Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Feb 2017
7.1

Not the most personal hostel. The rooms feel like prison cells and the surrounding district looks like detroit but in Japan. Everything else was satisfying and I suggest using the common area to keep your sanity intact.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.6

Good value for private room and a good place to meet people. The cheapest room is only with a feet-heater, so can be a bit chilly during winter nights, but with the provided blankets it was warm enough for me. Not based in the nicest area of Osaka, but close to subway, restaurants and grocery shops. Staff was friendly and helpful. Even when the building is old, shower/toilets and at least my room were nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.4

Nice location with kind staff. But the facilities are little bit old, or you may think it as classic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Love, loved it. Better than the Airbnbs we stayed at subsequently. It was clean, simple, and the staff were helpful. It is a little cold in the winter time, but it's honestly not a big deal. CLEANEST showers ever! 10/10 would visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is perfect for all occasions, whether you are stopping through in Osaka or are planning on a long stay. I feel compelled particularly to write this review as an expression of my gratitude to the wonderful staff who work here. Aside from being extremely friendly and helpful, they also provided me with help in bandaging up my leg one night after I found myself in an accident. I was taken really well care of.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location and good value. Staff was very helpful and communicative. Close to metro station and convenient stores and some cafes and restaurants. Great value cuz u get your own private space for such low price in Japan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
4.9

overall decent cheap hostel. very cold at night without heater. you have to pay extra for ac.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ysanchezzz
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.6

You get a single room for a very cheap price. 2 stations away from Namba, and a minute away from the station. The hotel should get a renovation though. No lifts as well and small common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • plourde_matt862
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.6

Very good value for private room and great place to meet people, especially as a solo traveller. The two major downsides are that the rooms are cold (especially near the ends of the hotel) and the mattress is worthless (varies per room (luck)). Felt like I was sleeping directly on the floor. If you can deal with the cons definitely book this place. Also, its in a rough area of Osaka but still not that bad considering how safe Japan is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
5.7

The pictures feel a little decieving, but they are possibly outdated. The location is pretty far out of the way, but somewhat makes up for it in that 2 stations are very close by. But only somewhat. The showers seemed very new and clean, but everything else....the bedding was clean, so that's a plus. And the walls were VERY thin. You could hear everything, which did make it a bit difficult to sleep at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.