X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1322 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Overall, good quick stop for Boston. The shuttle bus' provided by the hostel to Wellington station were 100% necessary. It was very helpful. I would recommend this place.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were very friendly and helpful, shuttle to train station was very handy and you just had to call them and ask to be picked up again. Location is a little out of the city centre but only takes 10min on the train to get into the city so isn't a problem. Rooms were nice, simple and clean.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are amazing, so friendly and willing to help! Shuttles very handy and the hostel experience overall was really appreciated by my whole group (around 12 of us.)

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay!


100%

Loved this place. The staff are lovely! there are regular shuttles to the local subway stop and when you get back all you have to do is call them and they pick you up so you always feel safe.


80%

The Hostel is a bit out of center, but there is a free Shuttle service every 30mins/pick up service when you call them from the station, which was very call them. Breakfast is very basic but enough to start the day and there is a very nice common room. The internetstation was very nice, too.


60%

Very helpful staff, great shuttle service to metro station. Room was not clean, bad mattress, dirty sheets and towels

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
our rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day. Sometimes,when the rooms are full, this can be difficult, but we do the best we can. our laundry is done daily but if you had asked for a new set of sheets, that would have been done immediately. Bring your own towel in the future, that should solve that problem. Thank you for the review

100%

Best value place in Boston. The staff was always very friendly and available, I had to stay here for a while and they were really helpful and accommodating. They have a free shuttle from the hostel to the subway station which runs all day from 8:30 am to 11 pm and makes getting to downtown Boston very easy (just 4 subway stops away). There is also a shared area with pool table at the back and a small pub where they sell beer and where you can get free coffee and toast in the morning.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great set up and a good atmosphere, easy to meet people and get chatting. Free shuttle to the station is ideal and is not far from city centre. Would definitely recommend to stay here. And would stay here again.


100%

The staff at Backpackers was very friendly. The free shuttle service is amazing!!! Also, the wireless internet is top notch!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for the nice review and we are proud to have the fastest WI-FI in Boston. We are happy you agree.

91%

Shuttle bus from station really helpful, staff very welcoming, great stay!!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good to reach by public transport (25 min from Boston downtown). The pub has a good athmosphere, you can always meet new people there.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed here one night, but well worth the money! These guys were wonderful! The staff were friendly, the place was clean and welcoming. I was at A Red Soxs game that went quite late and they were very accommodating in letting me check in late. My cab got lost and they gave the driver directions, even made sure he wasn't ripping me off. They went above and beyond when they didn't have to. It is a great location if you need to go to the airport, it was a quick, cheap ride. Thanks guys!!! 😊

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place, super staff and the shuttle is very handy!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really great staff and there was a free shuttle to the train station that made it super easy to get in town. Good vibe and overall a really cool hostel

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff in the hostel were exceptional. Couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Dropped me and my 5 friends out to the airport in the shuttle bus so we didn't have to spend a fortune on taxis.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Such a lovely place to stay at. Steve and the staff were so lovely and welcoming. The shuttle service is so useful and they were even kind enough to drop us off at target or other locations if needed. The bar was great and well stocked, and the other guests who wanted to party at the weekend were easy to coralle into joining us, using the bar as a start off venue. An awesome stay, I was sad to leave! thanks guys!


94%

The staff were great, very friendly and happy to help. The pick ups and drop offs at to the subway station that take you straight into Boston city centre were a bonus. Good wifi in our room which was far away from the reception (we backpacked a lot this summer and that's been rare!). Only minor criticism is that the building isn't that great, felt dark and dingy, and there weren't any lockers in the room. Ensuite in room was great though, and cheapest rates in town. Overall an excellent stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you liked the fastest WI-FI in Boston. We turn the lights down at a certain time to change the tone of the hostel to a more relaxed atmosphere after 9pm. Everyone loves the free shuttle service and we are happy to provide that. We have lockers in the common area's rather than the rooms to give you more space in the rooms and also so we can have camera's to keep an extra line of security. Thank you for the great review.

51%

Luckily, we knew the location of this hostel before we booked it for a night, having stayed in central Boston for a week already. It is considerably far out, in the city of Everett rather than Boston - so be prepared to spend money you save on transport into town. Hostel was acceptable, but walls were ridiculously thin and a particularly loud man in the room next door made the night quite frustrating, such is the situation in such creaky places. Good wifi though, and nice social area at the back

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you enjoyed central Boston, why did you move? Everett is right next to Boston, less than 3 miles from central Boston and 4 quick subway stops from downtown. The train is $2, far less than the $50 it would cost to park your car daily in central Boston. So FREE PARKING is nice. And we are proud of having the FASTEST WI FI in Boston, we are glad you took advantage of it. And we are happy you liked the social atmosphere. Most people really enjoy their time here. Thank you

57%

We slept well and overall enjoyed our stay. It is a bit far from the city center, and not very useful for coming back at the hostel, as it is not accessible by walking really. It is usefull to have a free parking though. I wouldn't recommend that much for people who don't have a car, as there are closer places from the city center. When we were there (friday to tuesday), they were almost nobody in the pub or shared areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are glad you slept well and enjoyed your stay. Free parking is a big seller because it could very easily cost you over $50 per day in central Boston. The subway is $2 for the 4 stops to central Boston, yet no matter where you stay in Boston, you are going to use the subway if you take in all the sights.. The pub and common area's are only busy in the morning and in the evening, when people come home from their busy day to relax. Thank you

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(119 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback