Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Göteborg

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.1

A very pleasant stay at backpackers , very good value for money, helpful staff, would stay here again. I recommend. I stayed in the women's dormitory , which was peaceful of an evening and had the privacy with own curtain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel, bit far from center or train station but super easy on tram, right near the gorgeous botanical gardens, and plenty of food/drink. Clean comfy rooms and privacy curtains, solid WiFi. Nice kitchen and decent common room, and Francesco is amazing at creating a great inclusive atmosphere and cajoling a group of total strangers to hang out/go out to a bar for a few hours, especially nice for a slightly older introvert like me. Very good price for Sweden. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.9

Backpackers Göteborg is nice hostel in a quiet neighbourhood, near a park/cafes/restaurants/bars; not in the city centre, but close to transit or an easy walk to the centre. Hostel was clean, and comfortable. Room was good and there were privacy curtains on the beds. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and they do activities a lot; there was a well attended BBQ on my 2nd night, and we learned how to play Kubb, so I met a bunch of people and it was a lot of fun. I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our social activities! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.3

Pleasant stay. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Good facilities- fully equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, common area. The wifi worked well. It is in the linne neighbourhood so not quite in the city centre but quite nice surroundings and a short bus ride into town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • ben_jhen4099
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
8.9

A very nice, well located and managed hostel with friendly staff. Can't go wrong for a short stay. Just don't expect it to be a party hostel - the weekend I was there nobody wanted to join the events that were running so unfortunately they cancelled. This meant I didn't really meet anyone the whole weekend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your nice words! Sorry to hear about the activities during your stay. Welcome back during the summer, then there shouldn't be any problem to meet new people! Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

26th Apr 2017
7.1

I just come from Gotenberg, Sewden. I stay in this hostel l for 4 days. I found many negative points about this hostel. 1 This hostel is about 16 beds in each room.I feel this like cattle field ,think when you sleep with 16 people ,dirty small whole night. 2 Very ugly place. 3 Very uncomfortable 4 We have to pay extra money for towels I will not suggest to stay this place .Think it before you com hear.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments. We do have other rooms except the 16 bed male dorm which is possible to book as well. Welcome back! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

21st Apr 2017
8.3

Basically a massive hotel with 1200 rooms, not a backpacker hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments! We do have an option for almost everyone here at the hostel, and since our rooms are spread out in different buildings it might feel like we are very big. We do have a building were we put most of our backpacker guests, but sometimes we need to switch to rooms in other buildings. Hope to see you with us again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

21st Apr 2017
8.9

A really great hostel. Not the best location as it takes 10-15 mins walking to get to the center but the bathrooms are excellent, there are personal showers, very comfy beds, everything is clean and the kitchen is robust. Very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

19th Apr 2017
8.6

We actually stayed at the one next door, Backpackers which was overall good. The bathroom downstairs was not super clean, but the others upstairs were quite nice. This hostel is very quiet, and I feel that Slottskogen has nicer common areas. One thing they don't advertise though, you are expected to clean after yourself (very common in Sweden) or pay 40 SEK per person. Overall I would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your kind words! Sorry to hear about the cleaning, but that is just so we can keep the prices down if you prefer to do it by yourself! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

this hostel was nice place to stay. there was a good kitchen where you can cook your own food. bathrooms were nice and clean. also rooms and beds were in a good shape. there's kindergarten or something next door, so in the morning you can hear the kids screaming and running around there...not so nice thing to hear at 8am. but overal it was a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for kind words! Sorry to hear that you got disturbed by our neighbours! Hope to see you again! Kind regards Backpackers Göteborg

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.