Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel Kenya Reviews

P.O. Box 43264, Mombasa, Kenya

Reviews & Ratings Explained

No Rating
17 Total Reviews
  • 0%Value For Money
  • 0%Security
  • 0%Location
  • 0%Staff
  • 0%Atmosphere
  • 0%Cleanliness
  • 0%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

nice place, friendly people, nice partying, activities expensive but cheaper to go to diani beach stay in south coast backpackers. ( much better)

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The staff is really friendly and helpful - they even picked me up when I got lost ! Lots of information on things to do around.. Yet keep in mind it's a bit secluded (if you're in public transport) and the place is very simple, aka no light at night except the lamps provided... Wifi seldom works. Also make sure you check breakfast is included with your booked room, only some of them are entitled to it


Excellent location and the lodges realy good idea of keeping traditioonal !there is only one negative the distance from the town but for relaxing its ideal!


This is a very nice place, really relaxed. me and my girlfriend are staying here during the elections and it is therefore very quiet. i think normally there is more going on there. but all the staff are really nice, food is great and all. i'd come again

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Nancy et Simon were so great and helpful ( staff)!

  • 4th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male
  • (1 review)


Yes its not the most secure of places and some of the toilets dont have locks that work etc but for £5 a night and you open your door and your looking at the beach and the sea what more do you want? Its a little oasis on the beach with very basic facilities that only adds to the atmosphere and who cares if you waiting 20 mins for a coke and 40 for your food its all poli poli (slowly, slowly) and allows you just to get in to the mtwapa way of thinking. a must see place even if just for 1 night

  • 13th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


DO NOT STAY HERE! It is miles out of Mombasa and costs a fortune to get to, it is nothing like it appears in the pictures - the beach has one stretch of sand and the rest was seaweed. Horrible. We were the only people staying so there was absolutely no atmosphere. The doors don't lock properly, the bathroom doors don't close properly, and worst of all: after stating that we wanted to leave after staying for just 4 hours, the manager made us pay for 3 full days. A nightmare.


The location is just unreal, right on the beach. Food's great, even though you might have to wait for it a couple of hours. Everyone is really welcoming, town's just a 20 min walk away. I loved it, I'm definitely coming back.

  • 10th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


It is abit akward that the Hostel doesn't allow for guests to prepare their on meals, I think this option should be available especially as the hostel is fairly

  • 23rd Aug 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • (1 review)


When we arrived to the hostel it was very messy and everybody was drunk, including the owner. The music was also very loud. The owner didn't know anything about our booking (2 people private) and he offered us his last 2 dorm beds. The owner was extremely rude and wasn't sorry about the situation at all! Overall, the place wasn't anything it was supposed to be based on the description, for example location and premises.

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to the booking there was no reservation for a room as the Beach Beackpackers Hostel does only accomodate in either Dorm or Tents. Your booking was made for Igloo Tent 2 Person, which was available at your arrival. 26. of December is Holiday season and our guest as well our local guest use this time to celebrate,and as per description a party here and there can be expected [ by the way the owner does not drink]...


they dont have control of how many rooms are booked or not, so u might go there with a booked room and find out that someone is using it... besides sometimes they want to overcharge u on the meals...

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Beach Backpackers Hostel Kenya does not have rooms, only Igloo Tent and DORM Accomodation. Please confrim your Booking before arrival if you require a room we advice to choose a different Hostel.


These guys actually have 2 listings on hostel world, one under "the beach africa" and a second under 'backpackers hostel kenya" --> very misleading. The location is fine, difficult to find, NO ONE KNOWS WHERE IT IS. But pretty once you get there. Staff are hopeless. The manager is useless and rude. They gave away our room and then fought with us when we wouldn't stay in the dorm!!! Food is average and so is the service. Would not choose to stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We only have Igloo Tents and DORM facility and run under the Management of the Beach Backpackers Hostel Kenya, which is located in Mtwapa. This is a new facility located next to the Beach Africa Hostel Accomodation which is run under a different Management. We contact our guest upon arrival and also advice our guests to contact us upon arrival as we are aware that the local taxi drivers in this wide range tourist destination ,many times get confused with newer facilities.


No need to reserve online, they inevitably lose the reservation and you lose the deposit. They always have room. It's a good enough, relaxing place. I'd book your own taxi, though, as I got shafted by the guy they brought in (late) to get me back to Mombasa for a bus.


The hostel is in Mtwapa, about30 mins from the centre of Mombasa, but what is good is that you get a very nice atmosphere, cool people and very frindly staff. I stayed in a dorm, very basic, but very comfortable, and every bed has mosquito nets. A stroll along the beach to the ruins is beautiful, and so quite you can actually rest on the beach without being hassled by beach boy. Food is great and very cheap too!!

View all Mombasa Hostels

Please give us your feedback