Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers HQ

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 868 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2
Backpackers HQ Located at 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney.
Backpackers HQ
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 174 Victoria St, Kings Cross
78% 868
-33.8729988 151.2227082
Backpackers HQ
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome place clean and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in Australia. Second time I have stayed, last time I worked in Sydney and stayed 2 months. Not a party hostel so good if you want to work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Had a lot of fun, was in a great location and a good crowd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

This backpackers is the cleanest I have ever stayed in. While travelling Backpackers HQ has been by far the best for overall satisfaction for staying in a backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
7.7

OK hostel, but to many people and room, not so cozy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
6.9

엄청 깔끔한걸 원하지 않는다면 가성비 좋아요!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Very nice hostel where you feel like at home. The breakfast is good and there are many showers. Unfortunetly windows of rooms are on the commun rooms, so it's noisy from 7h30 to 22h30. I was unlucky, some arsole stayed in my room and made noise and switched on the light at the middle of the night. Be carefull with the airport transfert, if you are not in front of the building, he just drive over without care.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.3

The location of this hotel is good and the staff are friendly. However the bunk beds are so squeaky. The room I was in was also a mess, with a lot of long term residents so I struggled to find somewhere to put my suitcase. However the lockers are a good size. Not the cleanest place as there were ants crawling in the shower / sink. Ok for a couple of nights but not somewhere I would like to stay long term

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
4.0

Noisiest place I have ever stayed in my entire life! Staff are ridiculously rude and unhelpful! Cockroaches in kitchen and in bedrooms. No courtesy for any of the guests that pay to sleep here. In the past week I would say I've had about 3 hours sleep per night and the staff just don't seem to tell people to be quiet, not ideal when you have to be up for work. Much nicer hostels in the area AVOID HOSTEL at all costs!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
6.0

The room was little, and there were no fresh air, so it was very stinky

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.