Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,153 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpack OZ Located at 144 Wakefield St, , Adelaide.
Backpack OZ
Australia
Adelaide South Australia 5000 144 Wakefield St
83% 1153
-34.9281286 138.6062407
Backpack OZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

Very friendly and convenient place to stay when you need to stay overnight in Adelaide. Brilliant staff, the room was neat, clean and comfortable. Other guests were quiet and considerate. Homely atmosphere. Just wished I was there on Tuesday night for the free BBQ! Free breakfast was generous and coffee on tap kept us going. I will not hesitate to stay there next time I have to be in the city overnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2016
9.1

Awesome stay! The staff are generally lovely, exception of one guy who didn't seem to be fussed with being informative or helpful when I first checked in. Great location. Super close to tram and the city is so small you can basically walk everywhere anyway. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
7.1

Good hostel with free wifi although is is not the best. Owners if you meet them are very friendly and talkative. Hostel had a good size kitchen with plenty of appliances and only a 10 minute walk to main city centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
8.3

Friendly feel. Wifi was disappointing. Free breakfast (cereal and toast) was good but was cleared away at 9. Liked the common area with big tables and sofas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

One of the better hostels we stayed at in Australia. The main strip with shops, restaurants, etc. is only a 10 min walk. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.0

Good location, short walk to the bus stop for airport. Some refurbishment would be better. Kitchen is small. No locker in the room. Staff is quite helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayleighbuswell8752
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.0

Great little hostel, free breakfast and free bike rental. We booked for 1 night initially and decided to stay for 2. There were no dorms left so we were upgraded to a double room for the same price 😄 thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for reviewing Backpack OZ and we do appreciate the positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, great location, good value for money. Great place to meet other backpackers. Room and shower facilities a bit dated but otherwise clean. Overall a decent hostel with a very friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
12th Apr 2016
7.4

charged $2 for a towel; single room very basic; breakfast ordinary; staff friendly; location means a bit of walking

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for reviewing Backpack OZ and we do appreciate the feedback. We feel that the FREE daily breakfast of all you can eat of fresh bread, toast, jams, cereals, tea and coffee, is very adequate. Please remember that this a backpacking hostel and not a hotel. Happy travels Backpack OZ

2nd Apr 2016
4.9

The hostel does have great potential and from a very seasoned traveller I was quite disappointed. At check in was made to wait almost ten minutes while the clerk finished a task which I later saw was writing an email. The beds were great clean and comfortable bathrooms were mostly clean. The parts that really seemed strange were that the hostel had a bar however on a Saturday night it closed at 9:30 as well as lighting and music as well as pool table. Atmosphere was horrible cleaning staff rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review of Backpack OZ and we appreciate your comments. Reception desk is very busy and we apologize that you had to wait a couple of minutes to check in. The receptionist acknowledged you straight away when you arrived and you accepted that there will be a slight delay in your check-in. The bar actually closed at 10.00 pm that night due to most guests being out on a Saturday night. We also close the bar at this time every night so we can keep the noise down for the guests and rooms that are in close proximity to the bar area. Perhaps stay longer then one night to fully appreciate what countless thousands of happy customers have agreed that the hostel has a wonderful atmosphere. Kind regards Backpack OZ

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.