Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
6.3

Two problems here, our reservation for four people in the same room was not available as booked through hostelworld. The dorms had no windows this seemed both a fire risk and made them hot and stuffy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We are always trying to allocate a group in same room. However, some people checked in before you guys booked, which we were not be able to make a room. Safe Travels. Kind regards. Lark

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Very efficient operation with good facilities during my 3 night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your feedback Safe Travels!!!

10th Mar 2017
5.4

The door near my room clearly marked keep closed was open until at least 9pm. When I went to the kitchen early for some hot water it was clear that many people did not clean up after themselves. The no alcohol "rule" was also clearly violated in the common areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
5.7

Bed did not have enough slats so was very uncomfortable, bathrooms/toilets lacked ventilation, and overall the facilities were a little tired. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the free breakfast was a nice touch. I'm not sure if there are many other options for Hamilton - if there are not then this place is adequate, but perhaps look somewhere else if you can.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry about your experiences. Safe Travel!! Kind regards. Lark

  • boatz
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

Ok stay. Only stayed for a night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!! Lark

2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Very convenient place to stay to visit the nearby attractions (Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton, etc.). Stayed in a private suite that was nice for security and own bathroom facilities. The rooms were spacious and clean compared to other hostels however the room got a bit hot though the main lounge was very adequately air conditioned.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!! Lark

20th Feb 2017
6.3

Good points- hostel is near the transport centre, a short walk from the library and a pak n save. It easy to walk by the lake and to the Hamilton gardens from here. There is a free breakfast and free computers for backpackers Not so good- I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm and it was very small and hot. The showers and toilets are not separate for guys and girls. The kitchen needs some work. Little atmosphere here, no vibe and not easy to meet others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your feedback. Good luck with your trip!!

16th Feb 2017
8.0

Staff was great and helped us book surfing lessons nearby. Room was clean and private, but no windows made it feel quite small. Most rules, including checkout times and dish cleaning were enforced, but it wasn't the quietest property.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay, Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.6

Couldn't sleep at all cause of people partying, screaming all night and crashed glass bottles on the ground Is there anyone from the hostel staying there!? Rooms stink, bed uncomfortable and breakfast is bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for your experiences. We endevour to increase our cleanliness.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
7.4

It was nice place, bit dark due to being so low down and therefore not having windows but nice enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay, Safe Travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.