X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpack City and Surf Reviews

41-43 Money St, Perth, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
127 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I was satisfied with this hostel even it was only 1 night stay. I have stayed the other hostels in Perth before but they were really noisy at night because people had a party every night, while this hostel was calm and quiete, which I consider it is the most important thing for hostels. During the night I enjoyed reading books, doing net surfing.(it offers free wifi!) and having dinner a restaurant near this hostel.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Really bad stuff, bad location, not a nice place to stay!!!


54%

Very poor hostel, noisy, small dirty kitchen and not equipped, backyard really poor with old couches and ruined tables. Room was ok, basic toilet enough clean. Good position from CBD.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

24hr free wifi is really useful,and the location is perfect. Staff are nice and friendly,its like a big family!I would like to introduce everybody this hostel.


94%

Just lockers are missing,but avery good hostel with a good hostel manager

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Good - Staff are nice and friendly, free wifi is great and is very quick, location is OK - just outside Northbridge's bars and cafes. Bad - the place feels run down and could do with a bit of money being spent on it. The kitchen has got an old CRT television with two garden chairs in there, there isn't much fridge space, and the bathroom is tiny - the sinks are right in front of the showers and there is nowhere to put clothes etc when having a shower.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy. Each rooms' window faces the indoor common area! No air flow whatsoever! On a 35 C degree day, it is 40 C in your room, even at night. These windows have very flimsy curtains, too, so the staff and residents that like to mill about in the common area can see into your room--like, always. There were bedbugs in many of the rooms. If for some reason you do decide to sleep in a puddle of bugs and your own sweat, know that the wifi and location are good.


86%

Location is in quiet street and walking to the train station and city centre is along a vibrant restaurant and art district. People were friendly, kitchen was clean, single room was perfect for my needs.


66%

The atmosphere is very good, the people are nice and help in case you have questions. But I don't would like to cook for more than a few days in the kitchen and the bathroom clean, but not really comfortable


71%

liked : free wifi, helpful staff, good location disliked: no locker, bed makes sound everytime we move


54%

Very cold place and small room. Free wifi is good, but washing your laundry is expensive.


89%

This backpackers is best choice~ I decided extend a week at here~^^


86%

nice hostel in perth. marc who runs the night shift will help you out with everything you need and will be your best friend for the duration of your stay :)!


57%

Pity the management doesn't invest in the hostel though it is located very good...

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

I wouldnt stay here again. This is a run down hostel full of working men. Really isnt worth the money. I was freezing but you had to pay $30 for an extra blanket. The shower and the toilet were only seperated by 3/4 of a wall so when i was taking a shower i could smell exactly what the guy in the loo was doing!! No reception betwen 12-5, no lockers, small kitchen. Hardly any girls staying here. Only positives were free wifi, location nr to Northbridge and Supermarket and that the shower was hot.


100%

Stayed at this hostel infrequently over the last few years and found it always very enjoyable. Giving 100% because over the years they continually improved on almost everything, free Wifi, upgraded backyard area but most of all it got much cleaner, to name a few things. It's quiet but very close to the nightlife, supermarkets within 2 minutes walk, train station and city centre about 10 minutes walk away. Little Chinatown with cheap takeaway food 2 minutes away and the staff is always great!!!!

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Here is really convenient. The location is near China Town and Coles. And the enviroment is not bad , the staffs are kind and i get many information about travelling in Perth City. Good place :)

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a good time there.Its like a sweet home.The staff like my family,they take care of me,and always very nice. The kitchen and shower room is clean,and its very important for me.I like it so much!

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything in city and surf is pretty good. The rooms are clean and confortable.The people are nice and friendly.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff are so nice and friendly and the location is pretty good,small shops, convenient stores and a super market are just around the corner! The kitchen and shower room are tidy,they clean every morning,even have room service everyday.by the way ,free internet is very helpful. They provide many information about looking for job. And I meet a lot of friends from different counrty. My friend and I had very time there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Perth Hostels

Please give us your feedback