Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hostel HK

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 5.8
Backpackers Hostel HK Located at Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.
Backpackers Hostel HK
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay
69% 265
22.2811911 114.1853177
Backpackers Hostel HK
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Oct 2016
4.9

Its a bit dark and dreary, and you nearly feel as cramped as the fish in their fish tank. Staff service was mixed, I found they were not always honest, telling me that drinking water could be found out on the street when in fact it was provided for free. They also said the reason a snoring woman was lying in my bed, was bc of a bed mix up, I later discovered that was not true. Location is good, but mainly for shopping such as European labels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gqchoo01114888
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.9

Strategic location with easy access to MTR, eateries and stores. Staffs are very accommodating and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Oct 2016
6.3

On arrival I was told I was staying in another building, separate from the hostel. I was taken down the road, and shown a 10 bed dorm. It was just a room with a shower. No community area, or kitchen, so difficult meeting anyone. Causeway is a nice area, but unfortunately the dormitory was just depressing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
4.6

"Please take notice that this premises, Patterson building is built and designed for private residential purposes. The hostel in the building is illegally operated in breach of the Deed of Mutual Covenant. The incorporated owners accept no liability whatsoever as to claim of injury or damage caused to the customer traveler, and may be denied entry to this building or prosecuted". That's a sign at the front entrance posted by the building owner. It was dirty, but the location was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
8.0

The place was easy to find if you follow the directions carefully! Fantastic location and value for money. They had lots of information about local tourist attractions and the common room was a great place to meet fellow travelers to sightsee with. I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
8.9

I have been at the Hostel often over the years and for my needs I find it good value for the location. Usually I just need a simple place to sleep that is clean and safe. In fact I will be coming more often to Hong Kong over the next 10 months and hope to spend the nights there at one of your locations. My only complaint was finding you since the street number on your internet sight is not the same as on your business card.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2016
6.9

Placed really well in the centre of Hong Kong Island, kind of hard to find... Head to 47 Paterson St then up to floor 3 NOT 37 Paterson St as it said on my booking information. I felt no comunal atmosphere, but the room was clean and the bed was comfy and we paid for a 2 person private room and ended up in a room that slept three down a quiet corridor. We were only there for 3 days with a lot of travel and visa things to do so we didn't spend much time in the hostel itself.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.3

Very good hostel. Met some amazing people here and the hostel is in a great location to use the trains to get around. Very friendly locals in Victoria park to play football with at night if your into that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing special but probably the best price you will get any where in Causeway bay, so that makes it a steal. Has towels for rent, all need is a 20hk deposit. Has a little lobby for chilling, where there is place to refill water and kitchen with microwave if you need to heat up a snack you got from the welcome market across the street. The location is perfect right next to a subway station and in the nice district of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Decent hostel with a good location. Booked into an 8 man room but was given a 3 man room - would have preferred bigger to have more opportunity to meet others. Staff were somewhat helpful, didn't jump up to help, but were helpful enough. Would recommend for location and price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.