Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1010 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1010 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.6

Good hostel, nice imo to have smaller dorms, just a shame about the ryanair mentality: $40 deposit for a mug...., $50 fine if you don't wash up, breakfast til 9:30 etc but you will find the same in other hostels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
3.7

unfriendly staff. We were booked into a 12 bedroom dorm eve tough we have paid for an 8 bedroom dorm in advance. adter two days we had to change our rooms because they had made an error in administration, we got shifted into a 14 bedroom dorm! In the common areas are videocameras installed everywhere and you get fined for basically everything. Didn't feel camfortable due to all the cameras and wouldn't stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
4.6

Our room/bathroom was filthy and infested with cockroaches. Left early and was happy to forefit the money paid. Don't really need to say any more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
8.3

Kitchen very small and too many people in it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
6.0

Con: No AC and balcony doors locked after 10pm, fan is only alibi. It was 40 degrees C and everyone was melting at night. Very crowded, kitchen and bathrooms are from disgusting to unusable a half day after cleaning. Only one kitchen sink, queues for washing dishes. Not enough seats at peak times. WiFi slow with outages. Beds old, squeaky, unstable. Pro: Staff does its best and is friendly, we liked the strict rules, free sunscreen is a big plus, library and tv room. Location near bus and train

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
4.3

Upon arrival it was absolute chaos you couldn't move for bags. The kitchen is an accident waiting to happen. All of the bedrooms back onto an enclosed courtyard so no fresh air. People very unfriendly and clicky. The posters telling you your being watched should you make any mess are super unfriendly. Squeaky beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.1

This hostel is so much better than other hostels around Kings Cross. It has a relaxed and a homely vibe and everything is beautiful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
4.0

We were so disappointed with this hotel, especially after seeing the high reviews. When we arrived no one was at the desk, and another guest went to find the staff for us. As soon as we entered our room, I immediately killed 3 cockroaches. The bathroom looked like it has never been cleaned before, the drain was disgusting, and the shower hardly worked. I would recommend looking for different accommodations for your stay in Sydney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
7.1

Nice Location! Room was okay! Kitchen is much too overcrowded! Be prepared for queuing! Wifi is for free but more slow than fast! All in all too expensive for this!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
6.6

This was my first experience of a hostel in Australia having been in SE Asia, and I was very disappointed. Location is good, but the room was filthy dirty and I was the only "backpacker" (my entire room were long-stays). No air conditioning so no sleep and beds creaked so loudly. Anyone could walk in and out of the hostel during the day so not so safe. Only a 20 minute walk from Sydney harbour and close to transport though, and a good spot for nightlife

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.