Hostelworld.com

Backpackers International

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Backpackers International Located at P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga.
Backpackers International
Cook Islands
Rarotonga P O Box 878, Avarua
75% 195
-27.0591257 -161.0156250
Backpackers International
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Excellent hostel. Tisa (the host) was wonderful and picked me up from the airport on arrival (in the early hours of the morning). The rooms were clean and the common area had a great vibe. 2 minutes walk from the beach and very close to a great burger place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.4

Very nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The facilities offered everything I needed and I would definitely stay here again! Thanks Tisa!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
8.6

Lovely place to stay! Lovely host Tysa, I'll miss you all. Met so many people from all over the world and spent some good times at the beach and the bonfire.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2016
3.4

All kinds of interesting. One of two hostel selections on the island so they dont need to compete much. The staff was very friendly but often would be late or left early for the 5 hours a day that the front office was suppose to be open. The rooms really need to be updated, or at least have a fan that reaches all the beds. There was a very odd man that seemed to be living in the hostel with the owners understanding that freely would steal food from everyone. theft was also a large issue ingen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2016
8.0

Go with an open mind and reasonable expectations and you will enjoy this place. Tisa is incredibly helpful and kind and wants her guests to have a good time. During my stay guests ranged from teenage aussie surfers to European solo travellers aged 50 plus and Tisa wants everyone to have a nice time. The bedrooms are HOT and on 2 nights we didn't sleep at all. Be prepared for this. Bathrooms could do with an update but they were Ok. I enjoyed this hostel. Thanks Tisa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest review, yeah, summer can be a bit much but I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. It's always fun when you have a largely diverse group of travelers. But yes, we're working on those upstairs bathrooms, we're hoping to have one of the guests come back to give a bit more umpf lol once we've finished our renovations. Again, thank you for staying with us and hope we will see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2016
5.7

Hostel was ok... Very much disliked the woman running it. She was unsympathetic and unhelpful to her guests and at times even rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Actually, you both enjoyed your time with us, you even came back to stay with us after your visit to Aitutaki and we gave you and your partner a free dayrate as you were both such a pleasure to have staying with us. Your problem is not the hostel or the woman at the hostel but rather because you told another guest, it will be alright to break our hostel rules, believing that because we are such nice people "we would understand" and then got angry at both the owner and the woman running the hostel when they said the guest will still need to pay. I find it very unfair and very hypocritical that you would take this one incident, where you encouraged another guest to try and take advantage of our good nature and hospitality, then blame us because your advise was wrong. The rules are clearly stated everywhere in the hostel and in all honesty, it was our hospitality and kindness that you and the other guest were trying to take advantage of, which is why I find your comment that the woman running the place was "unsympathetic, unhelpful and rude" completely hypocritical.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2016
9.4

this is a place i totaly LOVE and tell all to try it its not 5 star and thats just fine by me social life in this hostal Rocks , You can keep the ritz you meet real cool people and the staff are the best . Cant wait to go again love you tesa anna and bill and all our frinds watch get bigger with every visit RARO ROCKS

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

My friend, we loved having you and your family stay with us, we all miss you guys so much and can't wait to have you back again. It's totally true, it's not the Ritz, but it's a great place to meet people from all around the world. We are affordable, clean place to sleep, so you can save your money to do other things, like exploring the island, going on tours and the island nights. Hope you and your fanau come and visit us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2015
5.1

The hostel needs a lot of improvements. The common room / hang out area was pretty boring. They need some music playing to lighten the mood. Bedrooms are a small brick room. our bed sheets were sandy when we arrived

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your suggestion with music in the common area, we've got the local radio in there now to help lighten the mood. i'm surprised you thought it was boring though, as it seemed like every night, you're all having fun doing a table tennis tournament, or just hanging out playing cards, but the main objective our of hangout area is not to party, but rather enjoy the company of other travelers and their experiences. We are an affordable, clean accommodation where people can come to chill out and sleep. But I do agree, we still have improvements in the pipelines for the hangout areas and yes, we're definitely working on that. As for the rooms, yes, they are cozy, with a comfortable bed to sleep on, and shelves to put all your belongings. Some of the double rooms have the Californian King beds, so it sometimes seems that the bed is taking up all the space, especially when you have A LOT of luggage. The rooms are cleaned and fitted with clean sheets for new arrivals and rooms are always checked before leaving for the airport. Again, thank you, we always appreciate constructive criticism.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2015
10.0

The staff were so friendly and always happy to help with any questions or conncerns. Really loved staying here and couldn't recommend it enough. Met the best people and only 100m from the beach. Perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review, it really made our day. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels as much as you did our island.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.