Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Holiday Village

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
5.7

Great social area for eating, pre drinking or just chilling. Socially, a great hostel. Apart from that, bathrooms were average, no lockers in rooms and all rooms can hear the noise happening outside which can be frustrating if you do wanna sleep. Wifi is great in reception and position is pretty functional, being right next to woolworths

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel was very clean! Good location. The atmosphere was good, defiantly if you're into going out because it's right across from cheeky monkeys! Majority of the staff was welcoming, some of the female staff weren't so welcoming. Dexter was awesome!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Very clean and comfortable rooms. Lots of bathroom and showering facilities. Clean kitchen. Staff made the trip though. They were both helpful and friendly. Free surfboard and body board rental was a huge plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
10.0

By new favorite Byron Bay Backpackers, and I have stayed at several others. This is a family owned boutique hostel, small enough to make friends easily, with bar-b-que socials, close enough to walk to popular hot spots, and real mattresses on the bunk beds. All at a more affordable price than the others. Highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.1

We had an apartment consisting of two rooms of 4, with our own kitchen and bathroom which was nice. There was only wifi in the reception. Free bike hire was useful. Got told there would be vegetarian options at the hostel BBQ but it was just the salad everyone else was already having, so definitely not worth the money. Good location, close to everything. Overall, fairly average hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
7.1

First, if you think you're reserving and paying for a 4 bed dorm know a 4 bed dorm means anything from 4-8 beds. This is false advertising and completely unprofessional and unacceptable. I stayed here for one night and ended up going back to Byron Beach Resort, which I thought was a lot better. The hostel is a crappy party hostel and has no non-party spaces to hang out, so if you don't want to drink you have to stay in your room. Which smells like pee. The vibe just sucks. I'd stay elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I've stayed in thus far in Oz. Incredible atmosphere, free surf boards, BBQ is top notch, and it's full of friendly Canadian staff. Book itttt, and make sure you ask for the apartment style dorms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.1

After moving here from a bad hostel we were over the moon, it was wonderful. Fully recommend! We asked for a four room dorm and they put us in a room with another British couple who were also backpacking. One of the best hostels so far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Mar 2017
7.1

Location was nice, in the Main Street not far from the beach or the supermarket. Facilities were okay, not amazing for the prize that you're paying. Staff were friendly, but stuck to themselves mostly during the BBQs and were separated from us guests. You have to expect a lot of deposits. We lived in apartments which was quite nice, but the cleaning wasn't that great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jamesinsley9697
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.6

Pro Good location for self catering - right next to Woolworths! At the other end of Main Street easy walk to beach and bars. Atmosphere was good. We were in an apartment consisting of a private double (the room we were in) and next to us was a 4 bed dorm (we didn't know this before hand) both rooms had access to same living area, bathroom and kitchen so this might have been a con but luckily we had a great group next to us. Free bike hire Con Wifi only offered in small reception area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.