Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Hotel Toyo Osaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jul 2017
9.4

The staff were obliging and happy. Plentiful bathroom/showering facilities, and the option to do onsen at the neighboring hotel. I did not stay at other hostels in Osaka to compare, but anyways this was nice facilities for an affordable price. I liked the generally young vibe -- easy to find companions for cultural activities and nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

This hostel was in a great location! Very close to the subway station and only a couple stops to NAMBA, Dontorubi area. Would definatley recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
9.7

This place was a great deal for the money! You get a lovely (albeit small) room for the price of a multi-person dorm room in most other Japanese hostels. Great if you're wantting some privacy on a buget. Located very near the Shinsekai neighborhood which has lots of fun neon advertisements & good food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
10.0

So far, this is my favorite place to stay in Osaka. The staff was super friendly and helpful. It's located right next to both a JR train station and subway station. You get your own room, which comes with your own key to lock up. Everything was clean and the atmosphere was nice. They had a common area, a gaming room with plenty of N64 games. 24 hour showers and laundry (not always provided in hostels/hotels in Japan). All that for a great cheap price. I will definitely be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
10.0

Loved loved staying here! Own room with AC after a 12 hours flight was beyond perfect! Staff was amazing :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2017
10.0

Not too much I can complain about with this hostel besides that there were no showers on the third floor but that was just a minor inconvenience. The common room was really cool as well and I wish we would've had more time to hang out in there. We were initially concerned that having rooms without air-conditioning was going to be a problem but the hallways and bathrooms are air-conditioned and the fans in the room make it very comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vaniebunnie
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
10.0

Worth the money and very helpful staff. I would definitely go back here if I'm in Osaka. It may be a small space, but its your private room. In addition, its very accessible from metro and JR train. It's also very close to multiple restaurants, I recommend you go to the make your own takoyaki and get beer or umeshu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
10.0

Third time staying here...cheap price for a private room, can't get better than that. Friendly staff, clean facility, and located close to Shinsekai, Den Den Town, Namba, and Dontobori. Osaka's best hostel/hotel. Highly recommend - The American Bodhisattva

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cchan100
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

This place was great. The only thing that i would note is that it is harder to meet fellow vacationers as a lot of the people are long-term. As others have mentioned, it is not located in the brightest of areas but i didnt feel unsafe while walking during the night. Its about a 15 min. Ride to downtown osaka so not bad at all. Also theres a don quiote, a discount store, about a 3 min walk which was good for souvenir shopping on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

Friendly staff, good showers and a nice cozy atmosphere. Getting a private room is pretty nice - I'd definitely go again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.