X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers International Reviews

P O Box 878, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
160 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We really enjoyed our stay at Backpackers International. The staff were friendly and we felt at home. We were taught how to husk coconuts in the back yard and had loads of free avocados and bananas courtesy of the owners! Location excellent and very near the best snorkelling in town (The Rarotongan and Shipwreck).


80%

Decent place for the cheap rates. We found it a really good location, as we were relying on the buses and the beach nearby that you can walk to is nice. Pretty basic but Tisa was helpful, and there was a nice atmosphere with lots of like minded travellers happy to chat. If you're on a budget this place definitely ticks the boxes.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The best snorkelling spot of the island is 15min by foot from the hostel. This is awesome. The only problem, that is not specific of the hostel, but of the rarotonga is that internet is paid EVERYWHERE

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

more electrical outlets in the rooms to match the number of people in the room. could be usb power strip as almost everything can charge from usb. this way people are not fighting over the power outlets. Add more hooks in the shower areas to hold towel, etc. put up mosiquito traps or a special light to attract and kill them add one more hammick

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time at this hostel, despite the weather! Tisa is really friendly and a good laugh!! The location is fab, a 1 minute walk to a beautiful beach! My only criticism is that some of the kitchen amenities could do with updating or replacing! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!


94%

Basic onsite facilities, but there are some fruit trees and the Rarotongan resort with its great snorkeling and free beach chairs is just down the road. Get a scooter from island bike and car hire. Thanks for the laughs Tisa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, you really did enjoy yourself on your holiday here. Hope you're promoting our beautiful island everywhere you go. Cheers

100%

Will definitely return again. Most accommodating and friendly. Had a wonderful time there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awesome review, we hope to see you again. Cheers Neal

80%

This hostel was the kind of hostel where it's easy to meet other hostelers and have a fun time hanging out with them. Very chill place, just down the road from a nice beach área, and not far from some good snorkeling spots.


63%

Hostel was emailed my flight-no, date and time of arrival. They confirmed! ...but then manageress changed arrival time without checking it with me or airline! - no one came to meet me & emigration thought that I lied about my accommodation... - at the end private person in the airport has called the hostel. Fresh tee towels are needed daily and kitchen requires daily, dedicated cleaning!!! Manageress is rude. If she doesn't like your face - you will know it. It doesn't matter that you are nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are still not sure who you sent your arrival details to. We do send every booking received an arrival confirmation request so as to ensure there is no mix up and we did not receive a reply from yourself. The kitchen is cleaned everyday. We do ask that everyone remember there are no maids or waitresses at the hostel to clean up after you after every meal and we informed quests when required. As for staff, we tried to be polite as possible, but when people make unreasonable demands, well...

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Just a short one. If you are on your solo trip to Raro, this place will make you happy during the whole stay in Rarotonga. 1.Cheap; 2. Convenient and easy location to get to the most beautiful Muri Beach and just 2 minuts walk to Aroa Beach (snorkeling, swimming, great beach with palms around).; 3.Very friendly and helpful hoststess with great sense of humor; 4.An opportunity to meet lots of great ppl from all around the world to have fun with. Enjoy! Absolutely recommend this place. Kia orana

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We had a wonderful time here. It wasn't busy when we stayed so we were that noisy bunch most people hated. We tried to include everybody but it seemed most people there only wanted to have early nights.


60%

close to the beach, relaxing place, one restuarant close by that makes you feel a bit self loathing after a few meals of fish n chips or burgers needs music/sound system for a better social atmosphere in the courtyard recommend diving with karina and patrick at adventure rarotonga and hiring a bicycle or scooter


60%

Good place to stay, met some great people while i was there although unfortunately i can't sat that about the hostel warden.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to meet travellers. Very budget but has everything you need. Also you can pick the coconuts right off the tree from the roof. Would definatley stay here again


69%

This is a very basic hostel, you are paying for exactly what you get. Rooms are concrete block with a fan, and only get cleaned at the start and end of your stay. Bathroom lights weren't working and bathroom rubbish didn't get emptied for the whole week that I was there, though the sinks did appear to be wiped down every day. Location is ok, it is only a 5 min walk to the beach, but it's 10 km from town. buses and food here are expensive! Best to hire scooter and bring food from nz.


57%

I had a pleasant stay on the island. The woman who runs the hostel is nice and respectful but she isn`t always around the property. Even during the posted office hour times there may or may not be someone there to help you. It's true- no one really cleans but I`ve been in hostels that are more disgusting. The guests are awesome and create a chill laid back atomsphere to enjoy. The hostel doesn`t really organize any socials or outings so your experience is what you make it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your time here. Yes, office times are different in winter as it's colder and flight schedules are different. Kitchen was cleaned at night and bathrooms in the morning, but when the hostel is full and no one cleans up after themselves, we get it. We did try to organise events,but everyone was too worried about spending money, so we just put up on our daily board the events happening around the island. Hopefully if you ever stay with us again, we'll have a more active crowd.

20%

How to start? 1) she forgot us at the airport, where we waited 1 hour, she didn't apologize 2) this hostel is NEVER cleaned! The showers are so desgusting that the floor is slippery because of old soap... And I don't speak about the walls... 3) she doesn't want to put more than 1 roll of toilet paper per day, so for 40 persons it is impossible! Don't talk about the bad smell, because nobody clean. 4) the kitchen : no comment, terrible 5) she just wants money, not to help you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly we did not forget the pick up, it was misunderstanding between our taxi and guest and we apologised when they it was sorted. The kitchen was cleaned at night, bins emptied on a regular basis. Bathrooms are cleaned every morning, toilet paper put in by cleaner then, we would add another roll in the night shift. Guest was angry as demanded free dayrate as they stayed a week which we do offer for free when we feel guests are clean, helpful and genuinely nice. Haggling in the Cooks is rude

77%

Cheap option on Rarotonga! for about 18 bucks a night (probably the cheapest hostel on Raro) you get a bed and basic facilities, a few minitutes stroll away from the beach, next to a dive centre, scooter hire, dairy, bus stop you get what you pay for! Kitchen and shower are quite dark, my room hasn't been cleaned once in 6 nights and the kitchen was a bit of a mess. The staff is friendly and helpful. if you want it a bit nicer check Rarotonga Backpackers, but it's also more expensive!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. Not sure how to respond to the "dark" comment, but we'll be happy to have any suggestions. Rooms - you are supposed to keep that clean yourself while you're in there. We clean and get them ready for people checking in, it's up to you to keep it that way, which is pretty much the same as the kitchen. With the kitchen, it's usually people not washing their dishes, or not wiping down their mess when they finished. The kitchen is cleaned first thing in the morning.

63%

The kitchen and particularly the bathrooms were not kept clean enough. Disappointing as they are frequently used areas! Even getting a hosteller to clean these areas in exchange for a night's accommodation would ensure they were done if the owner is too busy.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating. We understand what you mean, especially when we are full. We have used your suggestion before and unfortunately it has always worked out. We will however keep it in mind for when we are full and thank you for your suggestion.

83%

Great hostel, lovely sociable atmosphere and great host. Loved staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your rating, maybe if you're ever in these parts again you can stay longer and get to see more.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(128 results)


View all Rarotonga Hostels

Please give us your feedback