Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.7

Stayed there for a night with a group of friends and we LOVED it, everything was perfect for us and the staff were so kind and helpful. They went and bought bus tickets for us and held our stuff so we could enjoy ourselves in beautiful Manuel Antonio, we were all very impressed and happy with this place. Absolutely would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

This place is awesome, staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen provides free breakfast every morning and pleanty of space to cook your own dinners! Take time to walk down to the pool. Best views.. there were Tucans everywhere while we swam :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
6.6

This hostel was fine for the money but I don't understand why it has a high rating. The rooms smelled like urine, they drained the pool without telling us 1 day into our stay, and the internet only worked if you sat next to the reception desk. All this would be fine if I hadn't set my expectations so high. I'm most grateful for the A/C. Breakfast every morning was pancakes, pineapple, and coffee which was great. It's walking distance to many restaurants and the bus stop is very accessible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
7.1

Basic hostel but clean and comfortable. Bus stop is right outside and only costs 300 colones, and takes 10mins, to get to the beach or the national park so good value. Kitchen is nice and the free breakfast is a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

The best hostel in Costa Rica. I have stayed at this hostel over the past 8 years and every time it's been very good. Carlos is a hands on owner. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
3.4

Staying here was a really bad experience. At first it seemed nice but then the illusion was shattered. There were people screaming and singing late into the night, which is fine but not when other people are trying to sleep. There should be a separate place for the ones who want stay up that's not right next to the dorms. Then when we complained or asked for help to book stuff, the staff was snippy, rude, and ignored us. We left even though they do not give refunds. Leaving was worth it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
5.4

After arriving, we realized that there are so many more hotels /hostels that are cleaner and closer to the center of town. This hostel seemed really low end , bathrooms were very musty and didn't really want to shower there. Therr is no atmosphere, hard to meet people. The city seems more alive if you continue down the road by 5 minute drive orsomething . The breakfast was really bad , same everyday just pancakes. we could have gotten a much better deal for the price we paid across the street

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
8.0

Room was nice and clean. Staff also made sure that the toilets, showers and kitchen were clean at all times. There is also a swimming pool but it was raining when I was there at the afternoons so didn't get a chance to use it. On the cons side: Internet malfunctioned the entire time. Showers- most were cold even though staff members said there will be hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.