Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
9.7

Beautiful place to stay, with really good service!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Great Hostel! The hostel is located in a quiet area, but the city center is easily accessible all day by bus, tram and metro. Staff is great, atmosphere is great, I definitely recommend this hostel. Only downside is that I was in the 6 bed mixed dorm in the basement which has its window right at the front garden. When people come back in the middle of the night and sit in the front garden, it can be noisy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
8.3

The hostel away from the center of Budapest but bus and tram transportation are close by and convenient. The hostel is in a suburban residential so it very quiet. The hostel appears to be very new so the accomidations and facilities are new and well maintained.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Shantee House - definitely the place to be! Shantee House isn't one of these way to big hostels with no soul in it. It isn't one of these hostels with just tourists in it. The shantee house is a place for traveller. For people who like to share their experiences. For people who are openminded and got a good heart. Not just the people who come there, also the staff is excellent - very friendly and extremly helpful. Never been in such a great hostel & it definitely won't be my last stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.6

Really peaceful place! It's like giant tea house. The staff were really accommodating to us. And it's so easy to get to the city centre using public transport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
10.0

A very formative stay throughout my solo travels. I got sick and needed medication from a local hospital, and retuning to my little space in the yurt, drinking tea, enjoying the company of others outside was all I could have asked for. I highly recommend this hostel. Spend a few days in pesh & head to buda for a more authentic time. Thank you to the workers who make the space feel homey and whole. If I could live there I would. And this is the truth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in!!! Extended my stay purely based on the friendly staff and lovely people I met there. Will definitely be returning in the future! Everything about this hostel is amazing and I would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely chilled out vibe 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect place to crash, nice and welcoming atmosphere i liked the touch of Persian and Indian vibe...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

Lovely place, it feels extremely cozy. The only downside is that it's too far to walk back from city center in the night after a few beers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
9.1

A great place to stay! However, not all beds have easily accessible electric outlet. Wifi was nice and fast! They have several small common areas which is nice (kitchen, living room, and outside area). Location is a little outside city, but a pleasant quiet area. Shower could be improved - no lock on door, motion-sensitive light turns off while taking shower, and have to press shower knob every 10 seconds to keep water going (annoying). Nice staff working at the hostel! I would stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.