X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers International Reviews

P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
131 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great location, although I had a scooter the whole time I was there. Just made it super easy to get around. Hotel attracted great people and Tisa was very helpful and friendly. Although She is not there the entire time for administration you can manage.


77%

I liked that the hostel was very close to the beach and the atmosphere was great. Being a solo traveler, I found it very easy to socialize and make friends with other travelers here. The hostel itself could have been cleaner, but it's not the dirtiest place I've ever seen.


69%

Great hostel for socializing and chillen. Could be a little cleaner but good for the money and the atmosphere!


89%

Very chilled out hostel in walking distance to lovely beach. Stayed in twin room which was clean and a good size. Common areas and kitchen are conducive to socialising with other travellers. Hostel staff is very helpful and keen to make sure people staying have a good time.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

Even though rarotonga is a great destination with wonderful beaches and landscape i wouldn't recommend this hostel to anybody. Not very clean bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bathrooms are cleaned once a day, usually at night or early hours of the morning and just to add we have since been repainted.

74%

I stayed at the backpackers for 9 nights in July 2013. This is a hostel, where you get what you pay for,definitely not a 4-star hotel. The double was rudimentary, the bathrooms had trouble with hot water (due to it being solar heated and us experiencing heavy rain during our stay). The atmosphere however was without par. Tisa, the manager, was an extremely friendly person willing to partake in events and help us plan our own itineraries. We met a lot of awesome people and had a good time there.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was amazing. It's probably not the cleanest hostel you can find but the atmosphere is amazing and Tisa (runs the place) is amazing. It has the beach, the awesome Coco Putt bar and basically everything you need in a walking distance! Defenately going back to this hostel when I come back to Rarotonga :)

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

We booked for two weeks but we stayed just 3 nigths. The kitchen was sticky and dirty, the toilet and bathroom were really disgusting, it's smell bad in the room. It was the mess everywhere... We changed hotel and regret that this backpacker is not better maintained. The potential is huge and the building near the beach.


71%

The room was good. Unfortunately there is a problem with the water supply. Often the toilet cysterns are empty and therefore don't flush. The kitchen sinks need plugs so the dishes can be washed with hot water

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

It was good for the value, but there were sometimes the showers and toilets out off order. Tisa is really helpfull and know a lot about the island.


89%

Loved my stay here! The hostel is right opposite the beach and is within walking distance of cafes and shops. Tisa knows everything about the island and what is going on each night and will book activities for you. Especially loved the international cooling night, great way to make friends! Sometimes the shower was cold but you're in the South Pacific, so it doesn't matter! Will definitely come again!


66%

Friendly hostel but it could really do with a good clean.


97%

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hostel for 6 days. We are already planning a trip back, and will for SURE stay at the international backpackers. Great place, good value for your money and owned by a lovely family! We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel :)


89%

Tisa is a great host. She knows a lot about the Island and things to do and will help you doing what you want.

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This would probably be a good place to stay if you were a twenty-something looking for a party and hanging out with other guests all night. Otherwise I would not recommend. If you want peace and quiet, go somewhere else. Everything in this hostel was dirty, I'm not even sure if the sheets were changed between guests. Not much to do around, just a little shop and a burger place (great burgers!) but the beach was lovely. We stayed for two nights and then escaped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you want a self contained unit or to have your own private bathroom, etc where you are able to happily to keep to yourselves, please do not book with us. We recommend our hostel for people that want to meet and socialise with other people as we repeatedly emphasis in our promotional descriptions. There will always be nights where guests will want to have a fun drink, no matter what their age and others when everyone is just happy to just chat, have a laugh or just read a book on the hammock. As for the sheets not being changed, ALL sheets are soaked, laundered, dried then folded away after guest or guests have checked out or guests request fresh sheets. The hostel is cleaned once a day and guests are asked to keep it clean and tidy.

51%

It needs to be cleaned more often and security needs to be better as personal items were stolen from many during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hostel was cleaned either at night or early hours of the morning. It is also stated throughout the hostel the there is no "mum" to clean up after them, guests are to clean up after themselves, unfortunately this does not happen all the time. It is also states everywhere in the hostel rules not to leave valuables laying around, all guests are given a key to lock their valuables in their rooms.

86%

Good location it's only a small island so any where is good, the staff were warm welcoming and a free airport transfer what a bones. Tisa the women in charge is a local and answers all questions and gave amazing advise about the island . Any thing you need help with she the women. Grate atmosphere in hostel , nice area to chill out in abd room had a fan good facility's cannot wait to get back the highly rate this place but think the people staying there helped make it an amazing exprance ,


89%

My staying at Backpackers International was full with nice memories that I will remember my whole life! The people there was so friendly and we all lived like a big happy family. The staff was helpful and also a part of the group. It was just a fantastic time on Raroronga and I am glad that I stayed on Backpackers International! :)

  • 18th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

This place is so dirty, don't look under your bed och inside the shelfs! And bring your own bug-repellent for your room-mate ants. The staff are wasn't welcoming. When we came the hostel was closed (Sunday), but we had been able to book through Hostelworld to arrive that date and there was no information about this when we booked. We experienced The Rarotongan Backpackers was a much better choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
All rooms are double checked before guests are checked into the rooms. Guests were also advised 3 times during their stay not to take food into their rooms as it would attract ants, this is a tropical island, this is also stated on our Hostel Rules and Guidelines throughout the hostel. Whenever a booking comes through any of the booking engines, an email is sent to the person booking requesting arrival times, this is to ensure that there is someone at the hostel. Our office hours are stated Monday to Saturday 9am - 12noon and 7pm to 9pm. As for staff being unwelcoming, the staff in question apologised that there was no one at the office to check them in and asked them to wait while she checked their room. Once that was done, she made sure the guests knew where to go for food, snorkelling, swimming, scooter hire and bicycle rentals.

100%

This hostel was laid back and good times


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(106 results)


View all Rarotonga Hostels

Please give us your feedback