Hostelworld.com

Backpackers HQ

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 838 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Backpackers HQ Located at 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Backpackers HQ
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross
78% 838
-33.8729988 151.2227082
Backpackers HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2016
6.0

Overall a good backpack but this mexican girl at the reception should learn what hospitality mean! The owners were actually nice and helpful. That girl was not at all !!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
5.1

On a positive note there was hot showers and the staff and other guests were lovely. On the negative side there was cockroaches everywhere, including in the kitchen, even inside the microwave. The shower head in my room came up to my neck. The room I stayed in had one room facing the courtyard, which tended to be quite noisy, especially when the cleaners were taking the bins out and cleaning in the early morning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
5.4

Staff were friendly and cool when everything was alright, but definitely unprofessional when issues arised!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
6.3

Ended up staying here for one night before heading to Bali. You definitely get what you pay for by staying here... I stayed in the large mixed dorm room was extremely dirty, had a ton of long term people living there with there stuff everywhere. There is a huge cockroach problem as they are crawling all over the walls/ floors as you are laying in bed. I was informed from others staying there that management was aware however does not care. Spend the extra $10 a night at a nicer hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.4

HQ was a wonderful find- right from our booking with reception. Everyone was quite lovely. Great quality free breakfast. Comfortable bed. Warm enough for winter. There were somethings they could improve on: Wifi was less than the advertised high speed, it was spotty but at least it was free and unlimited. Certain parts of the day worked best (probably when no one was streaming Netflix. Cockroaches even though it was cleaned everyday. Spotty warm water in our showers. Still stayed one week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katiehollandx
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.6

Good location, where all the backpackers are, nice walk to the harbour bridge and opera house. Good atmosphere, the kitchen gets very crowded in the evenings so it's sometimes hard to cook when you want to. Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were helpful, wifi is good too :) nice TV room to relax in, have your own code to enter the hostel which was great and secure! Would defiantly recommend :))

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
4.0

The staff was helpful enough, but it always seemed like they were doing you a favor if you asked for help in something. They are VERY strict on their kitchen items and impose fees if you don't put your plate back where you got it after cleaning. The toilet seat was broken off the entire 10 days I was there. The door lock to the bathroom was a paperclip. I saw two cockroaches, one in the shower and one in my bed. The bunks squeak very loudly to the point that if you move an inch, all will know.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th May 2016
6.9

Overall a good hostel for the price you pay. We did book a bigger room but got put into a small one which was less social and there were a lot of people working there but it was still sociable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • claudiarack
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.6

Cool hostel with a good vibe. Stayed in the 14 person dorm and it was a mess. Room was way too narrow, beds are very creaky and mainly has people staying long term so it's a total mess

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.1

The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful. The kitchen and breakfast were great and the chill out room was really nice. However I stayed in the 14 bed dorm it was very cramped. A lot of people are long termers which makes it even more so. People I know stayed in the smaller dorms and said that they were nice. I would recommend if you're not bothered about cramped go ahead or just around for a few days. The staff were lovely and I liked the location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.