Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Garden Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
Backpackers Garden Hostel Located at 028 Sihome Road, , Vientiane.
Backpackers Garden Hostel
Laos
Vientiane 028 Sihome Road
68% 215
17.9699362 102.5997948
Backpackers Garden Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jul 2016
2.0

I booked for a private twin room for one night and when I arrived at the hostel they told me that all of their private rooms were full even though I had booked well in advance! When I told them I booked a private through hostel world they told me you cannot book a private there. This was disorganised and unacceptable!! I had to leave and find another hostel that had private rooms available, it was more costly and the hostel we ended up staying in was not the nicest place. So disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2016
4.9

The rooms literally felt like prison, really uncomfortable beds and the facilities just felt dirty. There are no locks for the door or lockers so literally just leaving your stuff out hoping for the best. The facilities on hostel world mentioned a travel desk but they were incapable of helping us at all. The walking distance in to the city was the best thing about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location, walking distance to the night market. There is no free vodka!!!!! Do not go expecting a bar because there is no bar and no free vodka!!!! Very disappointing :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
8.0

Nice basic room. Great staff, very helpful. Short walk to the river and night market.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Mar 2016
5.4

To be honest I don't know why this place is nr. 1 on tripadvisor. Stuff couldn't really help with what I wanted. Security is super bad. Sadley there is not really a good hostel atmosphere or exchange between the travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
27th Feb 2016
7.4

Pretty much you can't complain for the price you're paying. Room was super basic (ok mattress over a concrete bed, AC and that's it), facilities were somewhat clean. The main problem is that there's only 2 sinks, 2 toilets and 2 showers for too many people. There are more showers and toilets inside the building as well. Showers are in a patio, so bathing at early morning can be really challenging since you'll be freezing. Hot water was scarce. But again, for the price, an overall experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Feb 2016
7.7

Good for if you want a place to chill all day, no locks on the dorm doors and pretty out of the way from the city center. Decent beds and good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
6.3

I could have sworn the hostel description mentioned free whiskey happy hour from 5-7pm and a pool table, but I didn't see either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
7.1

it was okay, 2 toilletts for so many people is way less... toilettes smelled bad, but the rooms were clean and okay. the beds were to hard for our backs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Feb 2016
4.3

Unfortunately, this is the worst hostel we stayed at in 9 months of travelling. No locks on the dorm room doors, broken lockers, the rooms are just concrete like prison cells (some of the rooms don't even have a roof!). Just two toilets and two showers available for a hostel that sleeps about 30-40 people. I would advise people to give anywhere else a shot instead of here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.