Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Backpackers Inn on the Beach Located at 29 Shirley Street, , Byron Bay.
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 29 Shirley Street
88% 447
-28.6405529 153.6082139
Backpackers Inn on the Beach
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.4

We had a great stay at backpackers Inn! Bbq and pizza night was brill! $10 for all you can eat pizza and really good pizza! Staff were helpful and we booked our Fraser and Whitsundays tours for a reasonable price with Alex! Great location! The downside was that on the top floor there was only 1 shower and 1 toilet to share!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. Amazing location right on the beach, a pool, spacious 9 bedroom room and a great atmosphere. Wish we could have stayed here longer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

This was an excellent hostel. Was so relaxing and chilled. I loved the been bags out the back. The beach was so close, and so beautiful. One thing tho, the room was extremely hot, maybe some aircon units for a suggestions. Other than that, would definitely recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

This is THE place to stay in Byron Bay! Great beach access and a very short walk to shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations on what to do. The Wed night BBQ was a great value for the price. No AC in the rooms which made them quite warm and the kitchen closed at 10 which was a inconvenient. Loved the backyard area with all the comfortable seating. And Alex at the travel desk was very helpful for booking a surfing class due to the hostel classes being full

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel with a good atmosphere - always had nightly entertainment including a movie shown outside and acoustic music. The kitchen was a little small and not enough utensils for the amount of people, and there didn't seems to be enough toilets/showers also. Note a $5 deposit is required for cutlery. Location good with the beach around the back and a five minute walk into the centre of Byron.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
9.7

Best hostel I stayed at in Australia, no competition. The beach access is such a huge plus that's easily taken for granted but makes a world of difference. The space outside rooms they have to just hang out in is better and more beautiful than any other hostel I stayed. The staff was super awesome and friendly, especially their travel guy Alex. If I come back to Byron, there's no where else I would stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
5.1

The hostel was quite dirty,very sandy, the pool was grey and it wasn't on the beach. You had to walk over a railway line to get to the beach. The rooms were average

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Just amazing! I would definitely go back! Friendly staff, lockers in the rooms, clean kitchen. 👍🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay! SO much fun and such a great atmosphere! Keep up the great work guys! Woo!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Very clean good hostel friendly staff free pick up to and from greyhound bus top right on the beach no complaints. Seemed to be a solid party vibe which I didn't really get involved in as spent my evenings with friends from another hostel but seemed like a laugh. thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.