Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Backpack OZ Located at 144 Wakefield St, , Adelaide.
Backpack OZ
Australia
Adelaide South Australia 5000 144 Wakefield St
87% 1252
-34.9281286 138.6062407
Backpack OZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
5.7

The duvet covers were not washed after each stay which seemed to result in a lot of people getting sick. Additionally, there was a cliquey atmosphere in the hostel with some guests who had stayed well over the supposed 2 week limit who did nothing all day but hang around the hostel. The kitchen was locked between 930pm and 6am which was really annoying for those of us who wanted to fill up water bottles or have a cup or tea or something to eat later than 930 in the evening.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. We close the kitchen between 9.30pm and 6.00am to correlate with our office hours. This prevent the kitchen from becoming a mess and any theft of food that could occur if the kitchen if left open after the office is closed. Water from the bathrooms is the same water from the kitchen and is readily available 24/7 to refill your drink bottles. Backpackers sitting on couches watching TV seems pretty standard to us.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

This is a nice hostel. I stayed in a private room, so I don't know about the dorms. The location is safe, but nothing was around (except a domino pizza). Did not feel it was in a great location, as most of what's happening in Adelaide is by the beach! If I ever go back to the city, I will stay in that area. Said this, the hostel was safe, clean and had an happy hour!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. Only 7 mins walk away is Rundle Street which is full of restaurants, cafes, pubs and clubs. 10 mins walk away there is the markets full of hipsta cafes and China Twon just next to it. Next time, venture just a little further than dominos !

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.3

Backpackers Oz was clean, comfortable and within 15 mins walking distance of main pubs/clubs. Staff very helpful and accommodation was value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.1

The building is pretty old but the facilities, security and above all, the location, are really good. They have a multilingual staff who is pretty helpful. At night it was quite silent which was really good as we had to leave the city early.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
8.3

Perfect position to visit the city centre. Lots of acrivities available. Staff is friendly and really helpful! They could improve on the cleanliness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel, very clean, great friendly staff and was a nice chilled out atmosphere and then in the evening you could either chill or drink. Also loved the free BBQ and pool night is great highly recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
8.3

Backpacker Oz wasn't as modern as some of the other backpackers I've stayed in but it was fine. Beds were comfortable enough, didn't creak every time someone moved, there was adequate lockable storage in the room, friendly staff, good enough communal space, walking distance to anywhere you need to go in town. It's not a stand out but for an older hostel I don't really have any complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
9.4

Good little hostel! - a little out of Adelaide (15 mins walk - which is a lot in Adelaide.) I was only there for the cricket and the sesh, so can give no review of the city. On a negative note, lots of people call this hostel home so expects heaps of 6am alarms and lockers banging EARLY in the morning. Would recommend and return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Perfect hostel, staff friendly and well equipped with a great atmosphere. Will be back I'm sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
6.0

Free breakfast (but only until 9am) and the free tea & coffee had milk in the kitchen which was great A lot of people lived and worked there which changed the whole atmosphere and made it very cliquey The bar, dining room and TV room are all the same room so if that makes it difficult if you do just want to watch telly. They're also the only sofas which means there are people sat there talking over you Duvet covers rarely washed Unisex bathrooms = constantly pee on the toilet seat

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.