Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Fairytale

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
Backpackers Fairytale Located at Istarska 3, , Split.
Backpackers Fairytale
Croatia
Split Croatia, Split 21 000 Istarska 3
92% 588
43.5116777 16.4425313
Backpackers Fairytale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
5.4

Booked this place due to the great reviews and we were left disappointed... We were really keen on the idea of a roof terrace and home brew beer, but the terrace was permanently closed due to a neighbours complaint and there was no home brew to be found. Without the terrace the hostel felt really cramped, you literally couldn't escape other guests if you wanted a minute alone. They have basically jammed large dorms into a small suburban apartment with insufficient toilets / kitchen space etc.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
9.1

Hostel is walking distance to the old town and 20 / 25 mins walk to both beaches so is in a great location, it's really difficult to find though. Great atmosphere ending up doing loads of stuff with other people from the hostel and the staff are really friendly and helpful especially Vicky who is an absolute babe! nice chilling area and balcony for socialising sometimes had to wait to use the bathroom though as there are only 2 for the entire hostel. Overall would 100% recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.4

This is probably the best hostel I've ever been to. I'm not sure what does it, maybe it's because it feels more like a home than a hostel, but these are the friendliest people you will meet. Will never forget the German couple that cooked me the most delicious meal just out of generosity. Would definitely stay here again if I was in Split.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Very friendly, easy-going and helpful staff, good location and nice views over Split. Facilities are well-maintained, nice common area, though apparently they sometimes rent it as a bedroom, in which case it is closed until the people wake up and check out. The main door is always open, but it's on the 5th floor, and you get a personal locker big enough for your valuables and at least a small bag, so security is good enough for me. Clean bathrooms and decent little kitchen. Recommendable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MartinSi
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hostel, very close to the old town. However, you first have to climb to the fifth floor to get there. The atmosphere is in the hostel is very nice and its really easy to meet new people. It's a little noisy however since the dorms are quite big and walls are not too thick. If you are a solo traveller or a group who is looking for a hostel with a good location and a place to socialize, I would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
6.0

Awesome staff! Hostel is hard to find (no sign!) and up ten flights of steps, so ensures safety! Overcrowded, airless bunk rooms and random guests sleeping in small common room make it hard to feel at home. Smoking allowed on balcony, so smoke wafts to common area. Kitchen fairly clean and homey with helpful, friendly signs. Yay for recycling! Way too many people coming and going in small quarters at all hours and couldn't tell if all were actually guests. Needs more space for number of bunks!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here, the staff were amazing, all of them. The room and the hostel on a whole were really clean and comfortable, there is a balcony that you can sit outside on and it is a really social but relaxed environment. You get the feeling of it being a friends house rather than a hostel, everyone is so friendly. It was a little difficult to find - it is the building hidden next to the construction site, but that was the only problem I had when there. Really recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Awesome staff, location not too far from the center. Clean and safe as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.9

Friendly hostel, a little hippy and no vibe as everyone was out or passed out in the living room. Should mention its up about 8 flights of stairs, killer. It's a fair walk from the centre/ old town of Split so you could find somewhere closer for sure. Lady was lovely though and helpful. Big lockers to secure your things in. Bathrooms a bit tiny but they did the job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.6

Great spot to stay nearby the old town. Very helpful staff that are friendly and welcoming. Great view off the balcony and a lot fun in the common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.