Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Göteborg

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Overall, my experience in this hostel was great. Super friendly staff with a good facility that works really well for all travelers. The location is really close to the old neighborhood of Haga which is a must visit and one of my favorite spots in Göteborg. Thank you Backpackers for the excellent hospitality! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Feb 2017
5.7

Dorm smelt like urine and dirty feet. Location isn't great quite far from the central station. Dorm was really dirty as well which isn't the staffs fault but the people that were staying there at the time must have just been much more untidy people to what I am used to in hostels. It's a hotel in one building as well as a hostel in the other and it seems like the attention to detail is much more towards the hotel side.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments and your review! Sorry to hear that you found it messy and that we couldn't live up to your expectations! We do clean in the dormitorys everyday, but it can get messy pretty fast I'm afraid if the people staying in there are messy as well. It takes about 10 minutes to the central station with the public transports! Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
8.3

If you're in Gothenburg alone then I'd highly recommend Backpackers. They really make the effort with everyone through very regular social events ran by their highly approachable staff! It is also one of the cheapest places to stay and has all the facilities you require.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our social activities! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.4

I had a great time here. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. It was also great having events run by the hostel every night. Francesco brought the guests with gusto and made the nights enjoyable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your nice words! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our social activities! Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

This was an amazing hostel with excellent, clean facilities. The staff at reception were very kind and helpful. I stayed in the girls' dormitory and it was very quiet and peaceful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Camille! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You are more than welcome back to us! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.6

Good hostel - great facilities, clean and very quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you with us again soon! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.3

the hostel has a nice atmosphere for international travellers and nice kitchen :) the staff is very helpful and friendly! only if they can increase the cleanliness of the public toilet and shower room (there is no toilet paper also in the morning).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words and your review! Glad you liked the atmosphere here! We do clean everyday, but sometimes all it takes is a guest who is a bit messy and it ruins for everyone. Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place, very nice location, lots of cool people living there and chilling in the common area. the dorms are also very quiet at night so I slept very well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear that you liked the atmosphere here! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Overall I very much enjoyed my stay at backpackers, the people were lovely and everything was clean. There is a good atmosphere in the common room and I woul recommend that anyone who wants a social atmosphere stay there. However, the kitchen was a bit lacking - all the bench space is taken up by peoples' food, there is no oven, the stove light doesn't work, and the left stove is dodgy as both hot plates turn on no matter which one you turn on. Also the underbed lockers are hard to use and loud

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words and your review! Glad that you find the atmosphere satisfying! Thank you for telling us about the faults in the kitchen, we will take measures directly! Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
10.0

Backpackers hostel was a great place to stay!! The location was wonderful with short walking distances to public transportation, restaurants and bars! The staff was very friendly especially Francesco, our activities coordinator! He played drinking games with us and showed us the best night life in Gothenburg! I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear that you enjoyed Francescos activities! Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.