Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hostel & Pub

  • 13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2,124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Backpackers Hostel & Pub Located at 13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, , Boston.
Backpackers Hostel & Pub
USA
Boston Massachusetts MA 02149 13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149
79% 2124
42.4034320 -71.0604286
Backpackers Hostel & Pub
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
2.0

The place was really bad

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

it is almost not fair when someone checks in after 11pm and leaves very early in the morning with a bad review. They are not here long enough to observe how hard the staff works to make every guest feel welcome, clean the facility, shuttle the guests, and do their part to make everyone's visit to Boston enjoyable. But like Frank Sinatra says, That's Life. Thanks for the bad review

26th Oct 2016
6.9

the best part of this place was the staff, really cool people. the atmosphere was okay. lots of old people. 2 things that i didnt really like: the beds and the location. best was one of the worst i slept on. sheets would slide off easily. makes a lot of noise if you tend to move around a lot in bed. and springy. the location is far from downtown. it was a hassle going in and out of the area. at one point the orange line was down due to smoke. so had to make 2 busses.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
10.0

Cozy and comfortable. Thank you for the hospitality. I felt welcome and at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
6.6

Ugh, supply and demand. Boston is really, really expensive. First the location in Everett isn't a big deal. It's 10 minutes by car from downtown, they run a shuttle to the train, train is 10 minutes from downtown. I even walked from downtown once. Facilities aren't anything special; but they're fairly well maintained. Would really recommend installing some fans. The 8 bed dude's dorm just ceaselessly smelled like stagnant dude smell. You'd be advised to take a bed by the window...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

the rooms are cleaned completely daily, yet we notice sometimes guests clothing and luggage has an odor that we cannot control. We hope those guests check out quickly, as would you, but we have to welcome everyone. Hopefully, if you visit again, that problem doesn't exist in your room. Thank you for the review

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
10.0

The main thing that kept me rebooking at Backpackers in Boston was the atmosphere: a great group of people are always coming through and the shuttle service makes exploring the city incredibly easy: STRONGLY RECOMMEND.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for the excellent review. It is greatly appreciated by our entire staff. Thank you again

15th Oct 2016
9.4

Thanks Tayler for going the extra mile for me at 10PM. Location, now this hostel is a bit out but if you want to relax in a relaxed neighbourhood . Recommend Churasco in Cancun, and the coffee in Braza

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the nice review, and we will be sure to let Taylor know you appreciated her efforts. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Oct 2016
7.1

The staff were great, the shuttle was fabulous, some of the guests though we're disrespectful but when I asked why they were being so rude got the response, it's a hostel! Just because it's shared living doesn't give people the right to behave badly! There should be a rating system for guests too! A quiet time rule should be implemented to make people accountable for their behavior. It seems to work at other hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Most of our guests are interesting, fun people who are visiting Boston for a short period of time. Once in a while you get a guest who you wish were staying somewhere else. We are sorry your visit coincided with this type of guest. We will work harder to identify these people and remind them to be respectful of others. Thank you for the review.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.0

I had a great stay here! Location outside of Boston is not a problem because of the shuttle service and Bostons easy to use metro. Rooms were as expected, mattresses weren't very supportive though! Plenty of room in dorms for your things and bathroom was clean. Breakfast in the morning was tea/coffee and toast, first hostel I've come across over here that does breakfast; at these prices anyway! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
5.7

The staff is friendly but the showers are tiny with cold water and the location requires taking an Uber or Shuttle just to get to the train station to then go where you want to go.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. The showers have continuous hot water that is never ending. Some guests are unfamiliar with the hot water valve, and that is understandable. If you visit again and have trouble with the hot water, please ask one of our staff to show you the proper way to enjoy unlimited hot water. Cold showers are not funny, but they do make your hair shiny.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.