X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Holiday Village Reviews

116 Jonson St, Byron Bay, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
420 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Really good stay at Bacpackers Holiday Village. Small hostel with a few rooms centred around a pool, with several picnic tables down the middle of the hostel between reception and the rooms. Very sociable and a great place to meet a lot of new people. Staff were great, apart from one of the guys who could be a bit difficult. Otherwise a great hostel, in a great location.


100%

You guys are amazing! Thanks for the wicked stay.


97%

Sosial and always a party going on, but quiet by 10.30 for those who want to take a easy night. Free surfboard, only 4 people per room, clean kitchen and very good common area outside. If going to Byron bay I would stay here again!!

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I wanna be back there. Right now.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel. Right next to the drop off for greyhound and they pick you up. Free wifi which is great, free surfboards and good kitchen. Very social eating area where everyone gathers, then drinks around later. Have quite a lot of good deals and offers going on. (Free entry, free drinks etc) for me, an 18 backpacker that likes to go out it's was great. Would recommend if those sorts of things appeals to you.


74%

Smelly room but a nice pool with a friendly resident lizzard

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We booked 2 private doublerooms


69%

Very much a party hostel. Drinking games and loud music a plenty. No security barrier or gate to get in. Anyone could get in after the reception closed etc. Free bike and surf boards were really good. The $10 all you can eat BBQ on Saturday evening was good.


83%

It is a party hostel with club music, but it is quiet after 10.30pm. There is free wifi until 11pm, but it is available only near the reception area. The kitchen closes at 10.30pm.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great atmosphere and vibe, you could just sit on the communal benches and make friends with everyone within minutes. The use of the surf boards and bikes is a little disappointing because they are quite run down and the surf boards need a good waxing. The free wifi is excellent and a decent speed. The hostel also has a great party vibe with lots of special nights tied in with various bars around Byron. Only negative is the staff are very cliquey and keep to themselves.


100%

Probably the best place I stayed in Australia. Nothing at all to fault!


89%

No lockers in rooms but they are more than willing to lock your valuables in the office. Great environment! Easy to meet new people and create new friendships. Cozy and lovely place, highly recommended

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Best hostel that I have ever stayed in! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff and very good location. Things are not top quality, but I admit I was expecting worse. Probably not a good idea for someone looking for tranquility, since it has a huge "party-like" atmosphere. For me it was awesome!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Everything had an upcharge & not a small one. large deposits too. the accommodation is not worth the money. Would rather have stayed in a hotel for the cost.


100%

After staying here for over a week I have absolutely nothing negative to stay about this place. Clean, safe, fun, and a great atmosphere. Super easy to meet people if you are alone. Great party hostel but then they make sure to shut everything down at 10:30 so you can go to bed if you like. Love this place and will definitly be back next time I am in Byron!!!


69%

It's confusing that you have to get your own cuttlary at the reception for a depot and that they don't tell you that on check-in (maybe they just forgot for us). But the good thing about this arrangement is that you're sure your plates are clean ;) The kitchen and reception is closed quite long in the morning to catch the first Greyhound bus. Really nice pool!


89%

A good hostel with a great atmosphere. Great common area where you meet a lot of people, especially in the evening. Had a really good time there and therefore extended my stay from 3 to 5 nights, but still could have stayed longer. All in all the hostel is clean and there is not much you really could complain about. The only thing is, that they have no air conditioning and kind of typically no lockers. The staff is really friendly and booked my surflessons for me. Which was great.


94%

Booked for 4 nights but stayed a week. Great atmosphere met people straight away. Nice layout with rooms surrounding the pool. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm which felt clean and not too cramped. No lockers in rooms, but valuables could be stored at reception if necessary. Great outdoor seating area for socialising, everyone gathered there to drink every night. Good party hostel, but everyone has to leave at 10.30 so sleeping isn't a problem. Staff a bit cliquey, but friendly


100%

Best hostel I've stayed at so far thanks to the staff. Everything else is great as well. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(42 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback