Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers House Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2017
9.1

Fantastic hostel, in a unbeatable location next to the bus station and main supermarket. Slightly "rustic" but more than made up for it, in charm and the friendliness of the hosts. The free breakfast was a veritable feast and one of the highlights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.4

Really relaxed atmosphere. Nit busy when I was there, think there were only 2 other guests, however lots of people round. Very close to everything, supermarket right across the street. Only downside is I think it could be cleaner. Still, for a couple of days, it was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
5.4

Breakfast is amazing. The staff are great, some are helpful some not so much. The shower doesn't drain well and the whole place is very open so lots of mosquitos. Beds are comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

well....shower problem fixed (to tell us is much better than to pubish something so trivial here ); not all of our volunteer staff speaks english, and to live in a tropical place means open doors all the time (which is why we live here and not in Sweden), and mosquitoes will always be a part of the place.

25th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel is where I have felt the most at home on my entire trip, I loved this place and would recommend it to whoever goes to Paraty! The breakfast is top notch. The staff is also what makes this place, so helpful and kind!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

It feels like home staying at Backpeckers Paraty. Pablo and his staff are extremely friendly, the breakfast is really good (lots of fruits and different toppings) and the house is full of interesting things (books, movies, comfortable couchs, fishes and an adorable cat). And, of course, a nice pool. Cleanliness, however, could be just a little bit better, but nothing that bothers that much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.9

We loved our stay at the hostel in Paraty... so close to everything we needed and the beaches and "tourist" things to do. About a 2/3 minute walk to the bus station which was perfect when arriving in the night. The staff here we fab and provided a welcoming feel and PIZZA on the first night we arrived following a BBQ the 2nd night. The hostel was clean & had running HOT water every night and morning even after 7 other people had showered. Breakfast was DIVINE. thank you all. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
8.3

Fabulous breakfast and very helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.4

We had a great time here - the staff were awesome and we felt like we were at home/staying somewhere with friends. Its a small place but a very homely feel, and its located very close to the bus station and is also directly opposite a supermarket. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
8.3

It's listed as having air conditioning which it doesn't and so we spent one night in an ensuite double room and paid much more for it than it was worth when it only had a fan. The staff were so lovely and helpful and the place was clean and in a great location. The downfalls for me were the lack of air con (when it was stated to be in the room) and the double bed shook every time my boyfriend moved, so that and the heat kept me awake.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.0

The hostel is in a great location, literally across the street from the bus station and a 10 minute walk to the main square. The breakfast was homemade by the owner and so incredibly delicious - probably the best I've had in all my years travelling. The 8 person dorm is pretty cramped and two of the bunk beds are 3 high so the bottom one is basically on the ground (not much time spent in room though so doesn't really matter). Homey vibe. Do the caipboat party tour!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.