Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Jan 2017
3.4

Staying here was a really bad experience. At first it seemed nice but then the illusion was shattered. There were people screaming and singing late into the night, which is fine but not when other people are trying to sleep. There should be a separate place for the ones who want stay up that's not right next to the dorms. Then when we complained or asked for help to book stuff, the staff was snippy, rude, and ignored us. We left even though they do not give refunds. Leaving was worth it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
5.4

After arriving, we realized that there are so many more hotels /hostels that are cleaner and closer to the center of town. This hostel seemed really low end , bathrooms were very musty and didn't really want to shower there. Therr is no atmosphere, hard to meet people. The city seems more alive if you continue down the road by 5 minute drive orsomething . The breakfast was really bad , same everyday just pancakes. we could have gotten a much better deal for the price we paid across the street

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
8.0

Room was nice and clean. Staff also made sure that the toilets, showers and kitchen were clean at all times. There is also a swimming pool but it was raining when I was there at the afternoons so didn't get a chance to use it. On the cons side: Internet malfunctioned the entire time. Showers- most were cold even though staff members said there will be hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Backpackers was a great place to stay. Staff was friendly and the whole place had a very inviting atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Backpackers is a good hostel, very clean and from my experience, safe. There are small lockers available and the rooms can be locked. Breakfast is fine, just pancakes and pineapple. The staff were helpful in helping us get to beaches and buses. Not much of an atmosphere when I stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
8.0

Everything went well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
7.7

Easy access to the beach and back to Quepos, good Taqueria restaurant above the hostel. Nice open space, needed more attention on the lighting to go up and down the steps, in overall it was easy to move around to the beach and back, there is a nice lounge area if you want some quiet space, if not you can hang out with all the guests in the dining room area. The cleansiness for the showers was not the best, however its understandable with the amount of guests coming, as well as being a beach host

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
8.0

There is a bus stop right across the street which makes it convenient. Ariel at the front was kind enough to help me with any questions I had. Ariel speaks English as well. I stayed in an all female dorm, there were three small fans and no open windows. The bathrooms are outside of the rooms which was not great but I didn't mind. You get pancakes and pineapple for breakfast. It wasn't visually 'dirty' but I got bedbugs bites there and one of the bathroom stunk like clogged pipes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a great time at Backpackers Manuel Antonio. Friendly staff, fun atmosphere, and awesome Tarzan rope swing.. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
6.6

I came here during low-season just for a night before going back to San Jose. The showers didn't have any hot water but luckily the humidity kept me from freezing. The hostel itself can be accessed by anyone walking on the street, which made me extra cautious of my belongings. The bar was super loud and played music until 3am. Bring a lock to store your small belongings in the lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.