Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Backpackers Central Hamilton Located at 846 Victoria St., , Hamilton.
Backpackers Central Hamilton
New Zealand
Hamilton 846 Victoria St.
76% 288
-37.7808655 175.2774533
Backpackers Central Hamilton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.7

I stayed for two nights, and booked a room with an ensuite bathroom. I didn't spend much time in my room, so the size didn't concern me. The check-in was efficient, and they made sure my swipe key worked to ensure I knew how to get in and out, and showed me to my room. It's about twenty minutes walk to the main street with the restaurants and night life. I felt pretty safe walking by myself and the area was well lit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay!! safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
4.3

Unfortunately for us, the University of Auckland Debate Team was booked at this hostel at the same time as we. Although the hostel rules stated absolutely no alcohol in the rooms or common areas and specified quiet in the hallways, etc. we experienced loud drinking in the common area and hallways, and boisterous games and shouting throughout the evening and into the morning hours. There was an alleyway outside one of our rooms where debaters drunkenly debated until early morning. Not fun.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel would go again if given the chance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Friendly staff and a good location. Rooms were clean although kitchen could have been better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Safe Travels!!

13th Apr 2016
8.3

It was good for a couple nights. The staff was very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
2.9

This was the worst hostel we ever stayed in. The room had no window / fresh air, the bed was not clean and extremely uncomfortable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry about your experiences that you had. We have renewed our lines a couple of days a go, you feel comfortable when you visit us next time. Safe Travels!!

  • eddiepeac0ck
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.9

Clean hostel, quite on a night, good security, bit of dull atmosphere, no alchol allowed on site, free breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We look forward to seeing you near future Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

Free breakfast is only from 7.30-8.30, I understand that lots of people staying at the hostel are going to work so need to eat early but it means everyone else gets up early as well, which means it is hard to sleep in as the rooms are noisy with people getting up, and breakfast is busy. If it lasted longer people could have a lie in (not everyone has jobs to go to!) Great wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated your comments Safe travel!!

  • Icecube0000
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.0

Great place to chill for a few days

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank very much for your stay and feedback. We look forward to seeing you!! Kind regards

26th Feb 2016
8.0

Avoid the windowless rooms at all costs. Other than that it's a quality place. Enjoy a movie and relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay. We look forward to seeing you neat future. Kind regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.