X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers In Paradise Reviews

40 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
236 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Not a bad location with friendly staff and good facilities. Needs a lick of paint and a good paint mind and could do with more lockers.


60%

Well located hostel with a pool and a restaurant but the staff is not very helpful ( while checking in I felt I was bothering the two staff members who where chatting .I had to come down twice wth my suitcase and ask to find my room. No explanation of the hostel activities) and it s not clean and very hot in the rooms


86%

Great hostel, party atmosphere, clean rooms, strange lock on the bedroom doors and if you dont lock them randomers can walk into your room which happened to us. Rooms also get crazy hot the fan isnt much use, feared for my life getting up and down on top bunk haha.


80%

Ideal location in surfers paradise. Good pool area to hang out and have a beer. Staff were helpful. 20 person room wasn't the best set up, but you get what you pay for. If you're not too fussy about sleeping arrangements, then this is a great hostel.


83%

one of the few hostel that do not use filled carpet, for better cleanless. thank you very good common space


49%

Lots of no-smoking/drinking signs which no one cares about. Impossible to distinguish staff from other guests. They kept partying all the time and rarely worked. Cinema, tours and transfer listed on webpage but never available. No bathrooms and dorms cleanup during 1 week. Kitchen poorly cleaned , dishcloths were actually bath towels. Too noisy all the time.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

we got hammered by storms every day while staying here so ended up playing drinking games all day. Ok hostel close to town and staff were nice

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good cheap hostel nothing flash but fun and close to town

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Security is mostly non-existent as most of the lockers are broken in the 20-bed dorm. There's always stuff going on at night, easy to meet people. The music is loud but is only from 11am-ish to 11pm-ish. One of the toilets in the 20-bed dorm smelled like urine constantly, but I just avoided it. WiFi is incredibly slow, free networks in the shopping center are much faster. Easy walk to beach, shopping, etc. The staff are nice but reception is often unmanned and you have to hunt them down.


74%

Good for everything...i love it!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Only were there a few hours but seemed like a decent hostel. We had one bathroom for the dorm (8 beds) so feel like it could be a bit annoying at times with the shower/toilet/mirror in the one room... it was also pretty old/rusted/dirty.


97%

planed to stay one night and ended up staying 4. This is a good party hostel.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Big thanks to Alex for booking my skydive. Had a great time here was close to town and got a free upgrade. Big thanks to the crew at this hostel

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Shower was insane!' Went from hot to cold to hot every 10 seconds. Also the room and the bathrooms were not very clean. Massive stains on my mattress and it was paper thin. On the plus side very friendly and convenient


94%

Was only here for one night but was a nice hostel

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it was a great vibe hostel

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

It has such potential to be a really good hostel but the fact that you are not allowed to bring drink into the hostel really lets it down.I understand that there are laws preventing this but as a backpacker the only thing I can afford is cheap goon regardless how cheap drinks are at the bar it stil would mean spending more moneyThe kitchen was sooo filthy and there was never any cutlery and the only tea towels they had available were actual body towels that were constantly wet and brown.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed here and out room was not cleaned once, to be honest I don't think it was cleaned before we got there, all four girls in the room checked in on the same day and there was a condom wrapper on the floor in the bathroom. Our room type was change yes from a larger one to a smaller one but also from one with air conditioning to one with out if it was any hotter it would have been horrible The staff where friendly enough. I didnt like that they cut new keys when old ones went missing security


80%

It was good.


20%

Pillows are either non-existent or flat/lumy/yellowed. Mattresses stained. Top bunk too close to the ceiling fan so risk of being chopped when you climb into bed. Bunks also very unstable. Full of drunk Irish / poms.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback