Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpack OZ Located at 144 Wakefield St, , Adelaide.
Backpack OZ
Australia
Adelaide South Australia 5000 144 Wakefield St
83% 1136
-34.9281286 138.6062407
Backpack OZ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Apr 2016
8.0

One of the better hostels we stayed at in Australia. The main strip with shops, restaurants, etc. is only a 10 min walk. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.0

Good location, short walk to the bus stop for airport. Some refurbishment would be better. Kitchen is small. No locker in the room. Staff is quite helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayleighbuswell8752
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.0

Great little hostel, free breakfast and free bike rental. We booked for 1 night initially and decided to stay for 2. There were no dorms left so we were upgraded to a double room for the same price 😄 thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for reviewing Backpack OZ and we do appreciate the positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Helpful staff, great location, good value for money. Great place to meet other backpackers. Room and shower facilities a bit dated but otherwise clean. Overall a decent hostel with a very friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
12th Apr 2016
7.4

charged $2 for a towel; single room very basic; breakfast ordinary; staff friendly; location means a bit of walking

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for reviewing Backpack OZ and we do appreciate the feedback. We feel that the FREE daily breakfast of all you can eat of fresh bread, toast, jams, cereals, tea and coffee, is very adequate. Please remember that this a backpacking hostel and not a hotel. Happy travels Backpack OZ

2nd Apr 2016
4.9

The hostel does have great potential and from a very seasoned traveller I was quite disappointed. At check in was made to wait almost ten minutes while the clerk finished a task which I later saw was writing an email. The beds were great clean and comfortable bathrooms were mostly clean. The parts that really seemed strange were that the hostel had a bar however on a Saturday night it closed at 9:30 as well as lighting and music as well as pool table. Atmosphere was horrible cleaning staff rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review of Backpack OZ and we appreciate your comments. Reception desk is very busy and we apologize that you had to wait a couple of minutes to check in. The receptionist acknowledged you straight away when you arrived and you accepted that there will be a slight delay in your check-in. The bar actually closed at 10.00 pm that night due to most guests being out on a Saturday night. We also close the bar at this time every night so we can keep the noise down for the guests and rooms that are in close proximity to the bar area. Perhaps stay longer then one night to fully appreciate what countless thousands of happy customers have agreed that the hostel has a wonderful atmosphere. Kind regards Backpack OZ

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel is in a great location with excellent facilities. It was an odd atmosphere with the hostel bar closing at 9.50pm on a Saturday night when the area was packed and atmosphere was nice. The lights were turned off and the pool table closed which killed the atmosphere. One or two staff were pretty rude and unhelpful but others were friendly and accommodating. All in all a decent enough hostel I would recommend if you go in a group as I was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review the hostel. We close the bar and pool table every night at 10.00 pm to try and keep the noise down for many other guests who are not drinking and who are in rooms that are in close proximity to the bar area. On a Saturday night the atmosphere can continue to the great bars and clubs only a short walk away. Kind regards Backpack OZ

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

I had an amazing time here, everyone was really friendly and created a great atmosphere where you could relax and chill watching a film if you wanted, play some free pool, or go out if you wanted to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.1

Free breakfast, free wifi, and free bike hire! Can't ask for much more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
10.0

thanks for the awesome stay, we really enjoyed it! wish we could have stayed longer! very helpful and friendly staff!!! cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.