X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers International Reviews

P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Hostel was ok... Very much disliked the woman running it. She was unsympathetic and unhelpful to her guests and at times even rude.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Actually, you both enjoyed your time with us, you even came back to stay with us after your visit to Aitutaki and we gave you and your partner a free dayrate as you were both such a pleasure to have staying with us. Your problem is not the hostel or the woman at the hostel but rather because you told another guest, it will be alright to break our hostel rules, believing that because we are such nice people "we would understand" and then got angry at both the owner and the woman running the hostel when they said the guest will still need to pay. I find it very unfair and very hypocritical that you would take this one incident, where you encouraged another guest to try and take advantage of our good nature and hospitality, then blame us because your advise was wrong. The rules are clearly stated everywhere in the hostel and in all honesty, it was our hospitality and kindness that you and the other guest were trying to take advantage of, which is why I find your comment that the woman running the place was "unsympathetic, unhelpful and rude" completely hypocritical.

94%

this is a place i totaly LOVE and tell all to try it its not 5 star and thats just fine by me social life in this hostal Rocks , You can keep the ritz you meet real cool people and the staff are the best . Cant wait to go again love you tesa anna and bill and all our frinds watch get bigger with every visit RARO ROCKS

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
My friend, we loved having you and your family stay with us, we all miss you guys so much and can't wait to have you back again. It's totally true, it's not the Ritz, but it's a great place to meet people from all around the world. We are affordable, clean place to sleep, so you can save your money to do other things, like exploring the island, going on tours and the island nights. Hope you and your fanau come and visit us again.

51%

The hostel needs a lot of improvements. The common room / hang out area was pretty boring. They need some music playing to lighten the mood. Bedrooms are a small brick room. our bed sheets were sandy when we arrived

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestion with music in the common area, we've got the local radio in there now to help lighten the mood. i'm surprised you thought it was boring though, as it seemed like every night, you're all having fun doing a table tennis tournament, or just hanging out playing cards, but the main objective our of hangout area is not to party, but rather enjoy the company of other travelers and their experiences. We are an affordable, clean accommodation where people can come to chill out and sleep. But I do agree, we still have improvements in the pipelines for the hangout areas and yes, we're definitely working on that. As for the rooms, yes, they are cozy, with a comfortable bed to sleep on, and shelves to put all your belongings. Some of the double rooms have the Californian King beds, so it sometimes seems that the bed is taking up all the space, especially when you have A LOT of luggage. The rooms are cleaned and fitted with clean sheets for new arrivals and rooms are always checked before leaving for the airport. Again, thank you, we always appreciate constructive criticism.

100%

The staff were so friendly and always happy to help with any questions or conncerns. Really loved staying here and couldn't recommend it enough. Met the best people and only 100m from the beach. Perfect

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review, it really made our day. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels as much as you did our island.

83%

Basic and what you pay for. But all in all very good. Just a two minute walk to one of the best sunset spots on the island and close to good beaches. Had a great time here! Tisa is bad ass and awesome!! Thanks!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
lol I love that bad ass comment. Thank you for the rocking review, not only do you get what you pay for, but it's always more relaxing when you have awesome guests. Thank you again

97%

Great experience. Very clean hostel. Great value for the money. JusJust enjoy and relax. Perfect spot for the sunset.


80%

Great budget accommodation in the expensive Rarotonga. Great staff. Very nice atmosphere. Easy to meet people if you are travelling solo


63%

The hostel is quite alright. Biggest downsizes are the cleanliness (bathrooms are really dirty) and the staff. The lady who works there was really cool, picking me up at the airport and taking me to do some groceries cause everywhere would be closed next day, until I told her I needed to shorten my stay. She was really rude and didn't understand that people change their mind!


100%

Had the best time of my life here. Amazing staff. Amazing people. Just a sweet place to unwind and unplug. Cheap rates. Cool culture. Would go back in a heart beat. I'm sure I'll return in the future.


80%

Unfortunately I booked the place and was unable to stay. However while visiting and assigned a temp room, I can tell youthis is good value for the money.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we always happy to hear that people appreciate our efforts and thank you again for your review.

