Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 537 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House Located at Takacs Menyhert u. 33, , Budapest.
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
Hungary
Budapest Hungary 1113 Takacs Menyhert u. 33
89% 537
47.4736056 19.0307879
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • pinne0207286
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Shantee is hands-down THE BEST hostel I have ever stayed at. I had only booked one night originally, but after my first few moments in the house, I knew I needed to stay longer. I ended up staying four nights in total, and I've met the most wonderful people each night. The facilities are top notch and the hammocks are a definite plus. They even let you camp in the backyard if there's room and you have a tent. I love you Shantee; be back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Awesome place, has a very distinctive style with great people running the hostel. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.0

Nice chilled place on the edge of Budapest but close to the bus stop and near to a city bike terminal so very handy for cycling into and around the city. 'Good vibe', convenient and sociable kitchen, friendly staff, but lockers could be bigger. Overall, recommended for people looking for a lovely place to stay who want to be sociable but without the late-night party atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

This is a one of a kind place. My fav so far. It's a little out of town, but public transport (20min) is so easy, even when under construction. The vibe: super chill (not a party hostel). It's decor is beautiful. I stayed in a yert. Best thing I've ever done (summer). Spacious. Ventilated. Bliss. Staff phenomenal. Cleanliness tip top. Did I mention the perculator? I would come here again and again and again. Such a chilled out beautiful hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel with great staff and atmosphere, loved our stay here. Had a kitchen with free drinks and communal food. It was in a location out of the city centre but within walking distance of trams and busses to the centre, which only took 15 mins. The only problem was that it was near the railway and some roadworks so there was a bit of noise occasionally which I can imagine was annoying for the campers. Overall I loved it, would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2016
10.0

Wow, what an amazing place in Budapest! I have stayed at multiple hostels before this one, and this hostel trumps them all easily. It has such a nice atmosphere, everyone is so friendly and laid back and willing to meet new people. It takes about 10-15 minutes by bus or about a 30-40 minute walk to get into the center, which for me was fine. They also have a cat and dog which is awesome. The staff are so helpful and friendly. All round a perfect hostel. Everyone and anyone should stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.4

Would stay again. In a quiet residential neighborhood but easy walking distance to public transport restaurant etc. Staff are terrific.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice garden to hang out in. The hostel is located in a residential area very far from the city center. It takes about 25 mins to get to pest by train because the tram is not working. Homey atmosphere but wouldn't recommend if you want easy access to the main attractions/restaurants/bars in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • daniossa
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Shantee House was an amazing experience. The people, place and atmosphere were great. Staff is always willing to help you and people are extremely friendly. The hostel is located on the Buda side of Budapest, so it is a bit far from the majority of attractions and "nightlife", but you can get to the other side of Budapest by bus or tram and it only takes 20 mins. I stayed here for a week and I would've definitely stayed a lot longer. I'm definitely coming back here next time I'm in Budap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

The best hostel I have ever seen :-) Nice quiet place for relax and good sleeping. Comfortable bed, lovely garden, well equipped kitchen, nice living room, helpful staff, free tea and coffee.... as at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.