X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Florence Central Reviews

Borgo Santa Croce,11, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

We appreciated the free bottle of champagne,and the location was truly amazing as it's close to the duomo,the train station and all other main sites.however I feel that it is overpriced slightly,and the staff weren't very helpful as we never saw them except for check-in and checkout.


89%

This was a last minute booking and I really wasn't sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! Our room was huge and richly appointed, and there was even a bottle of complimentary champagne waiting for us. The location is right by the river and it can get extremely noisy at night, but I'd still stay here again.


94%

Our room was "broken" but we received excellent accommodation. We plan use hostelworld.com in future.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was quite central and major sights where just in walking distance. At night the bar below the rooms was pretty noisy past midnight. As a welcoming gift we had a bottle of champagne in the room which was really cool. Unfortunately there were no fly screens in the rooms so we woke up with loads of mosquito bites!


97%

it was the best hostel in firenze !!! the location , and staff and cleaniness was perfect. and our room was late like 15 min , just because of that that gave us a champagne :) they are so nice and helpfull :)

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice place, great location right of Santa Croce. Not too many people staying, so it's not exactly a party hostel, but it's close to all of the sights in Florence. Understand that sometimes it's hard to get AC in Italian buildings, but wish there was a fan or something in the room. We had to leave the windows open at night and mosquitoes got in :/


77%

Beutifull bedromm, usefull kitchen, good location and plus they give you a free bottle of champagne! Only thing the price on page was wrong and the guy of reception was not that friendly (girls were fine!), but still valuable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, I'm sorry if you think so, but even if the price on the website was wrong, much less than it should be for that period, at your arrival we have not told us to pay the difference, we let the same price with which you have booked also for the other night ... and you wanted to stay in there longer we left at the same price (bass) and we have offered same kind of services as for those who book at the regular price thanks for all staff

80%

The hostel provided free champagne which we didn't have time to drink. On the other hand, we had no hot water in the morning.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, for hot water, you have to open the tap and wait a while, until it is hot water ... (because at the start and cold but after gets hot) thanks for all staff

100%

Very spacious, clean, comfortable bed and wi-fi works great. staff very friendly and available, we felt at home, I recommend to all

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very central, in the historical center of Florence, very clean and staff was very nice, really recommend it!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
43%

Customer service was poor, we got an email saying that we could pay the rest on arrival but it didn't say cash only. We could not pay by card which was inconvenient. The guy then offered us to walk to a different hotel the next day to pay her colleague or pay at 12pm when he was there again. As we were there only 2 days I was not preparared The room was musty and the towels we hired for 2 euros each were thin so ripped when we hung then up. No ventilation so nothing could dry.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

I came there and the staff and atmosphere were so insecure to me that I decidee to go elsewhere although i already paíd 10%. I cant be more disappointed. It was horrible experience


66%

yeeee haaaa great location. woooo

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

From the beginning of our stay to its end, we didn't feel welcome. When we asked for advice or recommendations, we got the bare minimum.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

the guy was not very kind the room was in a mess


31%

Staff were impressively rude, they would stare us down if they needed to use the kitchen. The people who run the hostel are also a large family who live in one room, my group and the other guests got a very strong impression that we were invading someones home and made to feel very guilty for it. Any request was returned with a, passive agressive/ sarcastic remark. Load music starts playing from their big room at 6am and guest are too scaed to say anything. Do not stay here if u want to enjoy..


74%

Great location not too far from main attractions, supermarket and train station approx 20 min. Guy running the place was nice and let us keep our bags there after check out so we could walk aroumd the city. The floor was a little dirty ie dont walk around in bare feet but apart from that had a comfortable stay.


63%

Staff a bit rude and unwelcoming. Walls paper thin and guests/staff could be heard through the night. Very good location, however. In walking distance of the whole city.


77%

Nice place to stay, near Arno River and the historic center.

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst hostel I 've ever stayed at. Filthy and the staff was absolutely horrible. Do not stay here.

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'll ask you same thing I asked your friends who broke the shower cabin: When the stuff was rude? When you came at 3.00 AM drunk and buzzed all neighbours' bells? While you had the keys. Or maybe when you were so drunk that you couldn't find your room? And made noise when were let in by staff. And again this question: If the hostel was so horrible why did you pay to stay one more day here? Because of the noise you and your friends made other guests left a bad review.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(171 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback