Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Göteborg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,028 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Backpackers Göteborg Located at Vegagatan 19, (Check in at Vegagatan 21), Gothenburg.
Backpackers Göteborg
Sweden
Gothenburg 413 11 Vegagatan 19, (Check in at Vegagatan 21)
85% 1028
57.6928413 11.9479107
Backpackers Göteborg
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.7

The hostel was in a great location and a good price. It had excellent shared and recycling facilities; we never had to queue to use the shower/toilets etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It had a fun atmosphere and they put on daily walking tours as well as evening activities. We joined in most nights with Francesco and the other guests and had a great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review and nice words. Great to hear that you took part in our social events. Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

18th Sep 2016
8.6

Big kitchen, and clean rooms & bathrooms. Only stayed here one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinions! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
6.6

We stayed here as a family. Good location - a half hour walk from the centre of town but in a nice quiet area with lots of cafes etc. The room was fine, but the bathrooms weren't clean and the communal areas weren't particularly welcoming. It was fine as a place to spend the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinions. During the winter are the bathrooms going to improve. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your night with us. Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.6

The smell in the men's dorm is awful!! It's coming from the body order of one of the longer staying guests older gentleman.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that you found it smelling in the dorm, still great to hear that you seem to have enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th Sep 2016
9.4

Don't let the outside put you off, inside it is amazing. The nightly social events are so much fun. Staff are also very helpful and informative

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree, the inside is the most important! Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
6.6

Very friendly stuff but rooms are very cramped and bathrooms smelled like mold

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments! Glad that you found us friendly! We shall take a look at the bathrooms! Best regards Dennis, Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.3

Comfortable rooms. Big, well equipped kitchen. Location close to Central Station, about 25 minutes walk to the Old Town. Toilets and floor in shower area was left a bit dirty at times. Staff were helpful. Wifi reliable for first half of my 3 day stay but then completely stopped working. Staff were very apologetic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments! We will have a closer look at the toilets and see what we can improve. Sorry to hear that you had problems with the WiFi. Kind regards Linda, Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2016
8.9

The hostel is clean and atmosphere is great. just a bit far from Central station..in my opinion..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! It takes about 15 minutes on the tram from the centralstation to get to us. Welcome back! Kind regards Linda, Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.9

Had a great stay at this hostel. Located 20 minutes from the centre of town and 10 minutes from the best area for nightlife. The staff were all great and there are a lot of acitvities to get involved in, from games at night to the walking tour on the weekends. Special thanks to Francesco and Leo for showing me a good time in Gothenburg!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Lovely to hear that you took part in our social events and met Francesco and Leo. Welcome back to us! Kind regards Linda, Backpackers Göteborg

1st Sep 2016
6.3

First off, if you stay book this as a hostel, be prepared to clean as there is no housekeeping. You're expected to leave the room in a good enough condition for the next guest (vacuuming, etc.) which raises questions about how clean the rooms really are. The hostel is close to the tram/bus, grocery store, etc. and staff is nice enough. Kitchen is sufficient but a little understocked so be prepared to improvise. Breakfast was pretty good for 70 SEK, make sure to remember your own sheets.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review! As we are a hostel guests are supposed to clean the room themselves but we do always check the rooms afterwards as well. If you do not like to clean you can always pay a small fee for it. Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Kind regards Linda, Slottsskogen Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.