Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Staff was great and helped us book surfing lessons nearby. Room was clean and private, but no windows made it feel quite small. Most rules, including checkout times and dish cleaning were enforced, but it wasn't the quietest property.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay, Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.6

Couldn't sleep at all cause of people partying, screaming all night and crashed glass bottles on the ground Is there anyone from the hostel staying there!? Rooms stink, bed uncomfortable and breakfast is bad.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry for your experiences. We endevour to increase our cleanliness.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
7.4

It was nice place, bit dark due to being so low down and therefore not having windows but nice enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay, Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.3

Was just looking for a bed for the night until my bus out of the city. Room didn't smell the best but bathrooms and common rooms were clean. Didn't hang around long enough to get a genuine impression of the place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your feedback. Some people's belongings might smell for other people, Safe Travels

26th Jan 2017
6.9

nothing special. unlimited free wifi goes off for a few minutes every hour. All the Waikato attractions are a long and expensive bus ride away, unless you book a full tour with Waikato Custom Tours with Lalesh Kumar. He will take you around to do everything in one day, for a much better price than everywhere else! I went to waitomo caves with intercity, and they charged me and a friend $105 return each, and for $200 total, less than we paid, he would take us to 8 stops, including hobbiton

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. All the tours are depend on where and what you want to see. We endevour to find which tour are the best options for you. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Stayed here for one night and it was good for a quick stop over. Although there was posters all over to clean up after yourself, the kitchen wasn't in a tidy state. The free breakfast was a nice bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your feedback. Some customers make mess in our kitchen, so we have to let they know they need to clean up themselves. Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Decent hostel for the price. Beds were comfy and there were lockers in the rooms. The communal areas were tidy, with the kitchen getting very busy but always clean. Staff seemed reluctant to give personal recommendations which was a little odd, but overall had a pleasant stay. Wifi was pretty reliable too. Showers clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your feedback is absolutely value for us. Thank you very much for great comments!! We look forward to seeing you in near future!!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

Cool! Free breakfast. Neat and good smelling bed and pillows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated your great feedback!! We look forward to see you again!! Safe Travels!!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.7

Me & a friend stayed in a twin room with an ensuite and it was everything we needed. No windows in the room but we were aware that some rooms didn't have any. Room was really hot but we were supplied with a fan. There were a few stains on the sheets/ duvet but the kitchen was really clean. Hostel was about a 10 minute walk from the main CBD area. We didn't find the atmosphere that great at breakfast but we were only there for one night so maybe everyone was just hungover on a Sunday morning!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
6.3

Perfectly decent place to stay in Hamilton and can't really complain, but all the little things start to build up and bug you... like little surcharges here and there, and the passive-aggressive signs warning you about overstaying, tidying, etc., which is just a bit too much and overcontrolling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.