Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 910 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 910 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpackers HQ Located at 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Backpackers HQ
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross
84% 910
-33.8729988 151.2227082
Backpackers HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

At first I was super thrilled with the hostel but the longer I stayed the more I liked it. There are a lot of long term backpackers there, but you can still meet a lot of cool people there. There was free breakfast everyday which was nice, but the common area closes at 10pm and everyone is forced into the TV room, which is kind of a bummer. Even with the few down sides I would probably stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel, clean and really close to everything and my room had a view of the Opera House sails.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.7

Really good hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.0

At first this hostel seems beautiful, really nice luxurious layout. It's bright, it's pretty clean and spacious. However we lived here for a while and were made to feel very unwelcome by some of the staff. Rude, one of them actually shouted at me on one occasion for using a wardrobe in my room! Cockroaches and rats seen often in the common area. Only one shared shower before 7 in the morning. After ten there is only a small tv room to socialise in. Kick people out for nothing. I would avoid.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel, one of the best I've been to and had a great BBQ. Will stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
9.4

Best free wifi on my travel down the east coast. Good breakfast too. Close to the train.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
9.4

A really beautiful hostel, great mix of guests and friendly staff. I'll definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Sep 2016
8.3

+ Really warm welcome + Good lockers + Free breakfast was amazing + Early checkout no problems - 1 shower for room of 14 - Ants in bathroom - Windows of bedroom lead into kitchen so very loud

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Sep 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay here and we'll definitely be back. Great atmosphere and really sociable. Very squeaky beds though and the kitchen is tiny for the amount of people who stay there. Bathrooms are very clean. staff are lovely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
7.1

It's a pretty decent hostel in Kings Cross, pretty handy from everything. But don't expect atmosphere cause it's not a party hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.