Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers International

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Cook Islands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
10.0

enjoyed the simple accommodation, the staff, manager was very helpful and went out of his busy schedule to accommodate our needs...thank you very much for the lovely experience, beach less than 100m just fantastic, just wave the thumb out and buses stop anywhere to pick you up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.6

Great place on the Cook Islands. Location is also suitable to do any kind of activity. In my opinion, the kitchen and the rooms would require a more proper cleaning, but all in all, this is a great place and worth its money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.7

Bill who managed the hostel during my stay was incredibly helpful, friendly and genuine. He cared about everyone staying at his hostel and went above and beyond to make us happy. The people I met there were awesome too. Felt very comfortable. It was kept super clean which was important for me. There is a beautiful beach really close to the hostel and a burger place run by a beautiful kind lady called Anita, just down the road. I was really happy with my stay here. Thank you Bill!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

I had an awesome time on Raro and the Backpackers International Hostel was part of it. I meet a lot of new nice People and i felt like a second Family there. Bill the host is an amazing, friendly and helpful Person:) The Hostel is definitly perfect for Backpackers!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
8.9

I had a great time at this hostel for the following reasons 1. The staff: Bill (the owner) was the sweetest person. He took care of any complaints I had. He was very generous with the backpackers such driving heaps of groups for the Hulu Bar for free. He passes out free wifi to people who stays there over 12 days. He is just the best person. He truly tries his best. 2. The location. The hostel is placed in Aroa side which means you are close to the Aroa Marine Reserve. 3. The enviroment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

Bill is just nice and jokes a lot, so be prepared. The atmosphere is amazing. I know the people change, but I met such amazing people here. We even arrangend a meeting back in NZ, as most people come over from there. Nice location, 2 minute walk to the beach and 15 minutes to an amazing snorkeling place. Easy rooms, but you've got everything you need and be honest, for that price? What do you expect? I stayed in other accommodations in Rarotonga as well, but this was by far the best one!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.9

Bill was lovely and the place was always clean! It's a good way to meet people from all over the world! Hostel is near a beautiful beach, grocery store, bike rental and dive centre - you should be able to find anything you need! Anything else is usually about a 10-20 min bus ride away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
6.0

unfriendly and inflexible staff. Could be cleaned properly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
7.4

Fun if u are 21. Far too noisy if u want a nights sleep or have jet lag. Between the late night talkers, kitchen noises at night then the early morning roosters, I was done there after one night. Ran out of t . P. By 5 pm. Had to chase owners all day on Sunday to check in. Somehow didn't get sheets. Sorry. Made for a rough day on first day of vacay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
6.6

Except for cheap rates don't expect too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×