Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Citihostel

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.5
Backpackers Citihostel Located at 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, , Dublin.
Backpackers Citihostel
Ireland
Dublin Leinster 01 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street
55% 509
53.3501286 -6.2538170
Backpackers Citihostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
3.1

This was the worst hostel I have ever been in. We decided to stay here despite bad reviews bc of its good location, but it was the biggest mistake we ever made. The staff was unfriendly, unhelpful, and not welcoming. We stayed in the 12 bedroom mixed dorm, there was clutter and garbage everywhere; there was a jar of empty mayonnaise and a used fork next to the bed. No outlets and terrible wifi, smelt horribly of body odor, we ended up staying at a different hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
4.3

The rooms are freezing. The bathroom is always out of TP. Didn't even attempt to use the shower. The sink doesn't have cold water. The wifi works if you only stand at the front desk. ? Only a few burners worked on the 10 available in the kitchen. And the construction outside was just great in the early morning. Thanks but not coming back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
5.7

Awesome location but very low standard. 2 toilets and 4 showers for the entire building which also happens to be mixed! And with that many people you are lucky if you get a chance to use them! There is not enough power pluge maybe 2-3 in whole building which is busy all the time so don't be very surprised if you end up with a dead battery! Very small common room which is packed as usual and a 14 inch 1960s style tv! So there is hardly a place to spend during evening. Overall not very pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
3.4

Although it does have a great location in Dublin, I will never be staying in this hostel again. The room we stayed in was absolutely disgusting. One of the bunkbeds was completely broken, the mattresses were paper thin, and the room smelled entirely like sewage. If it weren't for the fact that we had no other option, we would not have slept here. There was no hot water when we woke up for our bus tour. So we were forced to take ice cold showers at 6 in the morning. Our stay was beyond terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
4.0

Worst hostel I've stayed at. Got to reception, was told the accommodation is 5 mins up the road. Waited 25min for member of staff to walk us there. After 15min walk we ended up in a council estate away from the centre and shown our accommodation which was more like a small student flat. The room itself was ok. Showers just down the hallway, of which they were dirty, cramped and only 1 of the 3 worked which you could barely have as the water pressure was so low. Would not stay again !!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Mar 2016
7.1

Staff brilliant Michel so friendly also night guy so helpful. Room was nice and warm and kitchen was well equipped and was reasonably clean. You had to cook your own breakfast. The only bad thing was 6 guys were in my room came in late and were loud and were loud next morning packing. Guests were making noise at all hours in hostel which wasnt nice. Ladies shower was good and water warm staff were visible cleaning all the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2016
7.4

Toilets and bathrooms were a bit dirty, and crowded. The room is close to a train station, so it can get a bit noisy at night. Other than that, the hotel was good, beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
6.6

Staff was very helpful and nice. Kudos to Justin for answering all our questions and being welcoming during our visit. The bathroom situation was a little discerning as there was only ONE toilet for the whole hostel that I was aware of. The showers were gross and I showered at my friend's hostel every time after my first experience... Location is a short walk from the citycenter and there are plenty of great pubs nearby. Overall it was a cheap hostel but I didn't expect much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
3.4

I stayed at this hostel with a couple friends on the first night of a week long backpacking trip and it was the worst hostel we stayed in. The staff were not helpful, the location was in a bad part of Dublin and was right beside the train tracks, the rooms had one electrical socket for eight beds to share, there was very little access to facilities, only very hot water (no cold), and the whole building was dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2016
2.0

This hostel was awful. It was dirty, the staff we're horrible, there we're a lot of full grown men living in the hostel that we're very scary. My friends and I we're very uncomfortable for the one night that we stayed there. I would not recommend at all. Do anything you can to stay anywhere else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.