Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka Located at 1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari, , Osaka.
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka
Japan
Osaka Osaka 5570002 1-3-5, Taishi, Nishinari
86% 2546
34.6483284 135.5042767
Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
7.7

Nice place. Very good price considering you get your own room however small it is. However it was very hot outside and there was no way to keep my room cool. There's a simple fan but it turns off after 3 hour. The rest of building was cool enough but long day of sight seeing in the heat to go back to your room still stuck in the heat was annoying. The N64 and PS2 was cool though! Met some nice people playing that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
8.6

Everyone gets their own small room which comes with a fan and tv. In the hot summer months though, the fan isn't enough and the AC piped in the hallways doesn't get through the closed door, so for me it was necessary to sleep with the door open, which doesn't feel as safe as it could. Nonetheless, no one murdered me and I slept great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
6.9

Well where to start... Having a private room is good especially for the price. But there's a reason for that! You might get some uninvited cockroaches who visit you at night! Get the a/c rooms if u have to stay here during summer or u'll regret it. Common room is nice with some old school video game consoles. Toilets and shower rooms are nice also. It's on the jr or metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
8.6

There was a very odd smell throughout the hostel that left my partner feeling physically uneasy. The staff were friendly, and as helpful at they could be. The A/C, showers, kitchen, computers, video game systems, and washing machine for clothing worked well. Detergent for washing clothes is an extra 50 JPY here. The dryer for clothing worked spectacularly!! Over all, does the trick, but wouldn't necessarily recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Toyo was decent for its price. However the complete lack of airflow in the rooms really harmed the overall experience. The common room was nice, but during my stay a group of 4 people essentially did not leave the area and largely took over the entire room which made it difficult to properly utilise. The facilties were the usual and good. However from my knowledge there was no free coffee/tea like is commonplace. Location wise you are near a station. But in a very poor area of Osaka.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.7

Overall good, except that airco is a miss in the rooms. Location is good, easy to reach popular places via underground

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.0

Conveniently located at a two minute walk from the nearest JR and subway station. The neighborhood is rumored to be shady, but I personally ran into no problems as a solo female traveler. Rooms don't have AC, but the rest of the building is kept very cool during summer months. Facilities were clean, but my bed sheet did have a stain on it. I asked for another and they obliged. Hotel Toyo is a great alternative to a standard 3 star hotel, at a cost 5 times less!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
7.1

The hotel was very cheap, so we had no high expectations. The building is a bit old, but the room was clean, and we had a good night sleep, that's all we asked ! The staff was very nice and helpful. The neighborhood is not very nice though.... The nice thing is that you can "escape" quickly: there is a JR train station and a subway station 5-10 minutes from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

cheap for a private room with fridge and tv! But the doors isolate noise very poorly, so it sometimes is really loud, even at night because people think that there are walls between rooms and floors but actually noise goes through almost unreduced. Otherwise great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michelelo6275
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.1

This Hostel was clean and over all OK for that price. Although the area this hostel is in gets very dodgy in the night. I got followed by an man and i did not feel save at all... But i guess this is no problem if you are traveling in a group. I would recommend this place to people who actually have to stay cheap and still look for a clean place. There is not a big chance to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.