Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers By The Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 63 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 63 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2017
2.0

DO NOT STAY HERE EVER!!!!!! The manager, who is named peter (but lied and said his name was zack) stormed into our room screaming and verbally assault me and my friends before threatening us with violence and kicked us out. (He chased us out of the hostel with a pot of boiling water). I'm no expert by he seems extremely mentally unstable. We received no explanation for why we were kicked out and did not get our money back for the extra night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • SeanJarrett
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
2.6

Hostel not cleaned very well. Bed sheets & pillowcase changed after someone checks out but I watched the hostel manager/possibly owner remake beds with same duvet cover as previous guest & his idea of vacuuming was to spot vacuum with a handheld mini vac, plus room had cockroaches. With regard to the manager/owner, he would just wander into the dorm without knocking & he was very rude about departed guest, describing one as a "Dutch c#*t" & "I hope you die you Dutch a#*ehole". Very unpleasant!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Mar 2017
9.1

This is a really nice hostel located near the greyhound bus stop and easy to get to from the train station. The hostel is quiet, tidy and has good cooking facilities. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.6

An ok hostel for a night or two. The host peter was very friendly and easy to talk to and had lots of good banter. Rooms were very tired and need a serious revamp. The kitchen was crawling with cockroaches! Newcastle is a very quiet town so ok for a stop over but not for a long period

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.4

Exceptionally clean hostel. Great location right by the beach. The staff helped us with directions and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Very good! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Jan 2017
5.7

From the outset the man behind the desk at reception made me feel very uncomfortable after numerous comments such as 'are you scared of me?' and other threatening statements. Then told to change the bedspread ourselves and the room itself was very small for potentially four people. The facilities were fine and the Wi-Fi was good. No atmosphere either but if you're looking for a quiet night then I guess it would do. Only downside was the man at reception made me want to leave immediately.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
2.0

We can not really rate the hostel because the manager sent us away before we even checked in on Christmas morning. We went just before the check in to the toilet and because we didn't wash our hands he got mad and we thought he was making a joke but he wasn't. He started screaming and swearing at us and said if we didn't leave now he would punch us. The manager totally got nuts and it was a really unpleasant 5 minutes stay but luckely we found eventually a new hostel on Christmas morning.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Love this place recommend it to others :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.