X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers International Reviews

P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
141 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Good place to stay, met some great people while i was there although unfortunately i can't sat that about the hostel warden.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to meet travellers. Very budget but has everything you need. Also you can pick the coconuts right off the tree from the roof. Would definatley stay here again


69%

This is a very basic hostel, you are paying for exactly what you get. Rooms are concrete block with a fan, and only get cleaned at the start and end of your stay. Bathroom lights weren't working and bathroom rubbish didn't get emptied for the whole week that I was there, though the sinks did appear to be wiped down every day. Location is ok, it is only a 5 min walk to the beach, but it's 10 km from town. buses and food here are expensive! Best to hire scooter and bring food from nz.


57%

I had a pleasant stay on the island. The woman who runs the hostel is nice and respectful but she isn`t always around the property. Even during the posted office hour times there may or may not be someone there to help you. It's true- no one really cleans but I`ve been in hostels that are more disgusting. The guests are awesome and create a chill laid back atomsphere to enjoy. The hostel doesn`t really organize any socials or outings so your experience is what you make it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your time here. Yes, office times are different in winter as it's colder and flight schedules are different. Kitchen was cleaned at night and bathrooms in the morning, but when the hostel is full and no one cleans up after themselves, we get it. We did try to organise events,but everyone was too worried about spending money, so we just put up on our daily board the events happening around the island. Hopefully if you ever stay with us again, we'll have a more active crowd.

20%

How to start? 1) she forgot us at the airport, where we waited 1 hour, she didn't apologize 2) this hostel is NEVER cleaned! The showers are so desgusting that the floor is slippery because of old soap... And I don't speak about the walls... 3) she doesn't want to put more than 1 roll of toilet paper per day, so for 40 persons it is impossible! Don't talk about the bad smell, because nobody clean. 4) the kitchen : no comment, terrible 5) she just wants money, not to help you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly we did not forget the pick up, it was misunderstanding between our taxi and guest and we apologised when they it was sorted. The kitchen was cleaned at night, bins emptied on a regular basis. Bathrooms are cleaned every morning, toilet paper put in by cleaner then, we would add another roll in the night shift. Guest was angry as demanded free dayrate as they stayed a week which we do offer for free when we feel guests are clean, helpful and genuinely nice. Haggling in the Cooks is rude

77%

Cheap option on Rarotonga! for about 18 bucks a night (probably the cheapest hostel on Raro) you get a bed and basic facilities, a few minitutes stroll away from the beach, next to a dive centre, scooter hire, dairy, bus stop you get what you pay for! Kitchen and shower are quite dark, my room hasn't been cleaned once in 6 nights and the kitchen was a bit of a mess. The staff is friendly and helpful. if you want it a bit nicer check Rarotonga Backpackers, but it's also more expensive!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. Not sure how to respond to the "dark" comment, but we'll be happy to have any suggestions. Rooms - you are supposed to keep that clean yourself while you're in there. We clean and get them ready for people checking in, it's up to you to keep it that way, which is pretty much the same as the kitchen. With the kitchen, it's usually people not washing their dishes, or not wiping down their mess when they finished. The kitchen is cleaned first thing in the morning.

63%

The kitchen and particularly the bathrooms were not kept clean enough. Disappointing as they are frequently used areas! Even getting a hosteller to clean these areas in exchange for a night's accommodation would ensure they were done if the owner is too busy.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We understand what you mean, especially when we are full. We have used your suggestion before and unfortunately it has always worked out. We will however keep it in mind for when we are full and thank you for your suggestion.

83%

Great hostel, lovely sociable atmosphere and great host. Loved staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating, maybe if you're ever in these parts again you can stay longer and get to see more.

86%

The owner is really helpful, kind and sweet. Rooms are quite small but the atmosphere is excellet and laid-back.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we did have a lot of fun.

83%

Great location, although I had a scooter the whole time I was there. Just made it super easy to get around. Hotel attracted great people and Tisa was very helpful and friendly. Although She is not there the entire time for administration you can manage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We have the office hours in the morning and at night, most people are out during the day, though usually one of us is pottering around somewhere.

77%

I liked that the hostel was very close to the beach and the atmosphere was great. Being a solo traveler, I found it very easy to socialize and make friends with other travelers here. The hostel itself could have been cleaner, but it's not the dirtiest place I've ever seen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your email. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

69%

Great hostel for socializing and chillen. Could be a little cleaner but good for the money and the atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your ratings, we always love to hear how people enjoy our island atmosphere. We're always trying to add stuff in the quiet season.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Very chilled out hostel in walking distance to lovely beach. Stayed in twin room which was clean and a good size. Common areas and kitchen are conducive to socialising with other travellers. Hostel staff is very helpful and keen to make sure people staying have a good time.


51%

Even though rarotonga is a great destination with wonderful beaches and landscape i wouldn't recommend this hostel to anybody. Not very clean bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bathrooms are cleaned once a day, usually at night or early hours of the morning and just to add we have since been repainted.

74%

I stayed at the backpackers for 9 nights in July 2013. This is a hostel, where you get what you pay for,definitely not a 4-star hotel. The double was rudimentary, the bathrooms had trouble with hot water (due to it being solar heated and us experiencing heavy rain during our stay). The atmosphere however was without par. Tisa, the manager, was an extremely friendly person willing to partake in events and help us plan our own itineraries. We met a lot of awesome people and had a good time there.

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location was amazing. It's probably not the cleanest hostel you can find but the atmosphere is amazing and Tisa (runs the place) is amazing. It has the beach, the awesome Coco Putt bar and basically everything you need in a walking distance! Defenately going back to this hostel when I come back to Rarotonga :)

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

We booked for two weeks but we stayed just 3 nigths. The kitchen was sticky and dirty, the toilet and bathroom were really disgusting, it's smell bad in the room. It was the mess everywhere... We changed hotel and regret that this backpacker is not better maintained. The potential is huge and the building near the beach.


71%

The room was good. Unfortunately there is a problem with the water supply. Often the toilet cysterns are empty and therefore don't flush. The kitchen sinks need plugs so the dishes can be washed with hot water

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

It was good for the value, but there were sometimes the showers and toilets out off order. Tisa is really helpfull and know a lot about the island.


89%

Loved my stay here! The hostel is right opposite the beach and is within walking distance of cafes and shops. Tisa knows everything about the island and what is going on each night and will book activities for you. Especially loved the international cooling night, great way to make friends! Sometimes the shower was cold but you're in the South Pacific, so it doesn't matter! Will definitely come again!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(115 results)


View all Rarotonga Hostels

Please give us your feedback