Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Baan Tai - Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Baan Tai - Backpackers Located at Ban Tai Rd., , Koh Phangan.
Baan Tai - Backpackers
Thailand
Koh Phangan 84280 Ban Tai Rd.
80% 251
9.7005756 100.0206898
Baan Tai - Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

Definitely a social hostel. The staff are all amazing, but only stay here if you want to socialise. We stayed for one night and the whole hostel played beer pong, drinking games and went to a floating bar together. The facilities were very basic, the most basic hostel we stayed in in Thailand, no water dispenser or kitchen use but they do have a bar where you can buy drinks. Good location, short taxi from the pier and walk to the beach. Great for one crazy night of partying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel. Right next door to echo with a great beach bar but without the noise! Air con, balcony, nice beds. We werE in a room which I broke the lid of the toilet and were just moved to a better room! No fuss! Staff are welcoming and love to party as well. Free neon paint for the black moon was fun. Nice hot showers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.6

We stayed 1 night at Ban Tai in a private room for the half moon party. Downstairs in the bar before the party is good fun & you get to paint each other with the glow in the dark paints. Tristan the owner is an absolute legend. Would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
8.0

Good location for half moon party! Pros -great and super friendly staff -not too pricey -great late night food options nearby (go to lexy's pancakes) -beer hop your options -easy to meet people Cons -facilities are not the newest -bathrooms are just ok -floor could be a little cleaner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.9

Great experience for Half Moon Party!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2016
6.3

Its good if you are in the island only looking for party.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Great location for those looking to do the Jungle and Full Moon parties. They have cabs that come to pick you upbfor the party, so you don't need to worry about getting there. The beach and bar crawl is by far the best tour I went on in Thailand. The greatest snorkeling spots (and they provide good gear) and the best panoramic views. Karen and Tristan (the owners) are fantastic as well and will do what they can to make sure you have a great time. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.1

The hostel has a great atmosphere perfect if you want to meet people and great around the full moon party, in addition the staff are amazing, I lost my phone in a taxi and they helped locate the phone for me, i would definitley stay here again and would reccomend it to friends,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

I had an amazing time at Baan Tai, staff are amazing and the guests were too. To overall atmosphere was better than I imagined and the hostel is great. Definitely recommend staying here for full moon party or any other event!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
6.6

Stayed here for the half moon party. Was expecting a party hostel where I would be able to meet a lot of people as I was traveling this leg of my trip alone. The hostel had 20 people staying there and it wasn't a very social atmosphere. Staff is awesome and if you really want to stay on Phangan, it's definitely an okay hostel. Nothing wrong with it per say, but I would highly recommend spending more time on Koh Tao rather than spending time on Koh Phangan. Might be different for Full Moon though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.