Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Citihostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.7
Backpackers Citihostel Located at 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street, , Dublin.
Backpackers Citihostel
Ireland
Dublin Leinster 01 61-62 Lower Gardiner Street
60% 588
53.3501286 -6.2538170
Backpackers Citihostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
2.3

Traveling for 15 months &this by far is the worst I've ever stayed. I walked into the Italian man at the front screaming at some guests to get out because they checked out late. One toilet for 12 people. Terrible wifi only works in kitchen. Unbelievably disgusting. Everything is so dirty. Nothing works. Don't think they changed the sheets on some beds after guests. Front desk people are ruder than rude. Honestly feels like you are staying at a dump haha enjoy guys. every guest was complaining

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
2.9

On arrival, we were told by the rude staff that they had no private double rooms that we'd booked and we'd have to have a dorm. While we were waiting, the staff told another couple who walked in that they had private doubles! The staff denied saying this, even though we were stood right there. Clearly they are double and triple booking rooms. We were told if we didn't like it, we could leave. In the end, after much arguing, we were relocated to another hostel in the same chain.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
6.0

Dirty and smelly. The reception guy was ok ... not much good to say

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
2.6

Arrived at 7.30 in the evening and somebody still working in the room painting and fixing windows. I had still to wait more to access my room as I had to be moved to another room. So it seams this people care nothing about who are the ones who give them business. Next day in the morning without even been told by the staff a maintenance person had camped in the room with paint buckets etc. to proceed to work. My luggage had been moved and put away without my permission. Staff very abusive.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
5.1

Security is probably the worst issue for this hostel. There are no lockers; there is a luggage room that is close to the front desk, but I felt little certainty that something wouldn't be stolen. Further, the code for the dorm I stayed in was "123", I stayed 5 days and it never changed. The toilets also were consitently clogged or lacking toilet paper. The kitchen facilities were very poor. Livable, but poor. The only redeeming factors were, the managers brother "Donal" , and the other guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
3.4

Location was fantastic, but washrooms were not well stocked with toilet paper/soap, showers cheap and most of them were broken, staff were indifferent to problems and unfriendly. Would not stay there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2016
8.3

Good location, amazing staff, questionable cleanliness

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2016
5.7

Nice staff, good location next to day trips office. Only two wall socket for room of 14. Shower dirty and doesn't work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
3.4

The hostel looks like it's been done very cheaply. The place needs renovating. For the location and value I don't think it's worth it. I'd stay here if there was no where els to stay. The people that work here don't speak very good English. Some rooms don't have curtains for the Windows and the wifi doesn't exist.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bpibernat8561
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
4.0

Booked an 8people mixed bedroom and ended up in a room of 12, 10 of which were man. One in particularly was drunk and repeatedly made one of my party feel uncomfortable with inapropiate comments and advances. The bathroom shower was a pool and dripping all night. The door did not shut properly and people entered the room as they pleased. Not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.