X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers International Reviews

P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
158 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Decent place for the cheap rates. We found it a really good location, as we were relying on the buses and the beach nearby that you can walk to is nice. Pretty basic but Tisa was helpful, and there was a nice atmosphere with lots of like minded travellers happy to chat. If you're on a budget this place definitely ticks the boxes.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The best snorkelling spot of the island is 15min by foot from the hostel. This is awesome. The only problem, that is not specific of the hostel, but of the rarotonga is that internet is paid EVERYWHERE

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

more electrical outlets in the rooms to match the number of people in the room. could be usb power strip as almost everything can charge from usb. this way people are not fighting over the power outlets. Add more hooks in the shower areas to hold towel, etc. put up mosiquito traps or a special light to attract and kill them add one more hammick

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time at this hostel, despite the weather! Tisa is really friendly and a good laugh!! The location is fab, a 1 minute walk to a beautiful beach! My only criticism is that some of the kitchen amenities could do with updating or replacing! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!


94%

Basic onsite facilities, but there are some fruit trees and the Rarotongan resort with its great snorkeling and free beach chairs is just down the road. Get a scooter from island bike and car hire. Thanks for the laughs Tisa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, you really did enjoy yourself on your holiday here. Hope you're promoting our beautiful island everywhere you go. Cheers

100%

Will definitely return again. Most accommodating and friendly. Had a wonderful time there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review, we hope to see you again. Cheers Neal

80%

This hostel was the kind of hostel where it's easy to meet other hostelers and have a fun time hanging out with them. Very chill place, just down the road from a nice beach área, and not far from some good snorkeling spots.


63%

Hostel was emailed my flight-no, date and time of arrival. They confirmed! ...but then manageress changed arrival time without checking it with me or airline! - no one came to meet me & emigration thought that I lied about my accommodation... - at the end private person in the airport has called the hostel. Fresh tee towels are needed daily and kitchen requires daily, dedicated cleaning!!! Manageress is rude. If she doesn't like your face - you will know it. It doesn't matter that you are nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are still not sure who you sent your arrival details to. We do send every booking received an arrival confirmation request so as to ensure there is no mix up and we did not receive a reply from yourself. The kitchen is cleaned everyday. We do ask that everyone remember there are no maids or waitresses at the hostel to clean up after you after every meal and we informed quests when required. As for staff, we tried to be polite as possible, but when people make unreasonable demands, well...



View all Rarotonga Hostels

Please give us your feedback