Hostelworld.com

Backpackers In Paradise

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.7
Backpackers In Paradise Located at 40 Peninsular Drive, , Surfers Paradise.
Backpackers In Paradise
Australia
Surfers Paradise Queensland Qld 4217 40 Peninsular Drive
62% 329
-28.0038555 153.4242439
Backpackers In Paradise
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.1

We enjoyed the hostel and area so much we extended our stay! The rooms were what you expect of a good hostel although they got a little hot at night. The bar and common areas are great fun night and day closing at the right time. They have an event every night you can choose to join which was a laugh and good value for money! The cheap prices don't reflect the standard of the hostel! Stay here if you want to experience the best of the Gold Coast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.3

Despite all the bad reviews I want to say something good about this hostel! I stayed in the 20 bed dorm and was surprised how clean everything was. I met some great people and had an awesome time! The atmosphere was amazing! Would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
5.7

Security was poor, our food got stolen a few times, the door to our dorm was always open and everyone had to go through others stuff because there was no storage room inside of the room. Everyone comes here to party so no chance of getting any sleep. The kitchen was quite small for so many people. The pool was refreshing but really dirty, the rest of the facilities were comparably clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2016
4.6

Booked 4 nights.Stayed one night . Got a flat with my friend and they wouldnt refund me for the other three even though we wouldnt even be there! Shoking !!... Terrible atmosphere and guy on reception was very patronising and should reconsider his choice of job if he has no customer service skills watsoever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2016
3.1

WARNING! This hostel is the one you have to go to when all the other hostels are full. I think a reasonable price per night should around 13-15 dollars for what you get. -Alcohol is strictly forbidden. Every night they search the rooms and confiscate all alcohol. Then you have to buy overpriced drinks in their bar. -In my room we were 14 people on 1 bathroom which could not be locked. -No air conditioning. Just really noisy ceiling fans. -Staff is not very friendly. -The kitchen is just mess

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your opinion of our hostel. Having a licensed bar in Queensland means you cannot legally bring alcohol onto the premise. This is clearly stated on numerous signs around the hostel. Our bar prices are considerably cheaper than any other bar anywhere in Surfers with beers from $4?

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay here! Despite all the negative reviews I found it great value for money and the place seemed pretty clean too. The only places in the hostel that were dirty was the dorm room which is down to the other people staying at the hostel not the hostel itself, if someone throws food on the floor after the rooms been tidied and cleaned I don't see how he hostel staff can be blamed. This hostel also had a brilliant amount of communal space, great for relaxing and meeting people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2016
4.6

Dirty bathrooms. Only one for 14. Very old mattress, feels like sleeping on the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2016
3.4

Absolutely filthy! The shower was covered with mould. There was dust and rubbish all over the dorm floors. The 'lockers' where broken cupboards that couldn't lock. Beds weren't available in the room they checked us into. The credit card machine automatically charged me in GBP with a 3.5% conversion charge. The staff were rude and unhelpful with any queries, especially with anything regarding cleanliness or payments. their bar crawl took you to the four worse bars in town.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2016
4.9

The hostel room looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The toilet was disgusting as it had been stained brown, and the shower facilities had hair and grime everywhere. The floor in the actual hostel room was so dirty there was dust balls and dirt everywhere. There were snot stained on the walls and there was garbage from previous guests everywhere. Overall the cleanliness and conditions of the hostel room were appalling.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2016
7.4

The room 25 ( with 20 people) it is too dirty! When i got out the hostel, which was 6 30am, the kitchen was not opened and i lost my food, that i putted on the fridge, and there was a plaque saying that opened at 6 am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.