X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Citihostel Reviews

61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

49%

Rating
445 Total Reviews
  • 46%Value For Money
  • 49%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 57%Staff
  • 44%Atmosphere
  • 41%Cleanliness
  • 39%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

Really bad hostel. I travelled all over the world and this really was the worst hostel I've stayed in so far! It was incredibly dirty everywhere and our door didn't have any lock! Stay away from this hostel!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Really bad and disgusting hostel! Can not recommend staying there! The bathrooms were very dirty! I tried to leave as early as possible!

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Not Safe at all. And would deserve a breakfast for the price.


23%

Schifo! Dirty! Very very dirty! Web booked a twin room but we didn't find it. Awful toilets. No refunds. Impossibile To use the kitchen because of dirtyness


29%

When we entered the building we were greeted by a screeching receptionist who fired questions at us and then told us to wait until the tennis was over. The hostel itself looked like a building site and the bathroom was separate from the dorm. The dorm itself had no lock and you had coax it open. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here unless you are very stuck.


37%

My friend and I are seasoned travellers and this was probably one of the worst hostels we have ever stayed at. While the staff was helpful and friendly, the experience was overall a let down. This hostel needs help in providing an engaging experience for travellers, they don't provide much of an atmosphere to meet your fellow travellers and engage with others. The bathroom facilities were hardly looked after, with no toilet paper and bins over following. Rooms were not comfortable or clean.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Noisey , no towels, shower tray blocked,but location was fine, only stay here if your badly stuck


31%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. We thought we were going to be a part of Taken 4. There was a girl on heroine who had pissed her pants in our room. We did not feel safe at all.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Had a lads weekend with 6 of us in a single dorm. Location is fantastic, literally 5 mins walk to Oconnell street. The room itself wasn't fantastic and the bathroom was to a pretty poor standard however you get what you pay for and I would recommend for groups of males going away for weekends. Probably not appropriate for women and children

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Alarm bells rang before leaving reception when we were informed just to "use any spare bed" in an 8 person room and rang louder when one of the spare beds (the only noticeably spare one) didn't have a mattress. We were pointed to another room, which looked like it hadn't been cleaned/painted in a decade & didn't have a socket per bed. No keys for rooms either, just a code announced loudly at check-in so if you waited at reception you could enter any room you liked which was very poor safety-wise


69%

The first room I was put in was really dirty, but I was moved to another room so I could stay with my friend, and it was spotless. I guess this one could be a hit or miss. Overall pretty good though

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

The worst place/experience I have ever had. The walls looks like someone wiped their arse across it. Bathroom/room has never been cleaned. Mould, hair, dust, grim, scum, name it & it was there. The shower didn't work, no hot water. We left and found somewhere else to stay because we couldn't take it another minute, in fear of catching Ebola or similar. You would have a cleaner room sleeping under the bridge with pigeons. Pictures were fake,

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Security is the worst, anyone can go up to the dorms without any type of identification. The dorm had a very foul odor every day and the restrooms and lockers where the worst I have ever seen. It looked like no one had cleaned them in months. And the staff was unhelpful and then to top it off there was an asian staff member who seemed to live in the basement and when he was at the reception, was extremely rude and asked for the people in the lobby to be quiet so he could sleep. And he did!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel is in a catastrophic condition. When we arrived we had to check two room which were both not cleaned at all! Hairs in the bathroom and you could even see a head structure in the pillow of the person sleeping there before. So the beds weren't made an the whole hostel is really dirty. At the end the receptionist gave us some new sheets to somehow cover this disgusting unmade bed for the first night.Everything in there is dirty and in really bad condition. And this even in a double room

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed at. Girls need a key to go to the bathroom. Dirty toilets. And it feels like staff was spying on us. Fortunately breakfast is not included, I wonder how it would have looked like. I slept only once but was so happy to leave this place! DO NOT GO THERE




View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback