Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House Located at Takacs Menyhert u. 33, , Budapest.
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
Hungary
Budapest Hungary 1113 Takacs Menyhert u. 33
90% 567
47.4736056 19.0307879
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.9

Really nice chilled out atmosphere. Location was slightly out of town, but easy to park (as we had a car) and good transport options. Staff were helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.7

This is the greatest hostel. Been here last year, loved it so came back. Real friendly, clean, best facilities, peaceful perfect zen garden, lovely stuff. Strongly recommend. Far from city but u can take tram 49 which is quite frequent and runs at night too, be in the center in 15 mins.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

I honestly felt like I was at home here, everyone was so chilled out, and it was like a little family, a little bit out of town but nothing if you enjoy walking/short bus journeys. Definitely needed after 3 nights in the city centre, definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel itself was fairly decent, however we were placed in a very cramped basement dorm. The room was only big enough for three beds but they had squeezed in an extra bed, this meant the beds were very close together and there was not enough ventilation - the room was pretty damp. The garden area was nice during the day, a nice place to chill out in the hammock. It was just a shame we couldn't use the garden after 9pm. Location was not ideal - a bus and a metro away from the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Hi all, The hostel is really cool and the atmosphere is lovely but keep in mind that you will need bike, the hostel offers rental, in order to get downtown. In my opinion the most valuable asset the hostel has is the staff, they are really friendly and helpful. So yeah if you don't have a place Shantee is a good choice. Meto

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Can't recommend Shantee hostel enough.. The staff were so friendly, the rooms were clean, you're minutes from the bus stop, and you meet lovely travellers from around the world. My only criticism would be maybe add so,e blinds to the attic because it's quite bright in the morning. Otherwise bring a sleeping mask :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, great staff and best atmosphere ever. THANK YOU SO MUCH guys, see you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Shantee is the best hostel my group's ever stayed in - all the staff were friendly and helpful, the reception desk was 24/7 but somehow whoever was there was always happy & you could make friends with everyone staying in the house, they were all so friendly too ! the garden was so beautiful and calm - there was free-for-all coffee & the rooms were really well air-conned and always clean. Would probably come back to Hungary just to stay in Shantee again : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.3

Great hostel thanks to the staff Who create a good atmosphere. We met Nice people too and had opportinities to have fun in a respectful hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.