Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Imperial Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
Backpackers Imperial Hotel Located at 138 Collins Street, , Hobart.
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 138 Collins Street
64% 94
-42.8828844 147.3280882
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
7.1

wifi cut off at 1000pm :(

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Everything really nice except the shower. Super comfy beds :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2016
3.1

Ok. So we are 2 friends of 60+ but we have stayed in other Backpackers hostels that have been great. We don't mind basic but it must be basic and clean. This certainly wasn't - particularly the bathroom. Staff weren't friendly. The best thing was the location. We checked out again an hour later.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2016
8.0

I had a great stay. Big hostel, and the beds were super comfy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
4.0

Room itself was fine. Staff were unhelpful. Bathrooms were disgusting - old, dirty, no sanitary bins and dishwashing liquid for hand soap. The hallways were a maze with no signage or exit signs. The tag and testing of electrical appliances were long out of date. One of two washing machines was broken and seems like it had been for a long time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
28th Dec 2015
3.4

Due to being New Years I didn't have many options to stay anywhere else and now I see why! This place was truly terrible - there was no service at all, the sanitary bins overflowing with well you can imagine, no security on the windows which meant people were coming in and stealing stuff and everywhere I looked there was a sign saying you'll be fined for this and that. The place was like a maze with no signage and 2 powerpoints in a dorm of 8 behind a bunk. Only good thing was the mattresses!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2015
5.4

Phone broke down so after checkout used the internet for another couple minutes. Manager was unfriendly and not welcoming and wanted us to leave or to pay 20 per person for each hour even though we didn't occupy any of the rooms no more. Unpleasant experience

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
27th Dec 2015
5.4

I found this hostel extremely basic - the staff weren't very friendly and only checked me in, they didn't bother explaining where things are in the hostel, where to go in the city, explain wifi password, or anything! The rooms were fine although as we were facing the street they had a sign up saying people were breaking in through the window and stealing stuff! Female toilets were disgusting with no sanitary bins. Just a bucket and they were overflowing in the mornings! Put a bin with a lid!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.