Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers San Pedro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Was pleasantly surprised. This place should definitely have a higher rating. Beds were comfy, nice communal spaces, clean bathroom and spotless kitchen. Really enjoyed stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
8.9

While slightly away from the centre of the town it wasn't a problem given the size of San Pedro. Great facilites given the desert location. Great list of tours and also discounts with local shops and restaurants. I booked a Bolivian Salt Flats tour through the hostel and found they had selected a great company to tour with and had an amazing experience. Very friendly staff who would help you with anything issues in San Pedro, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
7.1

The hostel itself is fine, though nothing special. The staff was rude! I dealt with a few different people there too. I wouldn't go back or recommend it for that reason alone. But it was also pretty far out and hard to find. I'd stay somewhere in downtown if I were to return. Also, the pool was closed when I was there because it was too dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.7

DO NOT BOOK TOURS HERE! They overcharge so heavily. Uyuni tour was 120 pesos with them, 100 in the office of the same company that they go with (=20 pesos just for the call they make??). Same counts for all other tours. Book in the city center! Con: a little run down. Cats pee everywhere & eat your food. Rooms at the reception are noisy. Only outside lockers. Grumpy staff. Too expensive for what it is. Pro: lots of common areas. Clean rooms & facilities. Nice atmosphere. No party hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location, very close to the main part of town. Staff was very helpful for organizing tours and explaining the area. I had some rude roommates, but other than that I felt very comfortable as a solo female traveler. I loved sitting outside in the hammocks after a long day running around! Only downside was that there didn't seem to be any hot water, but that was only a minor inconvenience. I loved this place and would definitely stay there again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.9

To be honest, we booked this place because it was the last option left (the cheap places book out fast). I was pleasantly surprised and think this place is better than its rating. It's expensive which is the downside but no complaints other than that. Nice rooms, outdoor space, kitchen area, good wifi, hot showers, good location. 5 min walk to the produce market which is your best chance at decent food!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
8.0

Very helpful staff, great at setting up tours. The place is a bit dirty overall, but no more so than the rest of San Pedro. Not always hot water for showers. Internet works great. Kind of far from restaurants and such, but the town is so small, the walk isn't that long. Plenty of people get up early for tours, and it gets quiet early enough to accommodate that. If you're up early, the stars make an awesome sight from the central courtyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Feb 2017
7.7

Buen ambiente. Patio muy bonito donde descansar. Baños compartidos limpios. Habitacion pequeña pero lo necesario. Un poco caro, pero todo San Pedro es caro. Comparandolo con otros precios, esta bien. Echamos de menos un desayuno pero te facilitan cafe y te por las mañanas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Feb 2017
6.0

Okay for a night if your doing the crossing into Bolivia the next day. Moon valley was loose

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
9.1

I had a great stay at backpackers! Very chill and laid back vibe where it is very easy to meet people. They have an awesome layout with plenty of common space to hang out with hammocks, a bar, fire pit, and even a pool. Everyone at the fest was extremely helpful and friendly. When my bus back to the airport was a half hour late, the guy really helped me out by making phone calls to the company at 630 in the morning! Only complaint is that the bathrooms weren't the best but it was doable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.