Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Garden Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2017
6.3

Fine hostel to stay at. Staff didn't speak any english so couldn't book bus tickets at the hostel. Nice bed in twin room with good working aircon. Location is pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Mar 2017
5.4

Doors don't lock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
2.0

I've never had such a bad experience at a hostel. There were mosquitoes everywhere, the breakfast was very limited, cleanliness was poor, the beds were uncomfortable & the property & rooms were left unlocked over night so it was unsafe. On top of all of this, my friend & I made a booking for a trip through the hostel. Staff assured us that this was finalised but upon arrival we were told it was not. The girl on reception was very rude, pretended to call the company and laughed the entire time.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

There's no garden. Noisy from construction work around. Toilets and showers aren't so clean and the beds aren't so comfy. Will do for a night stop over

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Feb 2017
4.6

We decided to pay for a private room as we wanted a few chilled nights... what a mistake. I was kept up until 4am two nights in a row with noise from the other private room next door because the walls are so thin. Also, the door to our room was pretty much a plank of wood with a small frosted window. The rooms we're full of mosquitoes because the door to the balcony was not secure. The shared bathroom was always dirty. Both mornings we found bugs on our breakfast. Very disappointed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Feb 2017
4.3

The lady who was behind the desk when we first arrived was really helpful and friendly. However, the next morning it was a different lady and a different storey. Usually drinks come before your food but this was not the case and went to find out why and she was on her phone. It's funny how it's called backpackers garden as the garden is a patch of dirt. Beds were extremely hard and wifi and electricity was patchy. Over all I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it even to a budget traveller.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • finbarab95
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.9

Beds clearly weren't changed, saw a bed bug crawl along the wall. Bathrooms are shared by everyone and down in the courtyard, which was strange. Location breakfast, staff and wifi are all good. But there's no security, anyone could just walk into your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Second time there as I really liked the private room and the hostel location. Great welcome from the lady and she has a good team. Quick laundry. She helped get the bus booked to ThaKhek. Breakfast and food good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was good and helpful but the rooms were so so dirty! You can clearly see that they dont change the beds, i had to sleep with 1 bath towel under me and another on top. Room smelled moldy and the toilets were not clean either. There was no garden, there was a pit of dried leaves so i dont know why the name. Would not stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Pleasant hostel, very lovely, friendly and giggly staff. Good location, walking distance but would recommend bicycles to see the whole city. Tasty breakfast but coffee service is slow. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.