86%

The staff was really artention told us the best things to do in the island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We enjoyed having you stay with us as well. Thank you for your recommendation.

51%

The staff and other backpackers were very nice and helpful during our stay. The cleanliness of the showers was poor and rooms were quite dark and stuffy. The kitchen utensils are in need of and update.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Staff went out of their way to be helpful, taking you shopping, advising the best deals for rentals, then helping afterhours on a Sunday by getting hold of the rental company you decided to go with so that they could replace your scooter, which they did within 15mins, after you and the police officer failed. We always asked if there was anything at all we could help with and other than the scooter, you said nothing. Bathrooms and kitchens are cleaned daily.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

The place was average. Kitchen hygiene was terrible and dogs barking and roosters crowing through the night made me change my flights and go home early after 4 days. Personally I thought the island was over rated. Perhaps the outer islands are nicer but then the costs are much higher.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Roosters are wild and are a common complaint what ever your accommodation is, as they are everywhere. However, we have a plan in process to "downsize" rooster population around the property. Our kitchen is cleaned daily either in the morning or at night, when we lock up. Food scrap bins are emptied into our compost off property daily, as we are always promoting recycling where we can. Fridges/Cupboards are checked and either scrapped or put in "Free Food" Dishwashing liquid is refilled daily

77%

I had the most brilliant time staying at Backpackers International. Although it is not anything special, we formed a little community, all going to the beach together, markets, drinking, cooking, it was like a having a little international family for two weeks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you our way again sometime.

71%

The cheapest place on the island, with a good kitchen, decent atmosphere, comfy enough beds and hot showers, with two great snorkelling beaches nearby. We ended up extending and stayed two weeks. That said, it is grubby, unnecessarily grimy, the rooms were mouldy and sheets damp even when fresh on. A bit more TLC would sort it out, but given how cheap it is in the context of raro you sort of get over it and stay out of your room until you go to sleep


83%

We really enjoyed our stay at Backpackers International. The staff were friendly and we felt at home. We were taught how to husk coconuts in the back yard and had loads of free avocados and bananas courtesy of the owners! Location excellent and very near the best snorkelling in town (The Rarotongan and Shipwreck).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review, glad you enjoyed our local hospitality. Thank you again for staying with us.

80%

Decent place for the cheap rates. We found it a really good location, as we were relying on the buses and the beach nearby that you can walk to is nice. Pretty basic but Tisa was helpful, and there was a nice atmosphere with lots of like minded travellers happy to chat. If you're on a budget this place definitely ticks the boxes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review, we're all about the basics, good location, company and price. Again, thank you for staying with us.

94%

The best snorkelling spot of the island is 15min by foot from the hostel. This is awesome. The only problem, that is not specific of the hostel, but of the rarotonga is that internet is paid EVERYWHERE

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your time with us, if you're ever back on the island, you know how to find us. Yeah, unfortunately about the internet, it's owned by a monopoly, so yes, internet is paid everywhere.

86%

more electrical outlets in the rooms to match the number of people in the room. could be usb power strip as almost everything can charge from usb. this way people are not fighting over the power outlets. Add more hooks in the shower areas to hold towel, etc. put up mosiquito traps or a special light to attract and kill them add one more hammick

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your email and also for the recommendation. Have spoken with the owners regarding the power points, but will look into the usb strips. We usually have coils in the common areas, but we can look into light traps. Love the idea of more hammocks, we actually have more hammocks, we're just not sure where the ideal placement for the rest. Again, thank you for your recommendations, very much appreciated.

86%

Had a great time at this hostel, despite the weather! Tisa is really friendly and a good laugh!! The location is fab, a 1 minute walk to a beautiful beach! My only criticism is that some of the kitchen amenities could do with updating or replacing! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review and good news, we've bought new kitchen stoves, still working on the updating, but we're getting there. Thank you again for staying with us, we had a blast.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(143 results)


View all Rarotonga Hostels

Please give us your feedback