Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Backpackers Central Hamilton Located at 846 Victoria St., , Hamilton.
Backpackers Central Hamilton
New Zealand
Hamilton 846 Victoria St.
77% 350
-37.7808655 175.2774533
Backpackers Central Hamilton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.7

Me & a friend stayed in a twin room with an ensuite and it was everything we needed. No windows in the room but we were aware that some rooms didn't have any. Room was really hot but we were supplied with a fan. There were a few stains on the sheets/ duvet but the kitchen was really clean. Hostel was about a 10 minute walk from the main CBD area. We didn't find the atmosphere that great at breakfast but we were only there for one night so maybe everyone was just hungover on a Sunday morning!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.0

There's not much in Hamilton, so was not expecting much. Safe place.Secure hostel with lockers. Rooms are small. Quiet part of town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.1

great location. excellent service. extremely helpful after they never got booking from hostelworld

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay!! Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
8.6

Nice place to stay, close to the best areas for eating and entertainment in Hamilton. Helpful and friendly staff. Fun fact : the statue of Rocky Horror Picture Show's creator, Richard o'Brien ( aka "Riff Raff" in the film ) is just down the block from Backpackers Central, just past the intersection of Victoria St. and Livepool St.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated about your great feedback!!. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

Amazing wifi - and free! Beds not great, pretty uncomfortable and too many in each room so not enough space for the actual people or their belongings. Also the ladders for top bunks were not accessible for all beds (as the ladders were at the end not the side and beds very close together) Clean hostel, friendly staff, enough toilets although I stayed twice & on baths occasions there was no loo roll in the morning. Good hostel, not a great one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

The facilities were good although I was unusual in that I booked a single room with shared kitchen & bathroom. Unlike some hostels it did seem that some of the hostel guests were unable to wash their dishes or clean up their kitchen messes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your great feedback. We are asking our guests to keep clean our kitchen area. Safe Travels!!

  • cmicanovic9281
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.0

We stayed for one night in a private double room with no windows. As a result the room became stuffy. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice perk and the bathrooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
8.6

Best thing about this hostel are the showers. Great water pressure and stayed hot the whole time. I stayed one night in a private room with shared bathroom. Chose not to stay for breakfast because it was very crowded in the kitchen and I needed to get on the road.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay.!! Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Oct 2016
9.1

No complaints good place to get your head down search for jobs etc and have a temporary base ...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay!! Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2016
6.3

Room was nice enough but the hostel had a bit of an odd vibe. There appeared to be mostly long-term boarders at the hostel who we're not particularly friendly & the hostel was advertising long-term rates. We stayed in a double room and could hear someone snoring all night long, it seemed as if the walls were made of paper. All in all was an ok place to stay for 1 night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.