Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Hostel HK

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Backpackers Hostel HK Located at Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.
Backpackers Hostel HK
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay
74% 239
22.2811911 114.1853177
Backpackers Hostel HK
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sjefwijnen9223
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.1

Small room with a too small bed. Room and bathroom were clean. Aircon makes a lot of noise but it works. For HK a great location to stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.7

This was the second time I stayed here and I can say that the private room is a lot more comfortable then the dormitories. Dormitories are still okay though. Bed was very comfortable in the private double. Brilliant location, free coffee and tea in the morning. Staff are nice people and someone gave me pizza so very happy!!! Ha!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
5.1

Water dispenser cooler is not working Sheets arent clean Water isnt cold Need plugs near beds

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.6

The staff I have dealt with have been personable, kind and helpful. The hostel is sort of spread across two buildings.. For Hong Kong (which has an expensive and competitive property market) it's a fairly fine place to stay. If you had time to research maybe look into Airbnb with friends or couch surfing... If you're in a hurry or otherwise this place will be a good base to start and end each day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
6.6

Toilet leaked (shared toilet/shower space so that was pretty disgusting). Water dispenser only output hot water. The neighbors were incredibly loud. The rooms are located throughout the apartments along the entire block so there was no sense of community or ease of use for the common space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • turkogluahmet1850
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
7.1

One of the cheapest "online" hostels of HK. If you dont want to go chungking mansion, this is the place to stay for a backpacker!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Easy to locate and near the MTR station which was our choice of transportation during our stay there. Quite comfortable stay in the room. Internet was really good despite the review I read from some people. Stayed on the 10th floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
4.6

Worst customer service I've ever had while travelling. The woman who works nights thinks her job is extremely difficult, gets overwhelmed at having to do things and shuts down. Very rude and abrupt. Address is wrong as well and was made out as if it was my fault (it's actually 47 Paterson St. Floor 3). Please don't go there. The room, across the road from reception is damp and has no natural light and make my trip to HK so depressing. Wifi is quite good. Microwave in bedroom was quite useful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
5.7

Money wise this hostel was one of the cheaper ones outside of ChungKing Mansions, but the overall experience was poor. The room was in another building outside of the main hostel common room reception area which we didn't like as we had to walk 5minutes to talk to any fellow travellers. Our room was a 6 man dorm, no one was ever in there and the common room was always empty, very boring place! We decided to move onto Yessinn @ Causeway bay and for the same money you get a much better hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Great place in times square HK.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.