Hostelworld.com

Backpackers HQ

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Backpackers HQ Located at 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Backpackers HQ
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross
79% 814
-33.8729988 151.2227082
Backpackers HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.1

The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful. The kitchen and breakfast were great and the chill out room was really nice. However I stayed in the 14 bed dorm it was very cramped. A lot of people are long termers which makes it even more so. People I know stayed in the smaller dorms and said that they were nice. I would recommend if you're not bothered about cramped go ahead or just around for a few days. The staff were lovely and I liked the location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.1

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
7.1

Hostel was okay, great location and good place to stay if you're working in Sydney, however the wifi was awful unless you were downstairs and even then it wasn't great - but it was free so I can only complain so much. People were friendly but seemed a little cliquey as a lot of people were working in the city and not just passing through like us. Overall it was decent, and I would consider staying again, as it was good value for money

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

I really enjoy this hostel. It's super easy accessible, kings cross station just a minute walk away. The owners are super friendly and help you out wherever they can. Unless you want a laundry basket :D if you're a nice and clean person you'll fit into this hostel perfectly. You'll see cleaners running around all morning! The outdoor area is nice and chilled. WiFi is working 95% of the time. :D in total I don't regret staying and will come back next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Mar 2016
5.4

Too dirty. cockroaches everywhere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
5.4

This hostel was a quite unpleasant experience. The room was dirty and was not very apiling to stay and sleep in. The rest was OK. Still not a hostel I would like to stay longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
9.7

Loved it! Amazing people, staff and atmosphere. Felt so at home. Definitely my favourite hostel so far on my travels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.9

Definitely a okay Hostel! It is fresh and feels pretty new with the nice common area with a small waterfall and stuff. Nice rooms too, big, lockers and a own basin. Kings Cross overall isnt the most charmy place, but it is close to the beautiful harbour and the hostel is located 3 minutes from the "main street" in Kings Cross which is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2016
6.6

Location is perfect. only few minutes to the train station King Cross. Staff really nice. First room I had was horrible. You couldn't even lock the door and it smelled like hell. never seen a such small room before. two lockers for 4 beds - there's no sense behind it. I could change room and this one was really good. big, own toilet and shower, many chargers. It really depends which room you get. room not really clean but ok. every morning at 8 someone came into the room and changed the bin

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • East Timor, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Mar 2016
6.6

Communal spaces are good but the big dorms are pretty abysmal. Due to the high proportion of long term guests (on working visas), the already cramped rooms are filled with more mess than I've ever seen in any hostel before and people have used up all the lockers as shelves for their stuff. It also means the atmosphere is pretty rubbish because people are working. What's worse, it was 37 degrees during our stay and there wasn't even a working fan. Very poor value for money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.