Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka Located at 1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, , Osaka.
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka
Japan
Osaka Osaka 5570002 1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari
87% 2486
34.6483284 135.5042767
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Well this was the most quiet hostel I stayed at in Toyko. They had an actual rule sheet. That being said it was also by far the cleanest and cheap. You get a bang for you buck here and perfect if you are on the quiet type. It's close to some fun stuff but I am a night owl so I was glad to stay here on my final night as I needed some peace after a wild vaca:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
10.0

A hostel with a private room is so rare and wonderful. I was finally able to get a good nights sleep here after staying in many mixed dorm rooms all over Japan. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious with a TV and plenty of space to keep my bags. Lots of shelving too and a place to hang clothes. Patios on each floor with chairs allowed for a quiet smoke. The common room is cozy and welcoming but unfortunately very small for the amount of people staying there. Overall a great stay! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.3

It's a very nice place and the location is great. It could be loud at nights because of the crazy travelers party animals, but is nice, clean and the staff is really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.3

Really fantastic value. Was in single private room with no A/C during July. Was a bit hot at first, but not unbearable with the fan they give you. Open the window and your door and you can use the fan to funnel cold air from the hall through your room and cool it down pretty fast. Room is small but its yours and locks. Showers and bathrooms were extremely clean. Common area was fun. Lots of restaurant nearby. Subway station is literally around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2016
9.1

Very easy to go everywhere by subway. Amazing staff and many facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my stay here. You get a private room which is great, especially for the price. My room was clean as were the bathrooms and showers. It's easily accessible to hot spots in Osaka like Osaka Station and Namba. It's also a 5 minute walk to the train station that takes you directly to Kansai Airport. The staff was nice and friendly and the people staying there seemed friendly too. Would stay here again and recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
6.9

It is very nice to have a private room with TV but the hotel in general is in bad conditions and the smell is not so good specially in the room ... Needs more ventilation. Very well located but next time I would look for somewhere else ...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Hostel is conveniently close to the JR station and metro station. Common room and entrance were well equipped and cozy, but the floors with the rooms looked old and not the cleanest. My private room was very smelly and facing a wall very close, therefore there was no air flow, making the situation worse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
10.0

I dont know why, and I shouldnt be writing this but I think of Toyo Hotel Osaka as my gold standard for hostels. Im probably biased and Im sure there are better places to stay. But I love Osaka and the surrounding areas! Toyo is a great base to explore from. On the downside the prices have been creeping up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Good hostel near to JR station. Two stops from Namba. A bit far south for walking after subway closes though. Good small private room with A/C. Clean. Nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.