Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hostel HK

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.1
Backpackers Hostel HK Located at Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong.
Backpackers Hostel HK
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Room C1, 2/F, 37 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay
70% 253
22.2811911 114.1853177
Backpackers Hostel HK
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
8.9

I have been at the Hostel often over the years and for my needs I find it good value for the location. Usually I just need a simple place to sleep that is clean and safe. In fact I will be coming more often to Hong Kong over the next 10 months and hope to spend the nights there at one of your locations. My only complaint was finding you since the street number on your internet sight is not the same as on your business card.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2016
6.9

Placed really well in the centre of Hong Kong Island, kind of hard to find... Head to 47 Paterson St then up to floor 3 NOT 37 Paterson St as it said on my booking information. I felt no comunal atmosphere, but the room was clean and the bed was comfy and we paid for a 2 person private room and ended up in a room that slept three down a quiet corridor. We were only there for 3 days with a lot of travel and visa things to do so we didn't spend much time in the hostel itself.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.3

Very good hostel. Met some amazing people here and the hostel is in a great location to use the trains to get around. Very friendly locals in Victoria park to play football with at night if your into that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing special but probably the best price you will get any where in Causeway bay, so that makes it a steal. Has towels for rent, all need is a 20hk deposit. Has a little lobby for chilling, where there is place to refill water and kitchen with microwave if you need to heat up a snack you got from the welcome market across the street. The location is perfect right next to a subway station and in the nice district of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Decent hostel with a good location. Booked into an 8 man room but was given a 3 man room - would have preferred bigger to have more opportunity to meet others. Staff were somewhat helpful, didn't jump up to help, but were helpful enough. Would recommend for location and price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
7.7

The Hostel is good located, the rooms are quiet, but spread over several apartments along the street, so that you might feel a bit lost and way from other people. There is only a small common area in the reception to hang out and meet other travelers. However, the relaxed staff is friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
2.0

Horrible experience. After 2 hours of searching for the hostel from 11:00pm to 1am in the morning, I eventually found the address There is no indication at the front that the hostel is located at the building. The intercom to the 2nd level did not seem to work after multiple attempts and after trying to communicate with the security guard who spoke no English, they did not let me in. Very bad experience. Hostels should be easy to find. I eventually booked a hotel because of this.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sjefwijnen9223
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.1

Small room with a too small bed. Room and bathroom were clean. Aircon makes a lot of noise but it works. For HK a great location to stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Jun 2016
5.1

There is no community vibe, the rooms are very separated (even split between buildings). Facilities are dirty and not kept well. Sliding door to bathroom was held up by piles of bathroom tiles and couldn't be shut the whole way.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.7

This was the second time I stayed here and I can say that the private room is a lot more comfortable then the dormitories. Dormitories are still okay though. Bed was very comfortable in the private double. Brilliant location, free coffee and tea in the morning. Staff are nice people and someone gave me pizza so very happy!!! Ha!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.