Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Backpackers Central Hamilton Located at 846 Victoria St., , Hamilton.
Backpackers Central Hamilton
New Zealand
Hamilton 846 Victoria St.
76% 277
-37.7808655 175.2774533
Backpackers Central Hamilton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
6.3

After staying in Backpackers Central, we were told by another hostel in Raglan that we couldn't stay with them due to Backpackers Central having a bed bug infestation. Spent 4 hours cleaning all my clothes and bags in order to get rid of it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Friendly staff and a good location. Rooms were clean although kitchen could have been better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Safe Travels!!

13th Apr 2016
8.3

It was good for a couple nights. The staff was very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your feedback Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
2.9

This was the worst hostel we ever stayed in. The room had no window / fresh air, the bed was not clean and extremely uncomfortable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry about your experiences that you had. We have renewed our lines a couple of days a go, you feel comfortable when you visit us next time. Safe Travels!!

  • eddiepeac0ck
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.9

Clean hostel, quite on a night, good security, bit of dull atmosphere, no alchol allowed on site, free breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We look forward to seeing you near future Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
8.9

Free breakfast is only from 7.30-8.30, I understand that lots of people staying at the hostel are going to work so need to eat early but it means everyone else gets up early as well, which means it is hard to sleep in as the rooms are noisy with people getting up, and breakfast is busy. If it lasted longer people could have a lie in (not everyone has jobs to go to!) Great wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated your comments Safe travel!!

  • Icecube0000
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.0

Great place to chill for a few days

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank very much for your stay and feedback. We look forward to seeing you!! Kind regards

26th Feb 2016
8.0

Avoid the windowless rooms at all costs. Other than that it's a quality place. Enjoy a movie and relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay. We look forward to seeing you neat future. Kind regards

  • shez82
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
6.3

one of the dodgiest hostels ive ever stayed at. The girls dorm was right near the common room/kitchen, which didnt seem to have a curfew so people were watching tv and being loud with all the lights on until about 2am. A large group of guys in the dorm opposite were drinking, yelling, slamming doors until at least midnight.....a dirty, party hostel.....in saying that, Hamilton itself was by far one of the worst places ive ever visited and to be fair, the hostel directly across the road was worse

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We are sorry about your experiences. We tell our guests to be quiet, but some of people have lack of respectful behavior... Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2016
8.9

very professionally run backpackers hostel: ample sofa relaxing space & tables for working on, lockers inside dorms, they have all female dorms as well. well-furnished kitchen, big TV with DVD player, but the desktop PC can't get on the internet at all. the other station is a laptop that show korean language.2 coin-operated washers & dryers always seem to be occupied, but there is a commercial laundromat just across the road. only about 15min walk from bus station & quiet. highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.