Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
Backpackers HQ Located at 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Backpackers HQ
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross
75% 853
-33.8729988 151.2227082
Backpackers HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
6.9

엄청 깔끔한걸 원하지 않는다면 가성비 좋아요!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Very nice hostel where you feel like at home. The breakfast is good and there are many showers. Unfortunetly windows of rooms are on the commun rooms, so it's noisy from 7h30 to 22h30. I was unlucky, some arsole stayed in my room and made noise and switched on the light at the middle of the night. Be carefull with the airport transfert, if you are not in front of the building, he just drive over without care.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
6.0

The room was little, and there were no fresh air, so it was very stinky

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
8.0

10 Zimmer sowie die Küche ist etwas eng, auch die Betten quietschen, dennoch ein super Hostel mit einer tollen Atmosphäre, ich bin mittlerweile schon seit über 3 Wochen hier :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
8.6

good value for a price, location is great, in kings cross, few minutes to opera house, staff was very helpful and the rooms were ok..the deposit is quite high, 40 dolars, and they charge 3% when paying with credit card..and the toilets&showers are unisex:/

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
6.0

Overall a good backpack but this mexican girl at the reception should learn what hospitality mean! The owners were actually nice and helpful. That girl was not at all !!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
5.1

On a positive note there was hot showers and the staff and other guests were lovely. On the negative side there was cockroaches everywhere, including in the kitchen, even inside the microwave. The shower head in my room came up to my neck. The room I stayed in had one room facing the courtyard, which tended to be quite noisy, especially when the cleaners were taking the bins out and cleaning in the early morning.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
5.4

Staff were friendly and cool when everything was alright, but definitely unprofessional when issues arised!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
6.3

Ended up staying here for one night before heading to Bali. You definitely get what you pay for by staying here... I stayed in the large mixed dorm room was extremely dirty, had a ton of long term people living there with there stuff everywhere. There is a huge cockroach problem as they are crawling all over the walls/ floors as you are laying in bed. I was informed from others staying there that management was aware however does not care. Spend the extra $10 a night at a nicer hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.4

HQ was a wonderful find- right from our booking with reception. Everyone was quite lovely. Great quality free breakfast. Comfortable bed. Warm enough for winter. There were somethings they could improve on: Wifi was less than the advertised high speed, it was spotty but at least it was free and unlimited. Certain parts of the day worked best (probably when no one was streaming Netflix. Cockroaches even though it was cleaned everyday. Spotty warm water in our showers. Still stayed one week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.