Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Inn on the Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 521 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 521 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Absolutely worth staying here on the beach. Great atmosphere, amazing staff. Everything you need. Rooms are big for the amount of beds in them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel, such a good atmosphere! Really easy to meet people or just chill out. You can walk to the beach from the hostel, it's also really close to town. The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were all really clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful, except one girl who was extremely rude. Apart from that I'd definitely recommend it and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
6.0

Stayed for two nights, wasn't impressed or unimpressed. It's just a short walk to get to the main area of Byron. Backyard of hostel was nice, many hammocks and tables to sit at. Pool looked uninviting. Stayed in a small 4 bed dorm. Room was clean and had lockers and a ceiling fan (thank g) I was surprised by carpet in the room. The newer bathrooms were nice and quite clean. I don't think it was worth its value as you can stay at nicer Byron hostels for same price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bellajansen
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

I loved my stay here, extended it another 2 nights! The hostel itself has everything you need, the staff are all super friendly and helpful. The common area is really big (inside and outside) which is nice, there's a nice atmosphere there too. It's literally right on the beach which is amazing- I definitely recommend a surf lesson!! It's also super close to the main street. The kitchen was sooo hot but that's the only con so overall it's a great place, I want to go back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Nice hostel, just very big and anonymous, therefore it's not so easy to meet new people. Lockers in every room, unfortunately no air con. Beach is very close, a few minutes walk to the bars and supermarket. You get more for you money in the Aquarius in Byron!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location, with free shuttle to main beach, plus free to hire surfboards and kayaks. Free wifi throughout (although a little slow).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
9.7

Had a great time, very friendly staff... great shower and toilets for backpackers... loads to do, definite recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
7.1

The hostel has a good atmosphere in terms of the people but the kitchen facilities are awful. You have to pay a deposit for a plate and cutlery which is pathetic and quite limiting when you're trying to prepare a meal. Surf lessons at the hostel on offer were to a good standard.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.7

LOVED this hostel. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Lovely hammock seating area in the garden and nice overall atmosphere. Wish we could have stayed longer than 7 days!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in! Super friendly staff and the overall atmosphere is amazing! You can chill out in hammocks, at the pool or go to the beach in less then a minute. Only small problem was that the wifi wasn't working very good at all times, but other then that it was an amazing stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.