Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Garden Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.6

Second time there as I really liked the private room and the hostel location. Great welcome from the lady and she has a good team. Quick laundry. She helped get the bus booked to ThaKhek. Breakfast and food good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
5.1

Staff was good and helpful but the rooms were so so dirty! You can clearly see that they dont change the beds, i had to sleep with 1 bath towel under me and another on top. Room smelled moldy and the toilets were not clean either. There was no garden, there was a pit of dried leaves so i dont know why the name. Would not stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Really looking overly place with cool artwork around the building. took rather a long time to walk into the centre so we Tuk Tuk'd instead and it was very cheap! Atmosphere wasn't great as everyone was on there phones but not exactly a bad thing. Staff were brilliant and so helpful with booking buses etc and the food prepared was amazing as well! Overall would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
6.6

The staff were kind and good-hearted. However, the hostel was disorganized and messy. My lunch and dinner took over an hour to arrive (noodle and coffee/lemonade). At 1 pm, the used breakfast dishes (coffee mugs/plates/banana peels, napkins) still hadn't been cleaned up from the tables. WiFi was spotty. There was a leak from my bathroom, so 1/4 of the bedroom carpet was wet when I checked-in. I'd suggest hiring more staff. Mellow vibe, but noisy construction next door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.3

I was only here for one night. The hostel is charming and has a lovely artsy vibe. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best was not very comfortable and the security locks were small and made noise each time i moved on my bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
8.9

Great place to meet people. Clean and easy lodgings. All the taxis know so getting there is no problem. The staff are great and cook up some great food. They can take care of anything you need for transportation and are great with getting visa stuff done. All in all it's the perfect spot in Vientiane. Couldn't have asked for much more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere, good location and the best breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.3

The best feature is the price. Basic, damp concrete room with no natural light (window hole covered by wooden boards that could be opened.) very, very basic. If you want budget travel and no comfort then this is the place. Staff were friendly and hostel was okay, no major problems or anything. Just very very basic. Location was okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.4

Served my purposes for a one-night stay, being perhaps a 10 minute ride to the airport. Check-in staff seemed new, but manager very helpful. She noticed I was missing some paperwork for my Vietnam visa and helped me sort it out. The bed was not comfortable and sheets had some light staining. Small lockers for valuables. Bedside light and outlet. Lots of noise from nearby bars. Instructed not to lock door - guests not given keys. Looked like just two one-seat bathrooms for the floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

These people are the best! The girls are supper sweet and the single lovely lady that runs the place works hard and always is happy and smiling...for real, not fake!!! There is the sweetest ginger kitty-kitty that lays around on the couch and everyone loves him...wifi rocks too...its a go!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.