Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers BCN

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Backpackers BCN Located at Casanova, 52, , Barcelona.
Backpackers BCN
Spain
Barcelona 08011 Casanova, 52
87% 2327
41.3846172 2.1600151
Backpackers BCN
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Oct 2016
7.4

This place was fine; they are nice, and the facilities are satisfactorily clean albeit old and worn-looking ("homey"). I was not aware of the 10am checkout time before booking; I hope they update the description, as I would not have booked it if I had known. (I was attending an event that ended at 5am, so I only slept a few hours there.) The bed curtains were nice, and they were flexible with allowing me to store things in a locker for the day. Only a few showers and one was broken.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Oct 2016
8.9

This is not a "party" hostel necessarily, but exactly what we were looking for in Barcelona. Super relaxed, feels like you're at home living in the city like a local, and a great family/chilled out vibe. Walking distance to most major sights, and close to good food (handy mini mart right across the road too) and train station!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
5.4

I didn't like this hostel. If you wanna meet other travelers and socialize, this is not the place. Showers are tiny, and the whole place is kinda dark. You need to ring the bell every time you wanna enter the building, because they only give you a room key. I guess this place would be ok if you just want a place to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you did not like he place, although we offer much more than a place to sleep. We organize activities several times a week, so that guests meet, but if people don't want to, that's not our fault. We cannot oblige them. You told me you had stayed somewhere else in Barcelona and complained about the same and you admitted it was not the hostel's fault, but you accuse us of the same thing. Maybe you should have booked a party hostel and not this one. About the bell, as i told you, it is the way to control who enters the hostel, and this is for your security too. Next time book a party hostel with less control (and, maybe, more problems.)

6th Oct 2016
5.1

Staff waking you up so they can clean the room and the fact that it's 1 euro each time to lock and unlock your locker is just absurd. No one likes being nickel and dimed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Some hostels are closed in the morning for cleaning but we adapt to people in order not to make them out and let them sleep. We clean the rooms in silence, BUT WE HAVE TO CLEAN! If we did not clean, you would complain because the hostel would be dirty, for God's sake! And the lockers ARE FREE. You get the coin back everytime you unlock it, so that you are saying is simply not true.

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel, not a party hostel but a great vibe with super friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Benin, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
7.4

The hostel is well located and the staff was young and welcoming. However, I found it too noisy at night, especially because it is confined and that the windows are directly on the street. The bathrooms are out of the dorms and shared by everyone. It didn't appreciate that much. Finally, I lost my golden necklace there when leaving, and apparently the staff could not find it. Overall, it was a good stay in an average hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Having the batroom in the room is not the most practical thing, as if somedody is using the shower, for example, is blocking the toilet and sink. We have 4 bathrooms in the hostel and you can use any of them. Also, you cannot blame the staff for not finding something you lost. Probably somebody took it.

19th Sep 2016
8.6

They have good location and friendly staff. Bus stations and subway are very close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
7.7

This place was great to stay in and sleep for a few days. People were great and the common room definitely gets people to interact and meet each other. Staff was much more interested in talking to each other than the guests. This is the first hostel we had been to that didn't walk us through the things to do and nightlife at all, so we were left to look everything up online only to find out that the hostel is associated with many discounts around town. That would have been helpful to know.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
10.0

Todo perfecto!!!! El lugar ideal esta cerca de todo! El staff super amable el precio mejor imposible ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Not the best atmosphere. But that may have been the day I was there. Still pretty good for price. Can get a bit hot in the night but I would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.