + helpful staff!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Baan Tai was great. There's always a good party, but if you don't feel like it then no one pressures you (this seems rare at party hostels. The employees are incredibly knowledgeable of the surrounding areas, and you can rent a bike for cheap. The bathrooms were clean. The fan dorm was pretty nice, and cheap. The ac dorm was upstairs, so it was quieter in the evenings. The hostel is walking distance to a couple of good restaurants, and about two buildings down from a 7-11. Good party all around.


97%

Had the best time ever! All the staff are so lovely and friendly and it's the best location for the half moon festival. Best pre drinks, best people, best place!

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Zac and the rest of the staff were super helpful and welcoming! Had a great time!


100%

Tristan and Karen were unreal. Helped me settle in and made sure to outline what I needed to see before organizing motor bike for me. At night the whole team makes sure everybody is involved in games and by the end of the night there isn't a person who doesn't know everybody. We all went out together as a hostel every night and couldn't have had a better time. Unreal hostel and a great experience. Already recommended to many people heading to phangan.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, with an amazing vibe! Staff are friendly and make you feel welcomed from the moment you step through the door. They are all rich with knowledge and can help you with everything you could possibly need.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed here for half moon party and had an amazing time! Staff were great and really made an effort to include everyone and make sure you were having a good time. Great A/C, security, and breakfast too! They give out free towels and the owners have some awesome recommendations of cool sights to check out on the island! They also help arrange accommodations for any night out, will definitely be coming back and would recommend!


100%

I just had an amazing there during the full moon party! The location is just perfect because its close to everything and the staff is aamaazing ! They gave us good advice and were chilling with us and very very helpful! We had seriously the time of our life in this hostel and on this island! You really want to go there for the cleaness of the bedrooms (we had a private room for the two first nights (it was amazing) and a dorm for the last three Nd it was very very good too! Thank you for all!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Even though we went in low season we still had a really good time thanks to how friendly and helpful the staff were, giving us tips on what to do in the day and at night!


89%

I wasnt here for the Full Mood Party, so my experience was a lot more chill. The staff was super friendly and down to party with the guests. DONT TRUST THE LOCATION ON GOOGLE MAPS! The location on Hostelworld is correct though, as this hostel is not by Thong Sala pier.


94%

This hostel is awesome for the full moon. They make a little party before everyone goes to the FULL MOON PARTY. Free shot + Paint was perfect. Also, the staff was very mindfull about you. They make sure that you have everything you need. The owner, Christian, know exacly the good place to visit and gave good advice to you. ***Thanks all for everything!


100%

i had an amazing stay! the guys Tristan, Martin, Karen and emaan took everyone under their wings and showed us a great time ! All the best spots to eat, party, relax, get motor bikes. Ensured we had a great time even though it is low season and it wasn't even full moon. Can't thank the guys enough, I will be back with a vengeance !!! Haha untill next time legends !! Dyl rit


66%

Lovely staff and super cheap but no atmosphere and not clean. I think maybe there was no atmosphere due to songkran so not the hostels fault.


100%

This place was AWESOME! Tristan and Karen were so welcoming and had so much knowledge. They helped with giving great ideas on day trips and other events on the island. We were there over the full moon period, if your thinking of staying here just book it! We have made the most amazing lifelong friends in just 5 days and have even travelled around with them afterwards and caught up. From both a Kiwi and Aussie traveller 👍👍

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Sooo good hostel I really love it.... Stuff amazing...so good if you are gonna go for party...


89%

We had the most amazing week staying here after the full moon party. All the staff were so friendly, easy to get along with and encouraged drinking games to get to know other people! The rooms were pretty cleans and the beds were really comfortable. The only thing I would say was to put air con in the downstairs bedroom, as all 3 of us on bottom bunks were fighting over the fan ha! But apart from that, we loved it here! Would definitely stay here again when I return! WE ALL LOVE YOU


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback