X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers HQ Reviews

174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
537 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The hotel itself is very nice!! But I forgot one thing to consider before booking, the location! It's quite far from the central area where most of the stuffs like free bus and trains are. But if you don't mind taking trains (subways), this hostel is only 2-mins walk to Kings cross station!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was ok for the price but the key deposit was incredibly expensive! The atmosphere... too many young long term guests on working holiday. And someone should teach them not to leave all their belongings spread on the floor of the rooms...


74%

Fine for a few nights. Longtermers think they own the place and have no consideration for others. Clean and affordable.


63%

An okay hostel, though the bathroom was tiny for a 10 bed room. Was rather unclean as well, though if your going there to party it is right near some good bars and has a good atmosphere.


83%

I enjoyed being away from the CBD, but only a short 2 or 3 metro stops away. Though the long termers are fairly clique-y (that's to be expected), they were pretty welcoming and friendly all the same. So, good atmosphere. A comfortable party crowd, but nothing out of control. Wifi was great. Staff were super friendly. Best hostel I've found in Syndey (stayed at 4 or 5). Definitely recommend, I'm sure I'll be back.


80%

Nice hostel, would go there again!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really lovely hostel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, for example with regards to travel pala a and visiting sites in the city. Great value for money. Wifi connection was very good. Lots of different networks to join depending on how many people on each network so had minimal issues with speed and access. Also means that there is good to excellent signal everywhere. TV room is open 24 hours the courtyard is a nice area to sit. Highly recommend staying here.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Really nice hostel overall but not enough toilets and showers.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect. Friendly staff

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Backpackers HQ is a nice hostel with a good vibe. Breakfast was really great and i liked the possibility of having a good nice sleep in a quiet environment. Only thing is, if you loose your cup, it'll cost $5, that's too much money for a simple plastic cup. Also $40 key deposit is too much in my opinion.


74%

good area, close to transit and grocery store nice patio/hangout area BUT closes at 10pm everyday so no place to go and hangout except in your cramped rooms. TV room is nice but you get kicked out when the party people get kicked out from the patio area, free wifi is super spotty it basically stops working in the evenings. kitchen and washrooms are so disgusting by the evenings. it is a party hostel and LOTS of long term people stay here. the mugs thing is abit strange like everyone else said


89%

I had the best nights sleep here. The most amazing pillows and comfortable bed.


91%

Really nice common area and garden, really easy to meet people, only stayed there for a night but almost everyone else I met was staying there long-term, so it had a great atmosphere.


74%

A really nice Hostel. Watch out for your mug though, they make you pay a deposit for it - turned my back on it for a minute and it was gone! $5 right there. Place was cleaned really well apart from the dorms which seemed to only have the bins emptied, no actual cleaning was done. WiFi is free but really bad. Kitchen is really good and clean and free breakfast was awesome. Would stay here again

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place to spend a weekend! You guys should be proud of the establishment you run

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place. Best internet that I've had in Australia!!!


77%

Really nice hostel. Free Breakfast is good. WiFi is good in the morning and bad in the evening. The only problem is that the kitchen is sometimes very busy at dinner time. Why are there no additional cooking stoves in the seccond kitchen? Enjoyed my stay here!


100%

Best hostel I've stayed at in Sydney

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Awesome location; near the metro, easy to get to or from anywhere. great crowd; I had a lot of fun staff were easily adequate if a little overly zealous over the right to use the washing machine/drier. (taking people's washing out while its still drying isn't my idea of 'best practice' .


100%

I HIGHLY recommend this place. It's on the other side of the busy party street of kings cross so it's pretty quite. The atmosphere in there is incredible with all the trees. Staff is amazing as well. Great for the price. Backpackers who stay there are super friendly. Make sure you go across the street at holm cafe for a coffee, it's the best around!

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(52 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback