Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BackpackerBerlin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

Backpacker Berlin is a lovely cosey atmosphere which feels very much like a shared student house. We found ourselves eating and cooking with the other travellers and it was really nice to mingle in the common room. There's conviently free cereal for when you cba to go to the shop when you're hungover. Its definitely not a party hostel, they close the common room at 11pm and then you need to leave if you want to socialise and drink. I would recommend for someone who wants a cosey chilled stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.0

Very impressive hostel with friendly staff. Good facilities however only bad comment is tumble dryer just warmed wet clothes until without drying them, also bathrooms got a bit messy when other guests arrived. Security-wise all of the doors could open with the same key which wasn't great. Other than that had a fab stay and would recommend. Rooms and kitchen are bigger and better equipped than the pictures show.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
7.4

Well located (few minutes from city center and in a neighborhood with plenty of nice options with a great vibe) and a good price The staff is nice and helpful, the kitchen is functional, the wifi works fine everywhere and the common area is great to meet people or just relax. Bathrooms are just ok, get dirty by the end of the day because there is so many people. And on my first night there was a RAT in the bedroom (heard and saw it) - kinda had trouble sleeping that night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jul 2017
6.3

Fine basic backpackers accommodation. The room and facilities were clean but the room was quite musty/damp and lacked a decent curtain to cover the whole window of this ground floor room, making privacy difficult. Disappointed but excess noise after 10pm tolerated by the staff but appreciate this is tough to control at times. Breakfast was basic but fine and offered facilities to cook a half decent meal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.6

Great place to stay. Atmosphere fosters talking with the other guests, you'll make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.3

Very friendly, though not the place to stay if you're looking for a 'party' hostel. Great location since 10 minute walk from Ostkreuz and the main bars/eating area is only 5 mins away. Only petty thing is that not all bathrooms have a sink in and we ended up having 5 people stay in a room due to admin error of 4 which was a little cramped. Additionally the curtains are non existent, but other than that, you get what you pay for. The free cereal, coffee and tea and access to a kitchen is a bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Jul 2017
3.7

When we arrived we greeted (not so) by a miserable looking receptionist, who was not helpful&a very blunt.Our room was okay but always smelt abit damp.The breakfast provided was basic and the milk smelled weird, so we had to buy our own! At first we thought the security was great because you needed a code to get in then a key, however in the living room area there was a door leading from the street to the hostel and any one could get in. Would not come to this hostel again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2017
6.0

Mixed feelings. The cleanliness should be improved. On the second night we were all kept awake by the sounds of a mouse/rat in our dorm room, which the next day didn't concern too much the (otherwise honestly very helpful and friendly) staff. The location is superb, but the security is not the best as they do not even have padlocks to rent for the lockers. All in all, other than the location, I would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jul 2017
9.7

I liked this place. It isn't fancy or new but it has a family like charm. The beds weren't the most comfortable but the kitchen and bathrooms were nice and they keep it really clean. I liked the staff and living room areas. I would go back if I could get a top bunk as the bottom one was very tiny! Great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
10.0

We would definitely stay here again. The neighborhood is a destination of its own and we had a great time exploring the bars and restaurants near the hostel. Short walk to sbahn stop. Clean bathroom and helpful staff. We stayed in a private room and it was spacious and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.