Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Citihostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.9
Backpackers Citihostel Located at 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, , Dublin.
Backpackers Citihostel
Ireland
Dublin Leinster 01 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street
60% 519
53.3501286 -6.2538170
Backpackers Citihostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
3.7

Overall just pretty dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
5.4

Initially put in a room with a less than pleasant smell and a set of bunk beds being noisily constructed, then moved up to a room on the top floor with no curtains and trains loudly going past late at night and early in the morning. One of the staff members on the first night would not stop talking to us, and we dismissed this at first as friendliness, until he asked us why one of friends was there, describing him as a Muslim, and even referencing 9/11.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
8.3

Hostel was lovely, staff were chatty and welcoming; would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
6.6

In general okay, you get what you pay. Unfortunately it was dirty in bathrooms. And you should put coat-hooks in the bathroom and bedrooms and some chairs would be good. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
3.1

This was the worst hostel I have ever been in. We decided to stay here despite bad reviews bc of its good location, but it was the biggest mistake we ever made. The staff was unfriendly, unhelpful, and not welcoming. We stayed in the 12 bedroom mixed dorm, there was clutter and garbage everywhere; there was a jar of empty mayonnaise and a used fork next to the bed. No outlets and terrible wifi, smelt horribly of body odor, we ended up staying at a different hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
4.3

The rooms are freezing. The bathroom is always out of TP. Didn't even attempt to use the shower. The sink doesn't have cold water. The wifi works if you only stand at the front desk. ? Only a few burners worked on the 10 available in the kitchen. And the construction outside was just great in the early morning. Thanks but not coming back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
5.7

Awesome location but very low standard. 2 toilets and 4 showers for the entire building which also happens to be mixed! And with that many people you are lucky if you get a chance to use them! There is not enough power pluge maybe 2-3 in whole building which is busy all the time so don't be very surprised if you end up with a dead battery! Very small common room which is packed as usual and a 14 inch 1960s style tv! So there is hardly a place to spend during evening. Overall not very pleasant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
3.4

Although it does have a great location in Dublin, I will never be staying in this hostel again. The room we stayed in was absolutely disgusting. One of the bunkbeds was completely broken, the mattresses were paper thin, and the room smelled entirely like sewage. If it weren't for the fact that we had no other option, we would not have slept here. There was no hot water when we woke up for our bus tour. So we were forced to take ice cold showers at 6 in the morning. Our stay was beyond terrible.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
6.9

Decidedly average- definitely gets the job done.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
4.0

Worst hostel I've stayed at. Got to reception, was told the accommodation is 5 mins up the road. Waited 25min for member of staff to walk us there. After 15min walk we ended up in a council estate away from the centre and shown our accommodation which was more like a small student flat. The room itself was ok. Showers just down the hallway, of which they were dirty, cramped and only 1 of the 3 worked which you could barely have as the water pressure was so low. Would not stay again !!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.