Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Hostel HK

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
Backpackers Hostel HK Located at Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.
Backpackers Hostel HK
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay
75% 233
22.2811911 114.1853177
Backpackers Hostel HK
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
6.6

Toilet leaked (shared toilet/shower space so that was pretty disgusting). Water dispenser only output hot water. The neighbors were incredibly loud. The rooms are located throughout the apartments along the entire block so there was no sense of community or ease of use for the common space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • turkogluahmet1850
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
7.1

One of the cheapest "online" hostels of HK. If you dont want to go chungking mansion, this is the place to stay for a backpacker!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Easy to locate and near the MTR station which was our choice of transportation during our stay there. Quite comfortable stay in the room. Internet was really good despite the review I read from some people. Stayed on the 10th floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
4.6

Worst customer service I've ever had while travelling. The woman who works nights thinks her job is extremely difficult, gets overwhelmed at having to do things and shuts down. Very rude and abrupt. Address is wrong as well and was made out as if it was my fault (it's actually 47 Paterson St. Floor 3). Please don't go there. The room, across the road from reception is damp and has no natural light and make my trip to HK so depressing. Wifi is quite good. Microwave in bedroom was quite useful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
5.7

Money wise this hostel was one of the cheaper ones outside of ChungKing Mansions, but the overall experience was poor. The room was in another building outside of the main hostel common room reception area which we didn't like as we had to walk 5minutes to talk to any fellow travellers. Our room was a 6 man dorm, no one was ever in there and the common room was always empty, very boring place! We decided to move onto Yessinn @ Causeway bay and for the same money you get a much better hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Great place in times square HK.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.9

Though the rooms are small, but the location and friendly staff make up for it. Net connection was a bit patchy though. Overall, a steal!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • LondonAliceW
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
29th Jan 2016
7.1

Want fat* and HK Backpackers are the same hostel. Very confusing! I booked in both (it worked out cheaper for weekend rates) The bed wasn't made when I arrived and the room was freezing my whole stay. They did give me an extra blanket when I asked. The shower only stays hot about 3 minutes too. Not a great place, but you get what you pay for here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2016
9.4

I stayed at Backpacker's Hostel for 6 nights in total. The common room is extremely comfy, with free coffee and tea, lots of chairs and space for people to hang out and make new friends, and in the evenings had a real nice ambience. The staff were very helpful and the place was always spotless. On the downside, the wifi was patchy but sometimes good in your room, the address is actually 47 Paterson Street, and it would have been nice to have some sofas in the common room. Overall, great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.