X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Göteborg Reviews

Vegagatan 19, (Check in at Vegagatan 21), Gothenburg, Sweden

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
638 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very easy access to tram and bus lines in a nice neighborhood. Kitchen was incredible and the reception was very helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend!

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Backpackers Göteborg hostel was great! All the staff was very helpful. Free sheets when booking through hostel world. Beautiful kitchen and bathrooms. And a great buffet breakfast!

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Big kitchen,lots if usefull details around the own bed


89%

I love the common area where you can just hang out and talk to new people you've just met. Clean and spacy kitchen. The staff was very helpful. By foot it is pretty far away from the city centre but a lot of pubs are just 10 min away by foot and everything else is pretty easy accessible by public transport.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place, nice atmosphere, kitchen well equip, location is good and toilets are perfect.


91%

very nice, very firendly & very helpfull ! The kitchen is clean, as was the bed & the bathroom. The staff, the location & the hostel itself were absolutly perfect !! Concerning the atmosphere, i have to admit that i wasn't looking for friendship, so i cannot really give my opinion .. but i think this is like every were else, it depends on the poeple !!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good breakfast (especially compared to our previous visit a couple of years ago, and compared to breakfast at 2 STF Hostels). Friendly stafff.

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was here for two weeks and had a really great experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great. The buses and trams make it easy to travel the city.


77%

Everything is good. But when I left I forgot to ask for the deposit money. I feel sad about that.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome hostel.V clean,quiet,enough bathrooms,great hot showersbrilliant modern kitchen facilities(coffee machine, fridges, microwaves, electric stove etc). Near transport restaurants supermarket. Female dorm great, u can buy or bring own padlock for cupboards under bunk beds but room has key card. Staff amazing - helpful, friendly and always available to answer queries. Wifi at the hostel was also perfect. Bedding and towels provided too. Fantastic, would def recommend if ur in Gothenburg.


94%

The shower and bathroom here are good. And the room is really quiet. It is a good place to have a sleep.


97%

This was my first hostel experience and was a great one! Sleeping area and washroom facilities were all very clean!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is not near the centre of town. A bus or tram ride in taking about 15 minutes. The rooms seem small for the number of occupants. Just the beds. No table or chair to sit at. A TV there but the lounge area, and kitchen areas are small. The showers and toilets are situated at the end of the kitchen and not close to the dorms. Staff were helpful and friendly. I would look elsewhere next time before coming back here. It would not be my first choice again.


80%

Bad bad smell of foot odure in the hallway and doorms! Yuk

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A great hostel with good beds, great kitchen and excellent staff. There was always someone on hand to help out and give advice on things to do. About a 20 minute walk from the city centre or a very short tram ride. Would recommend and stay there again.


80%

This hostel is more of a hotel with one dorm room for females and one for males. It's spread across three different buildings. Interesting mix of people from young backpackers to older couples. Decent kitchen and really spacious bathrooms. Really close to supermarkets and bars and a great cafe at the end of the road. Very close to the tram to get into the city center & down the road from Slottsskogen (massive park with a zoo in it). There isn't really a common area in the building I was in.


86%

I was in this hostel just for weekends. Cons ; Location is not good but acceptable, 30 minutes walk from station. Pros ; There are several supermarkets near the hostel. Staff was nice,even giving me a medicine when I told him I had a headache. Toilet and kitchen were clean. housekeeper cleans everyday. Easy to get along with others.


100%

Loved this hostel. Really welcoming staff and good crowd of other guests. The kitchen is very homely, so it's easy to self-cater. Sweden has some funny rules around buying alcohol - don't expect to get anything but beer after 3pm! But supermarket is very close. Breakfast in hotel side also caters to dairy-free dietary needs (thankfully). Sleeping arrangements are clean - sheets and towels have to be rented, but not expensive - people seem generally respectful. All positive!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thenk you the nice comments!

71%

The dorms were nice but the kitchen area stank weird. The stuff was super helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the praise! The smell came from food in the roof space. Some people have an odd sense of humor! It does not smell anymore! Best regards the Staff

97%

Everyone from the staff to the other guests were amazingly friendly. As a single female traveller, I never felt unsafe, and actually made several friends in the week I was there. The lounge area next to the kitchen was a perfect place to hang out with a book, or to chat with new friends. It was lovely staying there, and I'd stay there again!

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Gothenburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback