Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 600 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 600 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Pleasant, family-like atmosphere for unrelated folks. A little surprised some of the dorm bedrooms didn't have locks. And could have used a few more showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.4

It's a little ways from the city center, but still very accessible with public transportation. Staff was so friendly and helpful, and the building was super clean. There was a good atmosphere, but it wasn't noisy or distracting from the upper levels. No locks on doors, but there are lockers available if you have a padlock. The kitchen was well-stocked for cooking, and the coffee/tea available was nice for breakfast. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

This place is awesome. Beautiful spacious and clean. A little out of the way but definitely worth it for the atmosphere and staff. Easy to make new friends here. I'll definitely be coming back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gary9090
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Shantee house was lovely :) very comfortable and relaxing. Kitchen is great and the outdoor areas are very chill. Staff were amazing and very helpful. It's a little out of the city but public transport is cheap and reliable and the shantee house also hires bikes !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

it was great, no problem :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Definitely a place to go! cosy, spotless, peaceful atmosphere, really kind staff.. one of the most beautiful hostels that I've ever been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel in Budapest. Warm and friendly stuff and guests, clean warm rooms and other parts of hostel. Whole atmosphere is very positive. Hostel is decorated really diverse and colorful and with artistic style. They are pet friendly, bike-pack friendly and friendly to everyone. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone who wants to visit this beautiful city. We stay short, but our experience at Shantee House is 100% positive, and we will come back here for sure. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Peaceful area in the busy budapest. Inspiring people keeping the project blooming. The chickpea omlet for breakfast was delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.7

Wonderful destination for inner peace seekers. Unique atmosphere and irreplaceable staff team ready to help you, provide information from the perspective of a local inhabitant or explain intricacies of the Hungarian language. Accommodation in a good location at a reasonable price. Good connections to the city center. There is well equipped kitchen. Come, make yourself comfortable and meet interesting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.4

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a beautiful dog - which let's be honest would win anyone over! But our overall stay could not be faulted. The staff were so accommodating - we had a slight emergency on the day we checked out which made us late for check out time but they were so fine about it and let us sit and have a cup of tea and relax. Oh did we relax! The atmosphere here was so serene, we could be forgiven for thinking we were in a yoga retreat! Thankyou Shantee House, we love u

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.