X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers HQ Reviews

174 Victoria St, Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
469 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really nice hostel and the staff is very friendly! Its quite clean overall too, I would recommend this place! The only thing that bothered me is how hot it is in the room.. Theres a fan and windows but that isn't enough really. The free Wifi and Breakfast was also good!

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

this place is great. Everything is pretty clean.well as clean as a hostel can be. Everyone is friendly. The woman at reception when I checked in was particularly nice and helpful. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm so you can imagine the room wasnt very organised but thats down to the people staying. Showers went cold now and again but not too much of an issue. Free breakfast is good. Always plenty of everything. A good mix of short stay and long stay.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you for thes great time I had at your hostel! The staff is very friendly and helpfull! Very good hostel :)

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Would need a little renovation for the bathroom. A shame some costumers dont respect the cleanliness of the place (i.e. dont clean up the kitchen/table or the dishes before leaving)


89%

It was in a gery good place even if The room with ensuite are not worth The price

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the biggest problem was the longstayers, they acted as they owned the Place and were very anti scocial against all the other backpackers. And the hostel didnt deal with that problem or the fact that the longstayers that also worked there was sloppy with the cleaning. The staff who didnt live at the hostel was very friendly tho.. Otherwise good internet conection, great with the free breakie and the free barbie on weds. and nice facilities

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice and friendly hostel. Would reccommend getting a room with a shower, otherwise you need to walk through the common area and down a lot of stairs. Apart from that would highly reccommend this hostel.


77%

Wifi barely works. Breakfast is just toast and cereal. Other than that it was ok. I met some awesome people there.


83%

I had a great three nights here, was in a dorm with a lot of long termers but they were mostly very friendly and I made some great friends. Location is great, right by kings cross station and nightlife and only 20 mins to opera house/ harbour bridge. Very clean and modern compared to some other kings cross hostels. Would stay again?


66%

Positive is that you get good Breakfast every morning. Negative is poor Wifi and dirty kitchen.


94%

One if the better hostels I've stayed in. More of a workers hostel than party hostel however the staff let you know that as well. Love the courtyard out the back!


91%

I've enjoyed my stay in this hostel, even though I was there only for one night. Loved the free breakfast (with fruit!) and free wifi. My 8bed dorm was spacious and looked really nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Deposits for everything! Only hostel we have stayed at with such a high price for the use of a towel, cups and cutlery.


100%

A lovely place to stay. Mainly long term stayers, but I think that's because the place is so friendly if makes you want to stay. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Congratulations on your hostel! I really enjoyed my stay and the staff! Vicky is really nice! ;)

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

1. Deposit system is ridiculous 2. Too many rules 3. Bathroom and toilets not sufficient

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The Kitchen is TINY & CRAMPED, the bedroom wasn't cleaned once while I stayed there, the shower was dirty with black grout.Cockroaches were residents, got up one night at 2 and they were all over the 24 hour mini ''kitchen'' countertop. Internet is free but you'd need the patience of a saint to wait for a page to load , it disconnects 8 out of 10 times. 35 min walk to cbd. All rooms surround the lounge/dining area so everything can be heard in your room. Plus side, lockers + fridge in room


1 2 Next » last »
(37 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback