Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Backpackers Inn on the Beach Located at 29 Shirley Street, , Byron Bay.
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 29 Shirley Street
84% 308
-28.6405529 153.6082139
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lisfranso638
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.0

Bit out of town (5min walk) but very relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff. Almost every night there's a meal deal, which is nice. Good size kitchen and clean inventory. Very good place to chill out with loads of places to sit, direct beach access and good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

If you come to Byron you HAVE to stay here. This is the best hostel i've ever stayed in. The showers are amazing, the vibe is amazing and the staff are amazing. Everyone is very sociable and there are genuinely fun events planned every night. This was surprising as it is technically 'off season', I can imagine that in the summer this place is crazy. You can walk to the beach in about 30 seconds and there's so much to do here, we cancelled our next stops just to come back here we loved it!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
7.4

The staff here don't interact with you at all other than when checking you in then they sit in their own staff room. Everything is deposit including knives, forks and plates- mind you I hear that's what all the hostels in Byron are like. You also get chucked out the communal area at 10 which means if your travelling alone it's either bed time or you need to go to a pub/club Overall ok just a different vibe than expected in Byron.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
6.9

Woke up to a woman screaming bloody murder because there was a fight at 345am. Freezing room. Woke up shaking. Otherwise atmosphere and setup was cool. Thought it was cool that you could rent bikes for free and the travel agent man named Aria was awesome and super helpful. Oh the BBQ was equivalent to jail food. Don't buy it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

Great location - on the beach and 5-10 minutes walk to central. Very good for socialising as everyone sits in the lounge and garden in the evenings and the hostel puts on different events each night. Only negatives: kitchen not that clean and closes between 3 and 4 each day and doesn't open until 7.30 and shuts at 10. Communal areas shut at 10.30. Wifi is given out in 2 hour blocks so you have to keep going to reception to get more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.7

8 bed dorm has plenty of room. Not enough power points but not a big deal. Located right next to the beach which is great and 5 min walk to town center. Hostel offer bus service to bars at night. Activities run every night with VIP discounts at most bars. Staff are excellent. $5 for plate cup and cutlery which is good. A bit expensive to hire surf equipment, but its the cheapest in Byron so no complains there. Heaps of solo travelers making ti easy to make friend. I will definatly be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location, great vibes. There was one dude at reception who was a bit strange and made me feel awkward, but other than that a great hostel to stay at in Byron! So close to the main strip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Fantastic hostel. I only planned to spend three nights here but ended staying for a week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
8.3

Good location, comfortable rooms and beds. Some staff weren't very helpful. Good vibe

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay here! Super friendly staff and really nice atmosphere. Also great that it's so easy to get to the beach with the path out the back. Good rooms and clean bathrooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.