Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Central Hamilton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Backpackers Central Hamilton Located at 846 Victoria St., , Hamilton.
Backpackers Central Hamilton
New Zealand
Hamilton 846 Victoria St.
80% 329
-37.7808655 175.2774533
Backpackers Central Hamilton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • cmicanovic9281
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.0

We stayed for one night in a private double room with no windows. As a result the room became stuffy. The free breakfast in the morning was a nice perk and the bathrooms were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
8.6

Best thing about this hostel are the showers. Great water pressure and stayed hot the whole time. I stayed one night in a private room with shared bathroom. Chose not to stay for breakfast because it was very crowded in the kitchen and I needed to get on the road.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay.!! Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Oct 2016
9.1

No complaints good place to get your head down search for jobs etc and have a temporary base ...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay!! Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2016
6.3

Room was nice enough but the hostel had a bit of an odd vibe. There appeared to be mostly long-term boarders at the hostel who we're not particularly friendly & the hostel was advertising long-term rates. We stayed in a double room and could hear someone snoring all night long, it seemed as if the walls were made of paper. All in all was an ok place to stay for 1 night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

20th Sep 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the transit center, grocery shopping, pubs, and shops. All the staff were friendly and helpful. All the other guests were respectful and friendly, not a party spot. Beds, bathroom, and kitchen area were all kept clean. The free wifi works great. Oh, and free breakfast! If I ever find myself back in Hamilton I will absolutely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very very much for your great feedback!!!! See you soon!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.1

A good hostel for a couple nights stay, though I'm not sure I'd want to stay there long term. Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful, and free wifi and breakfast were excellent perks. Also located very close to the transport centre. Cons: While plenty of space in the room, mattresses were old and had holey/small stains on the sheets. Shared bathroom for everyone, and being in a basement level made me uncomfortable as it was easy access from the street. Overall not bad for a few nights stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. We are going to replace the old linens as soon as possible. Safe Travels!!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
8.0

I would recommend this hostel, but if you are booking in a group, book the FAMILY ROOM or one of the single/double/triple rooms. Some of the six-bed bunk rooms are underground with no windows, and only fluorescent beam lights - which are very uncomfortable! The family room is nice and big, with nicer sheets than the bunk rooms, with an ensuite, and is far better value for money. The hostel is very secure and right in the centre of Hamilton.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

8th Aug 2016
7.4

It's a pretty small and a pretty quiet hostel. Not really much to do in the area but I actually don't know if there's much to do in Hamilton at all really. Did not really see staff around, except the cleaning crew who spoke little English. Only one coed bathroom, kitchen is decent size and fully equipped, rooms are spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

25th Jun 2016
8.6

I spent two nights in the women's dorm. It was quiet at night and I was able to get a good night's sleep. I found the kitchen more than adequate and I enjoyed the free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

23rd Jun 2016
8.0

Great location, the owner is really nice. Came in on a Saturday and the vibe in the hostel was kind of weird though. Not a bad Hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your stay. Safe Travels!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.