X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1416 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

excellent place, very clean with fast shuttle to the subway. Ray Chris and Gus very helpful at the front desk will come back next year

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This family owned hostel was perfect for my quick visit to Boston. The convenient shuttle ran constantly and on demand so I didn't have to wait long. Only a few stops away from Downtown Boston by train. The owner Steve is awesome and friendly. He makes you feel at home as you walk in. I would be back anytime and fits in my budget.


80%

The staff is very helpful and offers a good brrakfast. As the hostel is so far of the downtown, you can use the shuttle, that begins at 8.30 a.m.


74%

There is not a lot of hostels in Boston so they all come at a premium, at $50 a night for an eight bed dorm this was the cheapest option. Don't let the distance from downtown put you off as the free shuttle is excellent and available whenever you call up. Good facilities with fast wifi, pool table and a bar. Rooms are nothing fancy and showers are a bit small and lacking in privacy. Clientele including travellers and a few interesting local characters but no issues and lockers are available free


66%

They play music from like 9am to 11pm. They announce their "famous" free shuttle over he pa starting around 9:30am, so hopefully you don't want to sleep in. Also, the mattresses are plastic-y and hard.


80%

Awesome staff. Their shuttle was really good I was never waiting for more than 10mins at the station. Made getting to and from downtown really easy, better than I thought. Good beer deals. I liked they had showers and toilets seperated in each room. Overall a good place to stay.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Positives: location, access to transportation - 97,104,110 to Orange line (Wellington & Sullivan Sq, etc). Friendly staff!! Shuttle service was great! Neighborhood was comfortable. Walked to town center - purchased groceries to cook a meal.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

This hostel was very expensive (around $65 when you add tax) yet you did not get much for this money. The common areas of the hostel are reasonably nice, although what the pub actually serves is limited (no cider or white wine). My biggest problem with this place was the beds: terrible mattresses and no railings or ladders on the bunks in some dorms . I am scared of heights and slept no more than 1 hour when i was in this bed as I was too scared. Location is v.inconvenient - long train then bus


60%

Just needs a little bit of extra work, it is acceptable but small things like the mattresses make a big difference. I think given how out of the way it is, the price is unfair, given it's similarity in cost to the boston HI. Decent nights sleep but certainly can be better


100%

Really accommodating. Free transport from Wellington to the hostel. Really appreciate it. =)


66%

Its a good hostel, but the rooms are very small. Not a lot of space to put your stuff. They have a free shuttle to the nearest metro statiob, which is great. From there your in like 15 mins downtown Boston. The Staff is friendly and are willing to help you with whatever. Not a lot of activities organized by the hostel. But overall its a good hostel.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Not a great location but they do offer a free shuttle to the nearest train station. Very basic hostel but staff were knowledgeable and helpful.


100%

Perfect !

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super friendly place, staff are amazing, really helpful and awesome. Definitely the most comfy beds I've slept in in a hostel and very clean, nice bathrooms and showers. Really nicely decorated and good communal area. About 2 minutes away from the water front and 5 mins from church street. Yay can't wait to come back!xxxxx

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

First time staying at a Hostel, and the experience was way better than I imagined! Gus and Alex made the 5-night stay hella cool, I would definitely stay again if I had too. I highly recommend Backers Hostel if you're in Boston. Free shuttle service to the T is also a plus.z

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The place is great, everything was clean and they offer a ride to and from the subway station, but is easily walkable too. Only complain is that they charge the 12% deposit made through the Hostelworld website, the person with whom I checked in said the site gets this money, but when you make the reservation the site states that there's no booking taxes, so I believe this 12% would be the cost for the hostel to be in the Hostelworld website and I believe they shouldn't charge us extra for that

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, good service and awesome staff!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A very clean and well-managed hostel. Free wi-fi and computers in general use. A shuttle to the nearest train station is excellent! Staff was very friendly and flexible (we wanted to switch rooms and it was no problem at all). Great value for the money.


69%

Chris was a really helpful guy. He was awesome!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
He thanks you for the great review. A couple more reviews like this and he will be in the unemployment line.

71%

Shuttle van was a real bonus! Just a bit expensive at $55 per night. I ended up in a 3 star hotel for $60 per night with breakfast.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback