Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 685 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hmslewis4308
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.1

Staff are super friendly, the atmosphere is great and the hostel was beautiful. The only slight issue is that it fairly far from the city center. Would stay stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.4

One of the nicer hostels I've stayed in. Very chill and relaxing atmosphere. Very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
9.7

My boyfriend and I had the most enjoyable stay ever at The Shantee house. The staff were great, the hostel was clean and homely and the other guests made our trip one to remember. We stayed in the tent which I was slightly reluctant about before our stay but the blow up air bed was very comfortable and the tent inself was quite spacious. There was also plenty of head room. We will definitely be returning in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
7.1

Cash only and nearest ATM is a hike through not a well lit area. Towels aren't included in price. The room I was in had a window directly onto the patio with the breakfast table which was very loud. Nice place but overpriced and actually seemed kind of pretentious or stuffy or something (though really crowded so clearly they're doing ok). Location is farther away than expected.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AbelloAlan
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
9.4

Great place to stay in Budapest, nice facilities and staff. Is a little bit far from the city center but easy to get by public transportation or walking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

A really cool, hippy, chilled hostel. A unique experience in Budapest. Amazing decor, feels like you could be anywhere in the world at Shantee house. Good kitchen facilities, and good ensuite in rooms. Quite hot in rooms as no AC. Location not the best, but tram was easy to get into center. Staff really cool and chatty, good travel talks. Awesome outside area too with tents, yurt and sofa beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Shantee house was quirky with a relaxed and chilled vibe. Facilities were brilliant with a relaxing indoor space to cool off, a communal garden and kitchen to hang out in and a mixture of dorms to choose from. Located outside of the main hustle and bustle of the city you get more of a local and cultural experience as you have to venture into the city. Perfect for us and will certainly be staying again when I head back to Budapest, a city that surprised me and stole my heart !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.7

We had a lovely time here, the security is good as there is a gate at the front but there weren't enough lockers In the room for us to share one. The location is ok, as the trams and buses run regularly meaning access to the city is easy but it is a bit far away from everything so the atmosphere around the hostel isn't lively as it is a residential area. Staff were helpful although we tried to check out at 5:30am as we had an early train and they said the reception was 24/7 but no one was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
10.0

this is by far the best hostel l've ever stayed in, and there's really nothing quite like it (that l've seen). I had the greatest time in budapest which l larggely credit to choosing this hostel, so much so that l cannot wait to come back to Budapest (and stay here)!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

most amazing hostel i've ever been to. it's not in the center but you can get there within 10 minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.