Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Feb 2017
9.4

I loved my time at Backpackers Inn. I don't understand why there is any concern for location because the location is pretty perfect! The staff were also great, facilitates/rooms were all good. There wasn't air con in the room I stayed in but a fan, which might be a problem during hotter periods but it was fine mid Feb. The downsides were that since it's so big and spread out there isn't necessarily a good place to meet new people and the staff throw out food quickly, so be careful about the date

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.7

This hostel is located just outside the town by the beach. There are probably better located hostels however it's not an issue. Atmosphere when I was there was ok to good, I met people and went out, but not many. Organised trips to bars etc helped with this. It probably had less of a long-term clique vibe than other Aussie hostels. Clean and secure enough for me. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice place with a chilled vibe. Not a bad location, the beach access is pretty decent. The two ladies on reception were a delight. Nice place all in all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andyyleee
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostel I've been to. Friendly vibe everywhere and its super clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Fab common area with a big garden which has lots of tables, hammocks etc - great for meeting new people. Also an indoor TV area and big kitchen. Regular events such as pizza night, live music. Laundry available, breakfast & lunch also available in the garden until around 2pm. Small lockers in the rooms (bring your own lock). Great location, right on the beach and a short walk from the town centre. Only minor criticism is that the room was too hot at night - more fans needed, or air con!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Loved our stay here! Great facilities, clean, short walk to everything around Byron and very friendly staff. And we got to meet people from all over the world :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Is the best hostel to go if you are traveling alone, great atmosphere and great people!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

I was pleasantly surprised by how great this hostel was for the price! The facilities were great - particularly liked all the bean bags and hammocks dotted around - and the enforced quiet time after 11pm was appreciated for early morning surf lessons. It's literally 2 mins from the beach (10 mins walk into town) and overall had a really great laid back feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lauramevans
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.3

This hostel has a great location: only a short walk to town (5-10min), and 1 minute to the beach. There is definitely a lot of long-termers which creates a funny vibe, but this happens anywhere. Rooms were clean, never had to wait more than a few minutes for the bathroom, kitchen facilities adequate. There is a fun social atmosphere but the no noise after 11 rule is enforced well. Definitely try the $10 all-you-can-eat pizza on Sundays - so delicious. Would recommend to everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Very chilled atmosphere here. It is what you pay for the rooms aren't great but I didn't mind the sleep. There are nice hammocks to lay on as well as a movie played at night outside on a projector which I thought was awesome. The wifi isn't the best and took hours to connect after failing to find ip address.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.