X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel & Pub Reviews

13 School Street Everett/Boston MA 02149, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1465 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great atmosphere and staff! The shuttle service is amazing so even though the hostel is a bit out of town, it's so easy to get anywhere. All the staff are friendly and super helpful. Very relaxed and happy atmosphere! Definitely would stay here again!!

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great stay. Definitely will be back.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice stay so far. The atmosphere is quite nice, of course it will depend on the poeple you're in the hostel but with a bar with the match on(if you're into sport), a 8 ball pool room in the back (if you're not into sport) and an internet/ couchs room in the front. it will be hard for you to not enjoy your stay.(whoever you might be) on top of that the staff members are simply amazing, when they says "if their is anithing I can do to help you, just ask" THEY MEAN IT, no really, they do!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If u wanna have fun and visit Boston, don't look for another hostel, backpackers is perfect for u! U're gonna meet great people there!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Far from the subway but the hostel provide a shuttle service for free so that's not a problem. Small bar, perfect room with sofas, pool table, piano,... We really had a great time over there!! Thanks to the amazing staff and atmosphere!


71%

Staff were excellent and helpful, shuttle bus from Wellington metro station made the location less of an issue. Beds were very uncomfortable though. Facilities were average, atmosphere was good but overall the steep price would put me off recommending when for the same price you could stay in downtown and avoid metro fare. It was also $20 more per night than I'd paid anywhere else in the states, and that's including New York which is notoriously expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you visit Boston , and want to experience Boston, you have to use the Metro, no matter if you stay at the Ritz for $500 per night, or Backpackers for $40 per night. if you want to avoid the Metro,and not pay the $2, just stay home and google Boston tourist attractions, and watch them on your computer or TV, and you can save your hard earned money. If we knew the $2 metro fare was such an issue, we would have given it to you. But our staff is Happy you liked our service. We enjoyed you.

63%

There was a big guy that seemed unfriendly at first with black hair. The hostel should be available the minute some one walks in especially because of special request. They should have called me about what i wrote about the request. The other guys were so nice. The Facility should have a New kids on the Block Photo up near the American flag and WWE John Cena since they are celebrities from Boston and they have non-Boston people on the flag. There should be bigger lockers and enough of them.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will get a photo of the New Kids on the Block as soon as possible. Thank you for the suggestion

94%

A nice plus is the Boston accent that all of the staff members share.


86%

It was my second stay in 2 months at this Hostel. The free parking is super convenient as the traffic is terrible in Boston. With the shuttle you are downtown in less than 30 min door to door. Overall nice staff, clean and it's great to have a bar with TV and beers to watch the world cup and to meet people. There is a very nice beach (Revere) only 4 miles away. It's also quiet during the week so that's nice too if you go from hostels to hostels and want to have the chance to relax

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel, very friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend it to any solo traveler!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

When you take everything into account then this is a fantastic hostel! A lot of people have said it's far out - by all intents and purposes, within a large city it really isn't! The guys at the hostel are brilliant and will take care of all your travel needs that aren't on the MBTA with regular shuttles to the station. I can't praise them enough in this. It's a really social hostel and a great way of meeting people and the bar, pool table and staff just add the icing to the cake! :)

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

expensive but this is probably normal in Boston

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, Germany is really a bargain with its hotels for 300-500 Euros

91%

I had a great stay at Backpackers Hostel &Pub! All the staff were SUPER AWESOME!!!! The were very helpful and felt safe throughout my stay there. They were very accommodating and met some amazing people who shared my dorm.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I was a little bit worried about the distance and this place at first would never be my first choice because of the distance, but I found out it is actually a very clever choice to stay in Boston. The shuttle leaves each half hour in the morning and in the afternoon, but twice we needed it out of these hours, and they promptly arranged a smaller car to give us a ride to the station. Considering that this hostel is a lot cheaper than those in downtown Boston, this is really worth it.


100%

My dorm was very spacious & had its own bathroom. The bar has great priced drinks & the pool table / piano in the common room make for a great night. It's a little bit out of the centre of Boston but with the regular shuttle service to the nearest metro station, it is very easy to get around. Staff are friendly and happy to help with any needs. Chris especially looked after us and was always offering that bit extra like a change of sheets for extending our stay etc. Will definitely be back!


89%

Although yes it is a little bit out of town, it really does not make a difference to your trip as the staff are brilliant and are always about to offer a ride to the station which is only 2.50 for a trip to downtown! Very clean and tidy, could do with a slightly bigger/better kitchen but it does the job! Special thanks to Chris and Ray there, always chatting and giving us ideas of things to do!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were amazing! They will help you out with anything and are generally kind and courteous. It's a little out of town, but they easily make up with it with the shuttle service to and from the station! I will recommend staying here to everyone! Boston at this price is a bargain!


100%

It was the best hostel i have ever stayed. Staff was extremely friendly. They gave me ride to subway stations several times which they did not have to. Person did not even take my tip. Staff was extremely friendly. I would rather stay in this hostel than most other fancy hotels.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uzbekistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

By far the best hostel in Boston. Everything you need is here! Met so many great people from all around the world and the staff are unbelievably nice and helpful. There is a bar in the hostel, pool tables, fast WiFi, laundry services, flatscreen TVs, hot showers, ect. Every staff member that works there is great including Gus, Steve, and Chris. And the shuttle service was amazing thanks Ray. Had a lot of fun here cant say enough good things about the place i will definitely come back.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel. Nice people! The pub is a good place to relax and the shuttle is very useful! Thanks again for everything guys!


(182 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback