Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

Best thing about staying here is the resident sloth that lives next to the hostel (ask the male owner, he speaks very good English). Dorms were clean but quite hot. Breakkie is great, 2 pancakes, pineapple and coffee/tea. Right opposite the bus stop. The facilities have potential to be amazing but just a bit disjointed-the pool is down a hill next to an empty bar, the tv room you wouldn't even know was there. Good overall though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Great service, great people, location is pretty great (Bus from Manuel Antonio - Quepos stops right in front, two supermarkets nearby, a great Taco place right next to it), Jeannet (the breakfast lady) was especially nice, she helped me grill sandwiches while she was doing the pancakes for the breakfast. Price for value is pretty great too. Would, and will, visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2017
7.1

Pool area was bizarre. Location is good to get to the park. There were mice in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
8.3

Great staff, basic room and facilities, good location next to the bus stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.7

Stayed there for a night with a group of friends and we LOVED it, everything was perfect for us and the staff were so kind and helpful. They went and bought bus tickets for us and held our stuff so we could enjoy ourselves in beautiful Manuel Antonio, we were all very impressed and happy with this place. Absolutely would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

This place is awesome, staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen provides free breakfast every morning and pleanty of space to cook your own dinners! Take time to walk down to the pool. Best views.. there were Tucans everywhere while we swam :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
6.6

This hostel was fine for the money but I don't understand why it has a high rating. The rooms smelled like urine, they drained the pool without telling us 1 day into our stay, and the internet only worked if you sat next to the reception desk. All this would be fine if I hadn't set my expectations so high. I'm most grateful for the A/C. Breakfast every morning was pancakes, pineapple, and coffee which was great. It's walking distance to many restaurants and the bus stop is very accessible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
7.1

Basic hostel but clean and comfortable. Bus stop is right outside and only costs 300 colones, and takes 10mins, to get to the beach or the national park so good value. Kitchen is nice and the free breakfast is a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
10.0

The best hostel in Costa Rica. I have stayed at this hostel over the past 8 years and every time it's been very good. Carlos is a hands on owner. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.