Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 559 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House Located at Takacs Menyhert u. 33, , Budapest.
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
Hungary
Budapest Hungary 1113 Takacs Menyhert u. 33
90% 559
47.4736056 19.0307879
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel itself was fairly decent, however we were placed in a very cramped basement dorm. The room was only big enough for three beds but they had squeezed in an extra bed, this meant the beds were very close together and there was not enough ventilation - the room was pretty damp. The garden area was nice during the day, a nice place to chill out in the hammock. It was just a shame we couldn't use the garden after 9pm. Location was not ideal - a bus and a metro away from the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.9

Hi all, The hostel is really cool and the atmosphere is lovely but keep in mind that you will need bike, the hostel offers rental, in order to get downtown. In my opinion the most valuable asset the hostel has is the staff, they are really friendly and helpful. So yeah if you don't have a place Shantee is a good choice. Meto

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel, great staff and best atmosphere ever. THANK YOU SO MUCH guys, see you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Shantee is the best hostel my group's ever stayed in - all the staff were friendly and helpful, the reception desk was 24/7 but somehow whoever was there was always happy & you could make friends with everyone staying in the house, they were all so friendly too ! the garden was so beautiful and calm - there was free-for-all coffee & the rooms were really well air-conned and always clean. Would probably come back to Hungary just to stay in Shantee again : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.3

Great hostel thanks to the staff Who create a good atmosphere. We met Nice people too and had opportinities to have fun in a respectful hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
6.6

This is a very nice hostel with a lot of atmosphere. Not much privacy, but the garden is absolutely amazing, the best place in the world. Plus, they have a cat! Cat is nice. It felt a bit too crowded sometimes and the location was not brilliant but the staff was very nice and helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

Amazing hostel, really nice atmosphere. Location is really far out though and there isnt much security. Pretty much anyone can get into the hostels and into the rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel. Great decorations. Clean. Cozy. Family friendly atmosphere. Actually met people! The Yurt was surprisingly cool, had lights, lockers, plenty of outlets. Friendly fun staff. Friendly fun backpackers. Not a crazy party host but there were people who went out that we could have easily joined. Lots of people cooking there own food. A more mature group of actual travelers not just crazy party animals. I'd say go here if you want to stay a week in Budapest and make some new friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

This place was by far my favorite hostel during my trip around Europe! The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of the location. It's easy to access from transit but it's in a neighborhood where everything closes early and nothing seems to be close by. Honestly besides that it was great, staffs friendly, rooms were clean and there are lots of places to hang out and meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.