Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers Plus

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Fab place, will go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Well what can i say, it was my first time staying in a hostel but i have to say it was pretty good. The hostel was clean and tidy, the bunks were comfy enough and there seemed to be plenty of storage space below them also. You could stick a padlock on it if you were concerned about security. The toilets and shower area were also very clean and in great condition. The location in Oban is also ideal for taking a trip into town. Free Parking if you have a vehicle can be hard to find though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here. The lockers were huge. The common area and kitchen were also big, which was nice because we were all able to hang out up there. The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom smelled strongly of mold which made me want to spend as little time in there as possible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
8.9

We only stayed one night at Backpackers Plus. Our only issue is there was not a curtain in our room so it was very bright even with a face mask! The staff was friendly and it was clean, even though the bathroom could use some updating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
10.0

Great place, recommended if in Oban.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
10.0

Loved my stay here.. wonderful place, staff and atmosphere at this hostel. Only stayed two nights while passing through, but was a welcoming place to go back to after a day of adventure. Close to the harbour, shops and supermarket just across the road. Helpful staff that assist with all the questions I had to ask

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay. Loved the rooms with under bed storage and Powerpoints and lights for each bunk. Staff were friendly and helpful and the common area had everything you'd need. Free breakfast with Vegemite for the Aussies was the cherry on top!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justinrenerson1859
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2017
10.0

One of tge best hostels I've stayed at to date. Beautiful common spaces and excellent showers. The staff was great, and by the end of my third night felt guilty not being able to say goodbye to everyone. Can't recommend backpackers plus highly enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
9.1

Great central lounge and kitchen for meeting others. Downtown location offers nearby pubs whose clients may become a bit happily boisterous into the wee hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
7.1

The staff were very helpful and the laundry service was great. The main lounge is quite nice and everything seemed to be well tended to. However, when we got to our ensuite room, we were pretty disappointed with the bed - full of springs and not very comfortable at all. Also, there was some mold in our private bathroom and in the kitchen downstairs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.