Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Backpackers Inn on the Beach Located at 29 Shirley Street, , Byron Bay.
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 29 Shirley Street
88% 397
-28.6405529 153.6082139
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • universalsea
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.1

Excellent spot and well run hostel, steps from the beach at beautiful Byron Bay, and close to the city centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
6.9

Great hostel with great activities. Located just 200 meters from the beach and just a short walk from Byron Bay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.1

I absolutely loved my stay. I will definitely be back soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Closer to the beach than any other hostel in Byron bay, only a quick walk into town. Good size rooms and toilets, all kept fairly clean, even a few rooms with balconies. Staff were lovely, enjoyed our stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
9.1

Staff were excellent and friendly and always helped. Hostel right on the beach where good waves were for surfing especially for beginners. Regular bus into main street which was only a 15 minute walk anyway. Always some sort of entertainment or dinner offers through the hostel every night. Glad i chose this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were so friendly and helpful... offered us coffee on arrival after our overnight bus journey!! We also booked Fraser Island and Whitsunday tours with Alex at the travel desk who did an awesome job finding us last minute slots. Plenty of shower facilities, some of them newly renovated. Garden space was right next to the beach and had hammocks and bean bags to use. Overall would recommend staying here!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.9

Location - close to the beach but not quite since you have to walk (and cross a train track) to get to the beach; however, it is a bit away from the rest of the town (the walk is 5-10 mins). Otherwise - great hostel, facilities are great, wifi is complimentary, atmosphere is perfect complete with firedancers on BBQ night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
9.1

Fabulous location. I liked the noise curfew. Allowed others to sleep. Helpful staff. A few hooks in the large 4 bed dorm would be helpful. Maybe a small table for dishes and utensils. Overall thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Loved this Hostel! Lovely atmosphere, typical of Byron Bay. Hostel was clean and everyone was really friendly. Mix of travellers and workers, but a lovely vibe! Lots of people have drinks in the common area on an evening, but it's definitely not a huge party hostel so you can choose not to join if you don't want to. Great location, lovely big garden where you can just chill. Sad to be leaving!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Nov 2016
3.7

This hostel is not worth the money you pay! security is awful, the lockers in our room were broken and our room mates would leave the door open during the day meaning our stuff was unguarded. This hostel is dirty and everyone there is super pretentious and think they own the world. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone. The only good thing is the beach being so close, but Byron bay is so small it's not far to walk from other hostels.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.