X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpack Oz Reviews

144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
932 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Staff were lovely and helpful. The hostel was cleaned thoroughly every day. The bathrooms could do with being renovated but they do their jobs.


66%

I thought it was expensive for a room with a shared bath.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. The hostel market is very competitive and our prices are just above average for Adelaide. We do not strive to be the cheapest because we provide above average product. We are confident that we offer awesome value however. Happy travels.

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in, the team do a great job running it and are very helpful, great atmosphere too.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments! We are really appreciate it!

74%

A little bit further away than say YHA, however consider Adelaide's big blocks it's not too bad. Staff are friendly. Rooms aren't too cramp and despite not having bag lockers, they have a sink and mirror.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to comment - we are glad you enjoyed your staff - happy travels!

83%

Backpack Oz was a nice place to stay, pretty close to the cbd shopping area and easy walk to the tram and busses. The free meal on Tuesday with pool afterwards was nice to get everyone to engage with one another. There were a number of people staying more long term which was a bit weird for people just stopping by, but the overall atmosphere was good and the staff were friendly. The room itself was very clean, but the bathrooms could have been a bit nicer. Overall good place to stay :)

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes the bathrooms are old but they are very clean and unfortunately it would cost a lot of money to replace them ... meaning bed prices would need to go up a lot and we reckon it is best to keep bed prices down!

94%

good place. friendly people. no issues except for the stupid christmas pageant at 6am in the morning in the street - who's idea was that! bloody adelaide... it was november.


69%

Kitchen closed too early, no hot water in upstairs showers. But nice common area, rooms were fine, free WiFi was good and worked in rooms too. Not the most lively crowd when I was there. Need to staff up reception so that it's open throughout the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Yes the upstairs hot water system died over that weekend but we got it fixed asap on Monday. We deliberately have a separate system for downstairs so that we always have hot showers available. Our reception is open from 6 am till 10 pm daily but might be closed for 10 minutes at various times if we need to zip out and collect a guest. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Cheers

94%

Really great hostel, very close to everything in adelaide!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for taking the time to comments. We wish you happy and safe travels!

94%

Really good place to stay, everything is super clean which is nice to see in a hostel! Could do with more power sockets in room, there are plenty downstairs but would be nice to have more in the rooms! Overall really enjoyed my stay and it's location is really good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind comments ... we will get some good quality power boards for those rooms without many power points. Happy travels!

100%

This place was awesome! Walking distance from just about everything to do in downtown Adelaide.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your kind words ... we try hard to be awesome!

94%

had a great stay in this hostel, one of the best I've stayed in, the staff were very friendly and the rooms and kitchen were cleaned everyday. I would definately stay here again

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks heaps and happy travels!

74%

Nice hostel, especially for the price. It was not the cleanest one that I've seen, but it was ok. The kitchen was well maintained, the staff was helpful. The 12-bed dormitory was stinking, but I supposed it was not their fault...


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms basic but clean showers could do with an upgrade but still useable :-)

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Helpfull and friendly staff. Nice place, would stay again!


86%

Gets the important things right. Beds have real mattresses. Bathrooms and kitchen well cleaned. Showers are hot. Kitchen never seems to get too busy. Free wifi works well. Has bar but by 11/12 the noise had died down and it's not the sort of place where they always seem to be pushing you to spend money on drink (AKA party hostel). Location is good, would be slightly better 5mins down the road but an extra 5 min walk isn't a big deal. 12 bed dorm does smell- needs some better air flow.


86%

Very nice hostel, but you should renovate the showers upstairs as well as the windows in the bathrooms, it's not a big deal, a minimum of investment to have a great place!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

great and helpful staff

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Superb place very active and very nice people all the time. Really loved my stay staff are very nice, location is great, Wifi is free and runs at a good speed. Will definitly be going their when I come back to adelaide for the royal show.




View all Adelaide Hostels

Please give us your feedback