X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers HQ Reviews

174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
516 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I've been in Australia since September last year and this is defiantly the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The owners/staff have though about every little detail including plug sockets for the top bunkers, showing us the facilities when checking in and free continental breakfast. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm with an en-suit which was great, the only thing that could have made it better would have been free tea and coffee throughout the day but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

administrator must remind theirs cleaner who must washing the bathroom in a dorm room every day, don't just clean the rubbish, because the shower room and the toilet is not cleanliness and look like yellowing. but in first floor the public bathroom and toilet are the cleanest !

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

There is really not to say much about the hostel. We had a great stay with no troubles or issues. Great breakfast and the lockers are excellent. It's just a 15 minute walk away from the Sydney Opera House or a 2 minute walk from the Kings Kross Station. Also the beds were very cozy.


94%

I really liked this hostel. I stayed there for 6nights and I can't say anything bad about the hostel. Hopefully it will be the same the next time because some people/ guests in the hostel didn't have any respect for property and facilities. Don't damage the amazing hostel which I hope many backpackers will also enjoy in the near furter! :)


94%

HQ Backpackers is by far the best backpacker accommodation in King Cross. The owners invest lots of time, money and energy into making your stay special. The only drawback I was surprised about was the fact that the toilets only are downstairs .

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hotel itself is very nice!! But I forgot one thing to consider before booking, the location! It's quite far from the central area where most of the stuffs like free bus and trains are. But if you don't mind taking trains (subways), this hostel is only 2-mins walk to Kings cross station!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was ok for the price but the key deposit was incredibly expensive! The atmosphere... too many young long term guests on working holiday. And someone should teach them not to leave all their belongings spread on the floor of the rooms...


74%

Fine for a few nights. Longtermers think they own the place and have no consideration for others. Clean and affordable.


63%

An okay hostel, though the bathroom was tiny for a 10 bed room. Was rather unclean as well, though if your going there to party it is right near some good bars and has a good atmosphere.


83%

I enjoyed being away from the CBD, but only a short 2 or 3 metro stops away. Though the long termers are fairly clique-y (that's to be expected), they were pretty welcoming and friendly all the same. So, good atmosphere. A comfortable party crowd, but nothing out of control. Wifi was great. Staff were super friendly. Best hostel I've found in Syndey (stayed at 4 or 5). Definitely recommend, I'm sure I'll be back.


80%

Nice hostel, would go there again!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really lovely hostel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, for example with regards to travel pala a and visiting sites in the city. Great value for money. Wifi connection was very good. Lots of different networks to join depending on how many people on each network so had minimal issues with speed and access. Also means that there is good to excellent signal everywhere. TV room is open 24 hours the courtyard is a nice area to sit. Highly recommend staying here.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Really nice hostel overall but not enough toilets and showers.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect. Friendly staff

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Backpackers HQ is a nice hostel with a good vibe. Breakfast was really great and i liked the possibility of having a good nice sleep in a quiet environment. Only thing is, if you loose your cup, it'll cost $5, that's too much money for a simple plastic cup. Also $40 key deposit is too much in my opinion.


74%

good area, close to transit and grocery store nice patio/hangout area BUT closes at 10pm everyday so no place to go and hangout except in your cramped rooms. TV room is nice but you get kicked out when the party people get kicked out from the patio area, free wifi is super spotty it basically stops working in the evenings. kitchen and washrooms are so disgusting by the evenings. it is a party hostel and LOTS of long term people stay here. the mugs thing is abit strange like everyone else said


89%

I had the best nights sleep here. The most amazing pillows and comfortable bed.


91%

Really nice common area and garden, really easy to meet people, only stayed there for a night but almost everyone else I met was staying there long-term, so it had a great atmosphere.


74%

A really nice Hostel. Watch out for your mug though, they make you pay a deposit for it - turned my back on it for a minute and it was gone! $5 right there. Place was cleaned really well apart from the dorms which seemed to only have the bins emptied, no actual cleaning was done. WiFi is free but really bad. Kitchen is really good and clean and free breakfast was awesome. Would stay here again

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place to spend a weekend! You guys should be proud of the establishment you run

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback