Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers House Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 769 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpackers House Paraty Located at rua Aldemar Duarte Coelho 20, , Paraty.
Backpackers House Paraty
Brazil
Paraty 23970000 rua Aldemar Duarte Coelho 20
86% 769
-23.2217071 -44.7179710
Backpackers House Paraty
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
5.1

The room was not clean at all - the bed sheets had not been changed and the bathroom was dirty when we arrived (including pubic hair in the sink and shower!). We raised this with the staff but they said the room would be cleaned in the morning. Our room was also full of mosquitos as the windows were left open with the light on. Breakfast was really good and the hostel is a really short walk from the bus station. Overall, a good choice if you want somewhere with a backpacker vibe over cleanliness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I´m really sorry about the cleaness. Even that the bed sheets were clean, we always change between guests!!! I understood wrong about to clean, thinking that you prefer sleep first. Thanks for your stay

  • gflynn5259
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
4.0

The whole place was filthy. The breakfast although plentiful and varied was covered in flies with no attempt to prevent this. Also seen a cockroach under the table. Our private room had a deep stench of ammonia and damp. The bed sheets had lots of hair I assume from the previous guests. Old soap was left in the shower and no towels were provided until we asked. Is extremely close to the bus station 10 min walk to historic centre.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

considering that we live im the tropico, and we have garden, to see a cockroach once in a while ( that is really not common), is possible, We wash and change sheets between every guest, lady!!! sorry about soap, my mistake. We provide towels at request, only, but is for free. About your 1st opinion, I think that if you stay 3 days was not so filthy High class like you should pay 5 stars places

2nd May 2016
9.1

solid experience. amazing breakfast. great location. a bit cramped. really cool staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Apr 2016
6.9

Chilled hostel. Hammocks in garden. You get what you pay. But round the corner from bus station - v. handy. And really great breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Hannah for your comment but I really don´t understand your poins...in consequence...thanks anyway for your few hours stay

  • emmawatts
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.7

This was great hostel! The location was right next to supermarket and less than 100ms from the bus station (walk to the back of the station turn left walk for ~100ms it's on your right) the owner was super helpful he knows heaps of the area, a lot of tours (can organise for you to go on waterfall, boat tour) and just in general was great to talk to. Rooms/bathrooms are clean, enough room for packs and roomy lockers. Overall the atmosphere is chilled and good place to relax for a few days!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.6

Cute hostel in a good location right next to the supermarket and bus terminal. It is quite small but cosy and a good atmosphere. The staff are helpful and the breakfast is amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Feb 2016
10.0

Excellent place, it was all perfect and the breakfast is just superb! Definitely choosing this hostel again if i come back to Paraty!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Feb 2016
9.1

Top location. Great vibe with frendly staff and guests. Bread fast out of this world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • puustinenpasi3149
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.9

Comfort and relaxing hostel next to Paraty bus station, 2 minutes walking to the old town. Garden was nice with hammocks and pool where you could meet other travellers. Breakfast was great with many options. Staff was ok but they didn't tell anything unless you asked them. Sometimes they still couldn't answer to you (for example how to get to Ilha Grande..) The owner was exception and he knew a lot of things. All in all good choice to stay in Paraty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.3

Great hostel, great vibe. Jose is a legend and Pablo was very helpful. No issues with Mosquitoes in the dorm due to Aircon And fans. Caipirinha boat cruise is a must.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.