Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House Located at Takacs Menyhert u. 33, , Budapest.
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
Hungary
Budapest Hungary 1113 Takacs Menyhert u. 33
91% 584
47.4736056 19.0307879
Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Peaceful area in the busy budapest. Inspiring people keeping the project blooming. The chickpea omlet for breakfast was delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.7

Wonderful destination for inner peace seekers. Unique atmosphere and irreplaceable staff team ready to help you, provide information from the perspective of a local inhabitant or explain intricacies of the Hungarian language. Accommodation in a good location at a reasonable price. Good connections to the city center. There is well equipped kitchen. Come, make yourself comfortable and meet interesting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.4

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a beautiful dog - which let's be honest would win anyone over! But our overall stay could not be faulted. The staff were so accommodating - we had a slight emergency on the day we checked out which made us late for check out time but they were so fine about it and let us sit and have a cup of tea and relax. Oh did we relax! The atmosphere here was so serene, we could be forgiven for thinking we were in a yoga retreat! Thankyou Shantee House, we love u

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
9.4

Everything is great except the location, but there is a bus, tram station just around the corner, and a metro station about 7-10 min short walk. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
10.0

It the best hostel i have ever experienced! It looks incredible with friendly staff. Located close to city centre by metro. I recommend everyone this world famous place who visits Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • FriedRyRy
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.1

I stayed in the Teepee and it was the best sleep I've had on my travels so far. The atmosphere is unbeatable. Felt just like home with my friends. Happy big old dog cuddles up to you, the place always smells of good times. Locations is a little bit out of the way, but it really doesn't matter if you want to get out of your standard dorm room hostel with dozens of people. Stay here, would happily return again and again. Much needed relaxation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
10.0

This is a lovely place. It is busy like you'd expect a Hostel to be but also remarkably peaceful on every level. The staff is wonderful. The room was spotless. There was on street parking right in front. We may have had to look a bit but we were lucky and there were other on street places to park nearby. The #49 tram is 3 blocks away and takes you straight into Budapest. They do the laundry - for a fee - for you! This is wonderful and I'm sure also keeps the place organized and peaceful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Oct 2016
8.9

TIP: it's only about 20-25 min walk to centre!!! I could not flaw the facilities and the staff where really nice, there is only one problem I would say and that it the amount of time the staff spend in the kitchen. They spent about 2 hours each meal time giving the people who stay st the hostel not much time to actually use the kitchen just a little tip maybe save the homemade from scratch meals to home. But overall AMAZING!!!! I loved my stay here and still would come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
10.0

Such an amazing, eclectic hostel! The staff were very helpful, nice, and overall made you feel at home. Ended up staying an extra night in the yurt, which is highly recommended. Great social environment in the kitchen meeting people who are both living in the hostel and travelers from around the world. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
8.6

Excellent hostel with a relaxed atmosphere, staff went out their way to help me organise my trip to the train station. Bit out of the way from central Budapest, more a place to chill out than dive into the city life. Close to Kelenfold train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.