Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Backpackers Manuel Antonio Located at Across the Soccer field in Manuel Antonio, , Manuel Antonio.
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio Across the Soccer field in Manuel Antonio
81% 505
9.4100920 -84.1555094
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Backpackers was a great place to stay. Staff was friendly and the whole place had a very inviting atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Backpackers is a good hostel, very clean and from my experience, safe. There are small lockers available and the rooms can be locked. Breakfast is fine, just pancakes and pineapple. The staff were helpful in helping us get to beaches and buses. Not much of an atmosphere when I stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Everything went well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
7.7

Easy access to the beach and back to Quepos, good Taqueria restaurant above the hostel. Nice open space, needed more attention on the lighting to go up and down the steps, in overall it was easy to move around to the beach and back, there is a nice lounge area if you want some quiet space, if not you can hang out with all the guests in the dining room area. The cleansiness for the showers was not the best, however its understandable with the amount of guests coming, as well as being a beach host

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
8.0

There is a bus stop right across the street which makes it convenient. Ariel at the front was kind enough to help me with any questions I had. Ariel speaks English as well. I stayed in an all female dorm, there were three small fans and no open windows. The bathrooms are outside of the rooms which was not great but I didn't mind. You get pancakes and pineapple for breakfast. It wasn't visually 'dirty' but I got bedbugs bites there and one of the bathroom stunk like clogged pipes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a great time at Backpackers Manuel Antonio. Friendly staff, fun atmosphere, and awesome Tarzan rope swing.. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
6.6

I came here during low-season just for a night before going back to San Jose. The showers didn't have any hot water but luckily the humidity kept me from freezing. The hostel itself can be accessed by anyone walking on the street, which made me extra cautious of my belongings. The bar was super loud and played music until 3am. Bring a lock to store your small belongings in the lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
8.0

The staff was the best part. In the rooms the fans should be located differently as it can get very hot. The downstairs area with the bar and pool were empty during my visit, so not much to mingle with other travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
6.6

Free breakfast. Located 10 min bus ride away from national park and beach. Staff was a little rude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.9

Nice, spacious rooms but got very hot. Good kitchen and lounge area with a big tv. Has a pool but didn't use it as it rained. Very thin walls and mesh windows so got woken up regularly by groups of noisy guests. Not the nicest shower and toilet area but just needs a bit of tlc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.