X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers HQ Reviews

174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

good area, close to transit and grocery store nice patio/hangout area BUT closes at 10pm everyday so no place to go and hangout except in your cramped rooms. TV room is nice but you get kicked out when the party people get kicked out from the patio area, free wifi is super spotty it basically stops working in the evenings. kitchen and washrooms are so disgusting by the evenings. it is a party hostel and LOTS of long term people stay here. the mugs thing is abit strange like everyone else said


89%

I had the best nights sleep here. The most amazing pillows and comfortable bed.


91%

Really nice common area and garden, really easy to meet people, only stayed there for a night but almost everyone else I met was staying there long-term, so it had a great atmosphere.


74%

A really nice Hostel. Watch out for your mug though, they make you pay a deposit for it - turned my back on it for a minute and it was gone! $5 right there. Place was cleaned really well apart from the dorms which seemed to only have the bins emptied, no actual cleaning was done. WiFi is free but really bad. Kitchen is really good and clean and free breakfast was awesome. Would stay here again

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place to spend a weekend! You guys should be proud of the establishment you run

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place. Best internet that I've had in Australia!!!


77%

Really nice hostel. Free Breakfast is good. WiFi is good in the morning and bad in the evening. The only problem is that the kitchen is sometimes very busy at dinner time. Why are there no additional cooking stoves in the seccond kitchen? Enjoyed my stay here!


100%

Best hostel I've stayed at in Sydney

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome location; near the metro, easy to get to or from anywhere. great crowd; I had a lot of fun staff were easily adequate if a little overly zealous over the right to use the washing machine/drier. (taking people's washing out while its still drying isn't my idea of 'best practice' .


100%

I HIGHLY recommend this place. It's on the other side of the busy party street of kings cross so it's pretty quite. The atmosphere in there is incredible with all the trees. Staff is amazing as well. Great for the price. Backpackers who stay there are super friendly. Make sure you go across the street at holm cafe for a coffee, it's the best around!

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best back packers I have ever stayed at . Didn't feel like a back packers more like a resort. Lots of work and effort has gone into making this a fabulous place to stay...Well done !

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is wonderful! Staff is soooo friendly! Isabella is soooo adorable! I was gonna stay for 3 nights, but i liked this place too much that i extended for another 2 night. 3 min walk to train station, very easy to get around. 5 min to supermarket, very convenient! You get to know a lot of people in the common area because it's really cozy to hang around there. The best hostel i've stayed in Australia. Definitely recommend it!


91%

Hq has become a home away from home for me and I have used it as a Sydney base for travelling Australia and New Zealand.. I think it is very well situation both for walking everywhere in the city or for taking public transport!! The bedrooms and common areas are spacious and kept clean and tidy!! The staff are amazingly friendly and always willing to help aswell as have a laugh with you! I would always recommend HQ to my friends!


89%

Staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast always on time and plenty, and rooms and kitchen cleanest in kings cross!


83%

Very clean and pleasant place. Rare to find a backpacker like this one in Sydney. I recommend it. Good value for money


86%

Nice and clean


83%

Pleasant stay with a great atmosphère. If you are looking for a place close to the city in a dynamic neighborhood its perfect

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were great and the eating area is great. Very clean for the amount of people staying there

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staff, would highly recommend staying here.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saint Vincent And The Grenadines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

You pay a deposit for everything and even need to give a credit card as security if you leave early. (It's not a problem, just cumbersome.) If you leave early (e.g. 7am Greyhound) the kitchen opening hours might lock your things in the fridge. The next store is 3 walking minutes away.


(47 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback