Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hostel HK

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
7.4

When staying in a private room with friends we had a good experience but when moved into a shared room, it was TOO HOT even with the air and fan on to sleep. The hostel address listed on here is wrong. It's actually 47, not 37. Everyone I talked to struggled finding it and we only found it because other visitors were willing to help the lost girls with luggage. The staff is GREAT. English is good and maps/directions are very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
8.0

Not that great of an atmosphere but the front desk staff was very kind. They upgraded our group to a private room which really made our stay more enjoyable. Overall, if you need a space to sleep this is perfect but if you're hoping to meet people this isn't the best option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2017
8.6

Easy to find, clean and cosy (very comfortable beds), kind staff, plus they have a cat that gives a special charm to the place (of course, if you are a cat person). Great value for the money! The neighbourhood is also nice, with plenty of shops and restaurants around, and feels safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
8.0

Cheap and basic. No complaints but not the most amazing hostel. If you're looking for somewhere to sleep I would definitely recommend but not great atmosphere and a bit cramped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
7.1

This is not the fault of the hostel but I barely got an hour of proper sleep. The 8 bed dorm was filled with students who had discussions about engineering and worked on their laptops right next to my bed until 1am. I recognize that dormitories can sometimes be noisy but this was like trying to sleep in a computer lab. Silence should be enforced after 11 so people don't use the dormitories as their personal meeting room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.9

Great stay! I rated 4 on facilities & atmosphere just because it took me a while to find the place. They had the address on 37 Paterson but its actually on 47 Paterson for check-in. The security on 37 Paterson was yelling at me because I came to ask for her help twice asking for direction. But u get value for your money. Its convienient, steps to MTR (train station), & amenities, staff was nice (Amy extended honored my extented stay for same rate). Overall clean but I had some issue on bathroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Awesome, convenient, and fast. Don't pick up the cat, but he really likes everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Apr 2017
4.9

only one shower and one bathroom for the entire floor and was dirty, was quite difficult to find the place and the staff wasnt very kindly or helpful, you make a question and respond in a rude way. location was good (busy street) and honestly i love animals but No in hostels

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Apr 2017
7.1

Stayed here a number fo times, each time been in a different building to reception, so the atmosphere is always a bit meh. Great location and one of the cheapest places to stay, that's why I keep coming back! Stayed in a 3 bed private, was fine, only issue is the AC goes off when you take they key card (as with most places) but it leaves the room a bit damp and smelly on your return (HK climate)! We also did have a little (not so little) cockroach visitor, but can't be helped I guess!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.1

Not bad, but still lack of some facilities.Checking desk and lodging location sit on seperate building.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.