Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Feb 2017
6.0

Really nothing special, but if you need a cheap place to stay in Adelaide it'll do for a couple of nights. Everything is pretty mediocre in terms of cleanliness, atmosphere and staff, but I suppose for the price you can't really complain. It's got a Domino's pizza next to it which is good. If your budget stretches slightly further you still might want to look into better options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. We are sorry that you had a negative experience during your stay. Best of travels. Backpack OZ

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel, clean, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Free bbq and pool competition are great. Would highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
7.7

Front desk closed after 10pm; no apparent noise curfew; quite clean hostel; helpful and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Free BBQ on Tuesday night was great. Made it feel like a little family. Staff very happy and friendly. Pool table added bonus and location made it easy to explore the city with a centralised base to start from

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

Only stayed one night while Bruce Springsteen was in town. Suited me perfectly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Good stay, nice spot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
5.7

The duvet covers were not washed after each stay which seemed to result in a lot of people getting sick. Additionally, there was a cliquey atmosphere in the hostel with some guests who had stayed well over the supposed 2 week limit who did nothing all day but hang around the hostel. The kitchen was locked between 930pm and 6am which was really annoying for those of us who wanted to fill up water bottles or have a cup or tea or something to eat later than 930 in the evening.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. We close the kitchen between 9.30pm and 6.00am to correlate with our office hours. This prevent the kitchen from becoming a mess and any theft of food that could occur if the kitchen if left open after the office is closed. Water from the bathrooms is the same water from the kitchen and is readily available 24/7 to refill your drink bottles. Backpackers sitting on couches watching TV seems pretty standard to us.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

This is a nice hostel. I stayed in a private room, so I don't know about the dorms. The location is safe, but nothing was around (except a domino pizza). Did not feel it was in a great location, as most of what's happening in Adelaide is by the beach! If I ever go back to the city, I will stay in that area. Said this, the hostel was safe, clean and had an happy hour!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. Only 7 mins walk away is Rundle Street which is full of restaurants, cafes, pubs and clubs. 10 mins walk away there is the markets full of hipsta cafes and China Twon just next to it. Next time, venture just a little further than dominos !

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.3

Backpackers Oz was clean, comfortable and within 15 mins walking distance of main pubs/clubs. Staff very helpful and accommodation was value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Nice hostel overall. Good location, and facilities are nice. It has a good atmosphere and setup to meet other travelers and have fun. Happy hour drinks are good to have as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.