X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1406 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Positives: location, access to transportation - 97,104,110 to Orange line (Wellington & Sullivan Sq, etc). Friendly staff!! Shuttle service was great! Neighborhood was comfortable. Walked to town center - purchased groceries to cook a meal.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Just needs a little bit of extra work, it is acceptable but small things like the mattresses make a big difference. I think given how out of the way it is, the price is unfair, given it's similarity in cost to the boston HI. Decent nights sleep but certainly can be better


100%

Really accommodating. Free transport from Wellington to the hostel. Really appreciate it. =)


66%

Its a good hostel, but the rooms are very small. Not a lot of space to put your stuff. They have a free shuttle to the nearest metro statiob, which is great. From there your in like 15 mins downtown Boston. The Staff is friendly and are willing to help you with whatever. Not a lot of activities organized by the hostel. But overall its a good hostel.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Not a great location but they do offer a free shuttle to the nearest train station. Very basic hostel but staff were knowledgeable and helpful.


100%

Perfect !

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super friendly place, staff are amazing, really helpful and awesome. Definitely the most comfy beds I've slept in in a hostel and very clean, nice bathrooms and showers. Really nicely decorated and good communal area. About 2 minutes away from the water front and 5 mins from church street. Yay can't wait to come back!xxxxx

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

First time staying at a Hostel, and the experience was way better than I imagined! Gus and Alex made the 5-night stay hella cool, I would definitely stay again if I had too. I highly recommend Backers Hostel if you're in Boston. Free shuttle service to the T is also a plus.z

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The place is great, everything was clean and they offer a ride to and from the subway station, but is easily walkable too. Only complain is that they charge the 12% deposit made through the Hostelworld website, the person with whom I checked in said the site gets this money, but when you make the reservation the site states that there's no booking taxes, so I believe this 12% would be the cost for the hostel to be in the Hostelworld website and I believe they shouldn't charge us extra for that

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, good service and awesome staff!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A very clean and well-managed hostel. Free wi-fi and computers in general use. A shuttle to the nearest train station is excellent! Staff was very friendly and flexible (we wanted to switch rooms and it was no problem at all). Great value for the money.


69%

Chris was a really helpful guy. He was awesome!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
He thanks you for the great review. A couple more reviews like this and he will be in the unemployment line.

71%

Shuttle van was a real bonus! Just a bit expensive at $55 per night. I ended up in a 3 star hotel for $60 per night with breakfast.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The kitchen was very basic with only one set of cutlery for the whole hostel, a couple of pans/plates, etc. turned out two of the hotplates didn't work when I tried to boil some pasta.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The kitchen is small by design. we used to have a larger kitchen and it caused the most problems, with false fire alarms, people not cleaning up after themselves, ect. Two of the burners are turned off because with the small kitchen, two burners work out just fine. We have gone through 4 complete sets of cutlery, I can't tell you how many people throw it into the trash rather than washing it and putting it back where it belongs. The small kitchen works much better for most of our guests. Thanks

94%

It's a lovely place. Please don't think twice while booking this place. They have the nicest people, an awesome shuttle service and a nice bar. Everything is clean and in order. Please go and stay. You will love it .

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The room had eight people in it .four bank beds arranged in a square shape. The space beteeen the beds in a middle of the room was very small. Just barely enough to walk across to the other bad. I felt that for $60 a night, the room was way too small to put so many people. It had one tiny closet and no room for the luggage. The room smelled.like stale sweat. Some nights the ac did not work and the windows could not be opened creating an even more repulsive stench .

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our rooms are probably the largest in Boston, yet this time of year all the people who worked at USA camps are coming to hostels, and you're correct, they have a lot of stuff with them. But we welcome them because they are great guests who have worked hard all summer and are finally getting the chance to travel themselves for a few weeks. We have put up with that in the past and look forward to having them and their stuff in the future, even if the rooms get a little crowded.

89%

I went there with my friends for 2 nights and it wasn't bad at all!! It wasn't that clean but it was ok. The stuff was very friendly and the atmosphere was nice. They had great coffee and breakfast. We will deff go back if are visiting Boston again!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff provide a friendly atmosphere and are regularly attentive to people's needs, and the facilities are clean, comfortable, and well maintained.


97%

Pros: Good atmosphere. Some hostels get run down. Not this one. Showers, bathrooms, bedrooms, linens were very clean and well maintained. Cons: 15 min wait at the front desk to check in, parking was hard; if you are bringing a car you may want to get here early in the evening. Crowded, but popular for a reason. Overall: Def. Recommend. Super impressed by the friendliness of the staff. When I had a problem parking the guy at the desk actually went out there and helped me squeeze in.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

As the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed in, I was expecting a little more, but this place is pretty average. The hostel has a limited bar which is a nice feature and free parking which is helpful if you're driving. The location is a bit out of the way, but the hostel offers a convenient shuttle to the nearest metro stop. The place doesn't look too inviting from the outside, but the facilities are perfectly acceptable. It's a perfectly ok hostel, but it's hard to recommend at the price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback