Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 405 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

Hostel was clean and the breakfast was more than just toast and jam, but also peanutbutter, cereals and canned fruits. The location is also quite central. However, the dorm was rather small and half of the dorms don't have windows. The staff was friendly but could be better informed about Hamilton.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay, Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2017
7.4

The private room we had was great. Nice sized bed and tv made nights in very pleasant. My one rant though would be that there were signs all over the backpackers saying discounts for trips etc when you book through the hostel which they did not deliver on! Breakfast was somewhat skimp also. Good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We can give discount, but we also have terms and conditions. Safe travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
3.1

Great hostel for smokers. Despite non-smoking signs posted everywhere, it was obvious that people were smoking in the private rooms, as the hallways reeked of cigarettes at night. I complained to the front desk about this, and they said they couldn't do anything about it. At other times, employees were disinterested or downright rude. One of the bunk beds had lost some of its bolts, and they had been replaced with zip ties. The list of problems goes on...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry about your experiences. Do you remember what room number was it? We can block the customers who was smoking in the room. Safe Travels!!

  • k-b143376
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
5.1

no atmosphere , quite dirty and felt unsafe. however good location and free wifi a bonus Ok for one night

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay, Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
5.4

unfortunately not the best hostel we have stayed in. Location was great in Hamilton but didn't have a great atmosphere, facilities were dated, a bit dirty and had a bad smell.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay and sorry for your experiences. Safe travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
6.3

Two problems here, our reservation for four people in the same room was not available as booked through hostelworld. The dorms had no windows this seemed both a fire risk and made them hot and stuffy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We are always trying to allocate a group in same room. However, some people checked in before you guys booked, which we were not be able to make a room. Safe Travels. Kind regards. Lark

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Very efficient operation with good facilities during my 3 night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your feedback Safe Travels!!!

10th Mar 2017
5.4

The door near my room clearly marked keep closed was open until at least 9pm. When I went to the kitchen early for some hot water it was clear that many people did not clean up after themselves. The no alcohol "rule" was also clearly violated in the common areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Due to a large number of complaints, drunk behavior, violence, noise, mess, and a lot breakages, we had to restrictly forbidden alcohol consumption.Thank you very much for your understanding. Yes, after you finish using kitchen equipment, you have clean up, to respect other guests are very important. Kind regards. Lark

9th Mar 2017
5.7

Bed did not have enough slats so was very uncomfortable, bathrooms/toilets lacked ventilation, and overall the facilities were a little tired. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the free breakfast was a nice touch. I'm not sure if there are many other options for Hamilton - if there are not then this place is adequate, but perhaps look somewhere else if you can.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry about your experiences. Safe Travel!! Kind regards. Lark

  • boatz
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

Ok stay. Only stayed for a night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!! Lark

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.