X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1415 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a lovely place. Please don't think twice while booking this place. They have the nicest people, an awesome shuttle service and a nice bar. Everything is clean and in order. Please go and stay. You will love it .

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The room had eight people in it .four bank beds arranged in a square shape. The space beteeen the beds in a middle of the room was very small. Just barely enough to walk across to the other bad. I felt that for $60 a night, the room was way too small to put so many people. It had one tiny closet and no room for the luggage. The room smelled.like stale sweat. Some nights the ac did not work and the windows could not be opened creating an even more repulsive stench .

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our rooms are probably the largest in Boston, yet this time of year all the people who worked at USA camps are coming to hostels, and you're correct, they have a lot of stuff with them. But we welcome them because they are great guests who have worked hard all summer and are finally getting the chance to travel themselves for a few weeks. We have put up with that in the past and look forward to having them and their stuff in the future, even if the rooms get a little crowded.

89%

I went there with my friends for 2 nights and it wasn't bad at all!! It wasn't that clean but it was ok. The stuff was very friendly and the atmosphere was nice. They had great coffee and breakfast. We will deff go back if are visiting Boston again!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff provide a friendly atmosphere and are regularly attentive to people's needs, and the facilities are clean, comfortable, and well maintained.


97%

Pros: Good atmosphere. Some hostels get run down. Not this one. Showers, bathrooms, bedrooms, linens were very clean and well maintained. Cons: 15 min wait at the front desk to check in, parking was hard; if you are bringing a car you may want to get here early in the evening. Crowded, but popular for a reason. Overall: Def. Recommend. Super impressed by the friendliness of the staff. When I had a problem parking the guy at the desk actually went out there and helped me squeeze in.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

As the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed in, I was expecting a little more, but this place is pretty average. The hostel has a limited bar which is a nice feature and free parking which is helpful if you're driving. The location is a bit out of the way, but the hostel offers a convenient shuttle to the nearest metro stop. The place doesn't look too inviting from the outside, but the facilities are perfectly acceptable. It's a perfectly ok hostel, but it's hard to recommend at the price.


91%

The hostel is situated a bit outside the city center but the staff provides a free shuttle service to the next subway station (Wellingston) which was absolutely great! I would definitly stay there again!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are super friendly and very helpful! Some rooms have their own private bathroom which is very convenient. The location is not that close to the city centre, but transport is very convenient, about 20min bus/train.


54%

- too far away from downtown - there is no direct metro, you have to use a shuttle every half our ( ok for free) - the hostel is overrated, too HIGH p rices - the amount staged on the reservation was false - taxes not correctly calculated in our DISFAVOUR


97%

I really enjoyed this hostel. The staff was great and very helpful. Facilities were great and clean .The Hostel is a ways away from the metro but it has around the clock shuttle support! Free parking area behind the hostel, toast and jelly in the morning with coffee. Great atmosphere to meet other traveling companions. Go see a Red Sox game while your in the area!


71%

The hostel is located pretty far from central Boston, but the shuttle bus service to the nearest subway stop makes the city pretty accessible. The hostel itself doesnt seem very well organised, the first night we arrived we had to stay in the janitors closet as they'd obviously overbooked themselves. An okay hostel, overpriced for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The "janitors closet" is only called that as a joke. It is actually the owner of the hostels Private Room, where the owners stay if they decide to stay the night. We book that room on very busy nights when we are sure the owners will not be staying overnight. That is why you had your own private bath, private shower and private computer, along with a full size refrigerator. Far from being a closet, it is one of the largest rooms in the hostel. We are sorry the name on the door confused you.

74%

Given the price, this place is a perfect choice for backpackers. And they provided free shuttle. Nice touch.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Boston is a city with very few Youth Hostels but this one is definitely a great pick. The staff is really helpful at any occasion : I have never had an incomplete request. No need to wash your clothes yourself, the staff washes, dries and folds all of the clothes. It is clean enough for anyone to sleep there. Also to notice, the people you meet there are truly amazing and friendly. Also, absolutely no theft was to report during the 10 nights I was there.I should mention Andy and Leah,great staff

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Far away from the city center.... Everything is quite old. But staff is really very friendly and helpful.


80%

Relaxed and friendly hostel, might be a bit out of the way but the free shuttle bus to the subway is a great service, and all the public transport is easy and cheap to use. Bit shabby looking round the edges but the beds are comfy and the showers are hot, so who cares! Staff chatty and helpful.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was better than I expected It would be. The people working there were nice. The free shuttle is awesome and useful and I made some good friends there!. It is definitely a place that I would recommend :)

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The customer service probably made this one of the best hostels I stayed at on my holiday. Shuttle running every to the subway station 30mins was excellent, and easy to get anywhere from there.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were friendly and helpful. The shuttle bus to the station was great. Would recommend.


94%

The staff were amazing and so accomodating, I will definitely be reccomending to friends and would definitely stay there again!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent stay at the hostel, the staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem! The breakfast in the morning and the wifi and computers were great, Beds and room etc. were all clean and comfortable and the shuttle bus is an excellent idea! Would recommend anyone to stay here, great value for money!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(163 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback