X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bachelor Inn Reviews

5931 Bachelor Ave. West Landivar, Belize City, Belize

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
47 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Awesome rooftop, and great Chinese food on the same block!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

When we arrived we waited for over an hour for someone to come to the desk and let us check in. Then, she said there was no reservation even though we had already made a deposit and confirmed our reservation through Hostelworld. The hotel was very, very far away from the city center and is located in an EXTREMELY sketchy, questionable neighbourhood. The room was big, but the shower didn't work and the air conditioner was too loud to sleep with. Nancy, the owner, tried to help us by calling taxis


83%

This is a hotel not a hostel. Great place, very clean, good value for money. Only issue was the location. We went walking around but this area does not feel safe, even during the day. The lady was helpful. Good service with order in food available as you don't want to be walking around at night to find food. It's a shame it's not closer to the center, otherwise good.


91%

excellent value for the money. Nancy the owner, very helpful, but please remember, if you need a Taxi at 4.00am, to ask for it the night before, she needs her sleep too. I didn't do that, but someone did. I intend to go back for my final night in Belize, andy

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hotel was well located between two stores and walking distance to downtown Belize City. The room was nice and large with working AC unit. Her security was excellent with gates locked at night and 24 hours working security cameras linked to the police station. The apartment was clean and the proprietress was very nice and always worked to satisfy and exceed clients expectations. It is excellent place for students and long-term working trip.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

DO NOT book a tour with the tour company that Nancy suggests; the tour lady only wants money and is very unprofessional - you can do it a lot cheaper yourselves (we did). Other than that, Nancy is helpful and kind, and the rooms are spacious and clean - although it rains in through the roof. Wouldn't recommend the place, but it's a relatively cheap stay.


91%

Bachelor inn is great. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Comfortable bed and living space. Soap and towels provided in bathrooms. Air conditioning is a rare commodity in budget stays in Belize. Felt like a palace compared to grubby hostels. While the inn is outside of the city center and far from bus and boat terminals, local buses run constantly from either end of the street for one Belize Dollar per person. The inn is very secure with locked gates and security cameras.


91%

We stayed here for around 5 weeks whilst doing our elective placement at the hospital. Whilst you will read scary things about Belize city, the Bachelor Inn is in one of the safest parts of town, within walking distance of the hospital (we did it daily, but never alone). Nancy took really great care of us, we don't think we have managed such a long time in BC without her! Good wifi and cable TV which helps when you are staying in after dark. Thanks Nancy!!!


40%

Belize City is not a great place to stay in general. Okay, the staff didn't understand that I'd put down a deposit, assigned us two rooms on separate floors instead of the four bed dorm we'd reserved. After arguing with the staff we able to get one room at a slight discount. The room was not clean, we had to request a shower curtain and there was a gigantic roach in the kitchen sink. Also, there is nothing in the local neighborhood by way of foods or services.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This facility was nice. The AC and TV were nice to have, but the location was very far from everything.


49%

The premises seem to be in process of remodeling. Ceiling lights hanging by exposed wires .... Padlock on the door (outside) .. Untouched, packaged food removed from the room. ....... Shower barely "trickling" water .

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Staff was unfriendly and not very helpfull. Saw large cockroach in the bathroom. Bad part of town.

  • 11th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

ok place and safe nice rooms and roof terrace spacious a litlle far from the city , 6 belizedollars to go there by taxi


43%

We was required to pay the complete rate of 39.00 usd. In order to get acess to the facilities. We kindly Ask you to refund what is paid to you. We did not feel ant service ore friendlyness at thi hostel !

  • 18th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Large room with TV, ac, kitchen, near a local shop and bus stop with regular buses to town,. Enjoyed the roof top terrace.

  • 14th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Great for one or two nights! TV, air conditioning, microwave, a ton of space...


33%

I would not recommend anyone to stay here. It's far from anything you'd need, including food, and you have to walk through sketchy neighborhoods to get anywhere. On top of that, the minute my boyfriend sat down in one of the chairs in the room, he had bugs crawling all over him. The bar of soap hadn't been changed and was there from the previous occupant. The mattresses were disgusting and the sheets didn't even wrap all the way down around them. Do NOT stag here. Splurge and stay anywhere else!

  • 22nd Aug 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


73%

Nancy and her staff were great. Great Customer Service. If you are on a budget this is the place to go.

  • 21st Jan 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

By far the WORST "hotel" I never been !! It must be eradiqued of your webside ! They were big cockroachs and it had all the defaults of the world (unsafe area, dirty, half destroyed...)

  • 18th Oct 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Owner of the hostel is not trustworthy. I would not recomend this hostel at all. There is nothing nice about it!

  • 26th Aug 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Belize City Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback