Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Lucerne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1381 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.9

The rooms had a nice view of the lake. It was about 15-20 minutes walk before you hit anything interesting so it's not great location. No duvet covers given which is unhygenic. Big lockers to store your things in the room. One toilet on the level to share but it never was a problem. Also you can't use the stove or oven before midday which was a big inconvenience especially when Switzerland is so expensive to eat out. Overall the stay was fine, I'd try find somewhere more central next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.7

The hostel has excellent facilities - two very well equipped kitchens and a large social area with various activities. The rooms themselves were very spacious and there are plenty of communal sinks/ mirrors/ plug sockets so we were never waiting to get ready in the mornings! Showers were great too! The reception staff were also exceptionally welcoming and friendly - check in and check out was very smooth and easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • peerapongl4801
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 67 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Though quite far from the main station, the place is peaceful with corridor overlooking the lake and park. Staff hours are open til late 11pm. The dorm room, toilet, bathroom, are spotless including the relaxing dining area. Staff are informative on any advice you require. Additional service of buffet breakfast (8ch) is served on 5th floor with views of the Alps.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Anyone going to Lucerne with friends should stay here. Fantastic location at a reasonable price, very clean and comfortable, lovely staff. Would stay here again, recommend to a friend, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
9.7

Yeah, it's a little pricey for a hostel but it's Switzerland :p It's also a really nice hostel that is kept extremely clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Nice to have a balcony with a lake view, too. Nice, private showers which I loved and I also appreciated the laundry service so I didn't have to waste my time doing it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Backpackers was wunderbar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.1

The location of the hostel is not ideal and that's the only possible point to complain about cos everything else is excellent! The staff are super helpful and guided me on places to visit. They even accommodate late checkins or early checkouts. The kitchen facilities and washroom facilities are clean and good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.1

Stayed for 3 nights. Very easy to find and close to the main station (less than 15 minutes walk) and friendly staff. There is a kitchen with pans and an oven to cook with and also common area with some sofas and games. Rooms are nice and have lockers and showers/toilets available whenever I needed them. Stayed in low season so not many people around but those that I met seemed pleasant. Pricey, as is Switzerland as a whole!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.6

The location is fantastic and they were very accommodating with our car (rental). Great location for a walk along the lake, fantastic view from your room and friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel! A little out of the way and no free breakfast (which, considering how much you pay for the hostel and how expensive Lucerne is, it would have been nice), but would recommend it! It's easy to get to the main city and to the train/bus station. The kitchen facilities were awesome as were the rooms and bathrooms. Great place to hang out in escape the cold and the wifi was great. Security was top notch! Would recommend this hostel for a night stay or even a week! Well worth it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.