Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpacker`s Hostel Iquique

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 777 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels in the world! The atmosphere is wonderful. The location could not be better, just a few steps from a fantastic beach. I have been in so many hostels around the world, and this ones is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annaundsarah
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.4

Huge kitchen. A lot of people use it and great way to cook something different to "pollo con arroz". The dorm was big and pretty clean. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest but they were hot showers. The outside area and the coffee is cozy. WIFI is fast. You can't lock the toilet in the ladies restroom. Strange guests in the hostel. You have to pay for the luggage storage and in the end it's so packed that you have to search for your backpack under all the others for 10 minutes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
8.3

Yeah, the kitchen closure overnight is kind of annoying. With 9 hours to tidy it every night, you think it would be cleaner. Other than that, good place. I love how they keep the doors open all the time to get that cool sea beeze. But, the price you pay is too many bugs get inside. Common area, patios and balconies are really well designed, good for relaxing to the sounds (or sight, if you're on the right balcony) of the ocean. Private rooms are quite cheap, recommend over dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

Fantastic place! Ended up staying 4 nights, right on the beach, great staff, good cafe for convenient breakfast. Would definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
7.1

Overall a good, fun atmosphere right on the beach. The kitchen is a bit dirty but lots of space and equipment. The dorms are dirty, cockroaches and spiders in the lockers. Awesome views of the beach and an economic choice considering the other options. The receptionists were very friendly and nice although not very helpful. Don't do laundry here, it took three days to get back and it was still wet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th May 2017
8.3

Very clean, friendly hostel just a short walk from the beach and supermarket! Great communal areas and kitchen, which are all really clean! Only negatives are that they could do with having some free coffee and tea in the morning for the price paid! And the wifi is a bit slow in the reception area!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

Great location for the beach and short walk to centre of town. Good kitchen with facilities for cooking, good space for food storage. Friendly staff. Bed comfortable. Bathrooms ok, little small and water can be hot if you are quick in the shower and don't leave it until too late in the day or first thing in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.3

Perfect location right by the beach. Huge kitchen for cooking meals with nice common area for sitting and visiting with others. Beds were Ok, Wi-Fi was decent. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
7.4

We enjoyed our stay here. The girl working early in the day doesn't seem to know much about the place and we saved all our questions for when Michaela (who is fantastic) was working. We enjoyed the sandboarding 'lesson' but we didn't receive any instruction and it was not worth 20,000 pesos. The kitchen is not very clean. Bathrooms are fine. The atmosphere here is great and the location is amazing, right on the beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.4

Nice hostel except for the a) lack of bathrooms; and b) the state of them! Just gross. The English receptionist is super lovely but the girl during the day shift is sadly a bit of an airhead who needed to be asked thrice for every little thing. She also was completely unable to tell me where I could eat, even though the restaurants were around the corner... met some cool people, though, and location is gold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.