X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Back Home Backpackers Reviews

72/1 Samsen Rd.(soi 2) Banglampoo, Pranakorn BKK T, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
34 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I stayed here my first night in Bangkok- very friendly people and staff and clean beds. Near to the kao San road but not too near! Good value for not a lot of money- would recommend


91%

Great staff. Sophie, the owner, is lovely. If they are full they will try to get you in somewhere else. Lockers under the beds for small bags. Comfy beds with complementary towel. Cheap beer and nice atmosphere downstairs, where many people hang around. It's about a 6 minute walk from the busy Khao San Road. To get from airport, take airport train to Phaya Thai (45 baht) and get a metered taxi from there. Make sure they start the meter at 35 baht, not 200 or more. Taxi should be 80 baht


74%

The facilities are not as plenty as described. It's a very small hostel with only two dorms. The atmosphere is great and very social. The location is quite perfect, you have many bars and small restaurants around and it's just a short walk to Khao San Road. You can also reach the main tourist attractions by foot. I would stay there again.


91%

Great atmosphere, warm and welcoming people and place! Looking forward to part 2

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Back home backbackers was a fantastic place to stay! The atmosphere was great, because the effort of the staff to make it feel like 'back home'. I found it so relaxing that it was easy not to go anywhere and just hang out in the hostel. ;-)

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay there was amazing!!! I will come back for sure! All the team is so friendly, and the name of this guesthouse suits the place perfectly. "Back Home" is exactly what you feel everytime you come back there. I stayed there longer than expected (2 weeks...) and I gotta say that my mistake was to begin my 6 month trip there because now, all the other guest house seems wrong...! The place to stay in Bangkok !!!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

BEST HOSTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. The staff was unbelievable! So incredably kind and helpful. Made you feel like a friend not a costumer. Every morning they greet you nicely and ask you about your day. They are honestly interested in your conversation and they are the kindest staff you can find anywhere. The beds were awesome. The location was perfect. The cleanliness and overall atmosphere was outstanding. Great wifi. Great security. Best value for your money that's for sure. STAY HERE!!!


91%

Really loved my stay at Back Home Backpackers! The atmosphere was great, one big family! Everybody is very helpfull if you need information or advice. The beds are nice and clean.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lassie and sofie are really awesome hosts. Great advice for what about to do in Bangkok. Close to Khao San and all the activity. Big comfy beds!!! Hot wafter too.


89%

Fantastic place to stay, comfy beds, close to everything you need, amazing guys who run it, so friendly and know all about the area and tours (both used to work for a tour comanpy I think). Chilled atmosphere and a great little restaurant just down the road that delivers to the hostel. Cheers guys!


94%

Good hostel, friendly staff and good location next to Khao san road. Sophie is Australian, facilitating the communication, because Thai don't speak English. "Nen", another staff, is lovely and helped me a lot. Great climate at night with the guests. Bom local, com ótimos funcionários e próximo a Khao san road. Sophie é australiana, o que ajuda na comunicação, já que tailandeses não falam muito inglês. A outra funcionária, que eu chamava de Nen, é extremamente atenciosa.


97%

When you think of traveling this is the hostel you envisage. On the backyard of Kao san, this quaint hostel doesn't look like much, but, a few days in you realise that it has everything you need; functional facilities, a perfect location and a wealth of great people.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved this hostel! It's cozy and clean. Great atmosphere for solo travelers. Lasse and Sophie are super friendly and professional. Maybe the one downside is that breakfast is not provided.


80%

Thanks for making great time in Bangkok!

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed there for 2 nights in a dorm. You got everything you need: clean beds, WC, Shower and a very nice Bar. The Staff was crazy but very friendly. We liked the atmosphere at this hostel and can recommend this 100%.


94%

Book now! Amazing hostel with the best staff you can ask for. Lasse and Sophie go out of their way to make your time there enjoyable. Fantastic atmosphere. Easy as can be to meet people if you are traveling alone. Short walk to Khao San Road. Thanks for everything!


91%

Great staff who creates a nice atmosphere. The beds are really good and the location perfect for backpackers. It's located about 5 min walk from Khao San Road and some other really nice streets with a lot of bars and restaurants.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel! Good beds, hot shower and a nice common area to meet other people.


100%

The owner/operator (Lasse) is really helpful and has put a lot of time and effort into this hostel. It's a good place to socialize, sleep, and pretty close to Koa San Rd. if you're looking to party. Solid hostel, but it's Lasse's personal attention to each person staying there that really sets it apart (he learns each person's name - and is always there to provide helpful information regarding Bangkok).


91%

Lasse, the danish owner is a really cool guy, thathat knows a lot about the city and is always eager to help and give some usefull tips. The hostel is small, but clean and the atmosphere is great. The location is good to as it's just a 10 minutes walk to chaosan rd where you can find a lot of nice bars. We had a really nice time there and if we'll ever make it back toto Bangkok, that's our place to stay.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback