Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Plus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 245 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This place really is worth a stay. The staff were great, the kitchen has everything you need to cook up a good meal. The place was clean and homely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Everything was clean and bright and friendly. The bedroom was warm (once I realized I had to turn on the heat) and the bed comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice stay there ! Double room are big enough with a TV and a sink. Nice people, nice kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
7.4

During low season staff outnumber guests so the vibe is not inviting and inclusive. They seem nice enough, but I can't confirm because they spend their time huddled together or socializing with each other. Common areas are comfortable, clean. Unfortunately, the matress in dorm is nothing more than an old 3" mat on plywood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

This is a great hostel. It feels homely (nicely painted lounge area/large maps of the world and plenty of sofas). Kitchen's a big size. I was pleasantly surprised when they said breakfast was included, and opened a communal fridge that was packed with juices and milk. Toilet facilities are clean, and there's also a PC if you don't have a smart phone etc. to go on the internet. I don't think it's possible to find a fault in this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel, nice friendly atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Probably one of the best backpakers I've never been ! People are lovely, I went out with a lot of staff's members, I met a lot of guys from city with them, and we make a big party for the birthday of one of them, that was very nice ! The rooms are clean, the location is perfect, just five minutes to walk to reach the sea... in brief that was a very very pleasant trip Actually I stayed there for much longer than expected and I will return ! Thank you !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Dec 2016
8.6

Cant complain, the "breakfast" in the morning is just some toast with jam and some cerial though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.9

Great location! Was greeted by a friendly staff member, who assured me over email she would still be at reception even though I had missed my original train into Oban. Stayed in a private room which is in a building just behind the main one (so can't speak to the amenities in the main building). Room was clean and the building had a good sized kitchen and dining room. Your stay at the hostel also gets you a discount to a few of the local restaurants. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.9

The shared space upstairs is really lovely, and as an Australian I was so excited that they had Vegemite. The rooms were really cute and had little Scottish names :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.