X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1750 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I loved it, so thanks to Backpackers for everything. Keep up the good service!


77%

The hostel isn't located well but the staff are brilliant and the atmosphere is really good. The shuttle bus they provide is very efficient. Vote Wayne Matowski.


77%

It's a little bit inconvenient to get to downtown, and the van driver kinda gave you the hint to tip him every time when he picked you up, of course, if you were in the mood to tip, that's fine. There was a dead mouse body and several dead flies in the dorm, just beside my bed, thrilling. The front desk was really kind, though.


60%

I stayed in Orlando in a 6 motel. I paied less and I head a double room with Bath only for me

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a good hostel - staff friendly and knowledgable and there are plenty of opportunities to meet folks. Location is a bit of a chore though somewhat mitigated by the shuttle bus to the nearest station.


94%

This hostel is around 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest metro station, but they HAVE A SHUTTLE :) Very friendly people, and they play an excellent music in the reception. I was happy to spend there two weeks.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean, quiet, felt secure. The staff was really friendly and local so they knew everything you needed. Ray was the driver between the hostel and the t line (which was needed there's a lot of busy highways between the hostel and it), he was very prompt and made sure everyone knew he was available and that they got where they wanted to go. It's definitely in a more industrial part of the city but I never felt unsafe. I would definitely stay again.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

All staffs were great. They were very kind and helpful. They offered shuttle sevice to willington station and they were willing to pick you up at the station whenever you call. Especially, I can say this hostel is very clean. I have never seen any hair in restroom and shower room area.


71%

The location is a little bit far from downtown, and the shuttle needs to wait for long time.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This is not the best hostel you'll stay at. Apparently, it hasn't been updated since the 70s - complete with furniture and building design that has the cheap feel of an impoverished decade. One thing that has been updated is the sound system, which blares lsd inspired classics. The sheets have old blood stains leading me to believe there is an ongoing bedbug problem. This, combined with the unusual poster/painting selection, gives the hostel the atmosphere of an aged sex motel. I won't be back.


100%

Great stay, friendly staff, and the free shuttle rides to the nearest subway station are very handy!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Big ups to the great staff. Especially Wayne the driver. Good Atmosphere as well and many international travellers, since there are only few hostels in Boston. By subway, you are quickly inside the city of boston to see the sights. By night, you can get home by subway and walking, or just take a cab. from the inner city it will cost you about 25 bucks. Not so cheap for single travellers, but okay for groups. If you go out in Boston, make sure to bring your passport!


97%

Great atmosphere, lovely helpful staff abs great shuttle bus service provided. Will definitely be visiting again :)

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in plenty of hostels before but my first in America, it was a great experience , staff are so welcoming, breakfast and coffee in the morning and free bus to the T any time i wanted. So clean and with a pub plus pool room what more do you need for a chilled night. Coming back again later this month. Great place to stay

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The shuttle service was exceptionally convenient. Staff was friendly and always willing to help. They let me hang around before and after check-in/check-out.


43%

- there was a mouse inside our room - the included breakfast was a complete joke; just half defrosted toast in the orginal bag and only one toaster for all guests; three bowls with butter, jam and peanut butter, each with one knife; each content looks like a soup, awful!!! The knifes were so yukky that we took our own knife and our own Nutella. The leftover coffee was served the next day again. It was my worst breakfast ever!!! - for this bad location and performance it is too expensive

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Very clean and run efficiently by the friendly and welcoming staff. Free shuttle to train station was great, however the old guy who did the morning shift made you feel very pressured to tip, when we were under the impression it was a free shuttle. Created a bad atmosphere.


100%

great place shuttle fast wifi good free parking

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was extremely friendly to us and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel with convenient access to downtown Boston. The shuttle was really convenient and the staff were wonderful, especially Ray! He gave great advice and went out of his way to help me out. Will definitely return next time I'm in Boston.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(146 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback