Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2017
6.9

Guy working there wasn't the friendliest of people and didn't tell us much information. It was the quickest welcoming in a hostel I've had. The single, shared and unisex bathroom area was very average. Would be better if there were separated bathroom areas. There was no effort by staff to maintain a quiet atmosphere during the night. I didn't sleep at all. Someone was banging on the back door trying to get in at 6am waking up th entire hostel as everyone is in one corridor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
3.1

Terrible! Everything looked dirty and run down Beds used - had to be changed while we where standing in the dorm. Very creepy people around who seemed to live there. Due to Friend suddenly becoming really ill we had to leave within 40 mins of arrival (I had to drive my mate back to auckland) - we asked so politely if there was anyway to get a credit note or cash back or anything and the man was rude and refused any kindness. REALLY dissapointing. If possible NEVER stay here ever!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
8.0

Was good to have access to a toilet and shelves. The room didn't have a heater and the one blanket was quite thin. I was able to get a (very small) second blanket (more like a throw), and a heater that made up for the small blankets. There was a group there that was unable to leave early when they had planned, because the person who charged them for the room took their ids and didn't give them back. When my id was checked, it was given back immediately. This concerned me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Had a single private room with ensuite bathroom. The room is small and basic but clean and functional. The hostel was quite quiet so possibly not many people staying there. There was free breakfast from 8 to 9 but I didn't make it to try that. Free good wifi. Very decent place to stay with good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!! Kind Regards. Lark

5th Jul 2017
6.6

Good location, close to the bars. However reception tried to charge us for some random man sleeping in our room despite him having no affiliation to any of us. Also took key deposit away from us as we were 10 minutes late for check out, other hostels are much more chilled about this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for inconvenience caused. As we have had many guests forget returning a room key when check-out, we hold $20 for key deposit or credit card details. Thank you very much for your stay and safe travels!! Kind Regards. Lark

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Jul 2017
8.3

Free breakfast was ace, Wi-Fi good enough for skyping home. Very helpful staff at the front desk. Did I mention the breakfast. Was excellent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!! Kind Regards. Lark

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
6.0

Hostel is close to the bus terminal and a grocery store but the hostel feels like an underground bunker. Shared bathrooms, no windows, and really crappy mattresses take a bit to get used to. People are friendly however and room is secure.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

I had a wonderful stay at your Hamilton Backpackers , the staff were so friendly and accommodating and helpful. So localised to Hamilton City and close to the Transport Centre. Will definitely be coming back when in Hamilton.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

12th Jun 2017
6.9

The hostel is well placed on one of what I consider to be 2 main streets in Hamilton. This one being the eating/drinking Street. The parallel one being for shopping. Not really much else there. There didn't really seem to be a "buzz" about this hostel. 1 night was enough for me. I had a non window room to myself which was better than the first option of a full room. Free breakfast is either cornflakes and/or toast with weak orange squash and coffee. Staff were friendly and helpful. That's it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
4.0

You don't feel comfortable staying here, it feels dirty, you don't feel welcomed, staff weren't helpful and I feel like the main work off arnt in the place is then repeatedly having posters everywhere with 'do the dishes' just said in a difference way.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. Safe Travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.