Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 643 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2017
7.1

Nice and chilled and close to the town and very close to the beach. Not a lot to do on a night time. No storage facilities in the room except a tiny locker for small things and barely any power outlets. Could have done with a chair or something as I had a top bunk and didn't have anywhere to sit when sorting through case/getting ready etc. Showers were great though! Pretty expensive for what you got.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • blythmuir
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

A superb hostel. Nice and chilled (even though we stayed when Splendour was on). A short walk to town but it was nice being away from the hustle and bustle. A private walk to the awesome beach at the back of the garden. Great facilities. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathrooms were clean with decent showers. The bunks were pretty comfy too. The staff were very helpful also. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Byron.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • paulbarcham7625
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
10.0

This is a superb hostel, with A+ staff. Thanks to Adare, Simon and the rest of the crew for a wonderful stay! Highly recommend - location is #1

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.0

Great hostel, some areas need updating like the bathrooms downstairs and maybe the living room area. Apart from that there was lots of great activities, rooms were clean. The hostel was fairly quiet on the weekdays but most likely because it's winter! I stayed here four years ago and came back because it was so good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Hostel was in a great location for town and the beach! Bathrooms were clean and staff were helpful! The surf lessons booked from the common area were awesome and good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.1

A really nice hostel with a great location :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel in a really good location in Byron. Literally a minutes walk to the beach. 9 bed dorm was pretty spacious which was good. Really good atmosphere and made lots of friends. There is something going on every evening which is cool too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
3.4

This hostel is located out of town which is annoying when you want to pick things up from the shops/ go out. The staff are really rude and unhelpful, especially the two older women. They take you to places for 'deals' on food but it's just wherever the hostel has deals with, the food is bad, and they don't care if you are having a good time. Not a nice relaxed atmosphere. There are much better hostels in town, I moved after a day and I'm glad I did.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

I spend 10 days at this hostel and I loved my stay. Atmosphere is the best and commonarea is nice. There is always good people around and the beach is super close. Bikes and bodyboards are free and staff are very helpful and nice. Absolutely best place to stay in Byron. 🌴

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sturkstra
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
8.3

Great hostel right on the beach! Clean facilities with a nice outdoor space :) really comfortable atmosphere with lots of sitting space to just chill! The staff are great at planning dinners and events for backpackers My only complaints would be that it really sucks to have to pay a 5$ deposit for dishes and cutlery set and keep it in your room ... super inconvenient & the wifi is pretty bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.