X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers San Pedro Reviews

Portal del Inca #486, Condeduque, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
756 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Pretty sure the sheets have never been washed, and our toilet never got fixed while we were there, but other than that, very friendly, wifi worked most of the time (you are in the desert, after all), and it wasn't really hidden so the tour company found us easily. There was construction the first morning that woke us up around 8 am, too, but I'm not certain that was the hostel's fault.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good for the money in the San Pedro area. Decent kitchen and bathrooms though not all had hot water. Internet was horrible and did not work most of the time. The common areas were pretty cool and unique. The staff is ok and will help you find tours but was generally unfriendly and passive. Also you can't bring your own alcohol but they will sell you a beer for $1000 pesos! Fine Hostal all around but not the best we stayed at.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The place was a good walking distance from the town square and the staff being the receptionist and bike hire guy were very friendly. I tried talking with the cleaner a bit but she didn't seem to want a bar of me (maybe she had a bad day). We hired bikes from the hostel for 6000 pesos for the entire day and it was money well spent for us because we'd much rather cycle around then walk in the scorching desert sun! We paid for a double room for almost $50 a room but it was very small

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There are not enough bathrooms for everyone.


77%

Really chilled hostel with lots of good space to hang out in the courtyards. It is out of the town a little but it's not far of a walk at all.


91%

Backpackers is a very fun hotel that encouraged socializing with other people. The staff was helpful in booking tours and if you booked multiple, there was a discount. The staff also shared their personal tips on how to best enjoy each landmark.


83%

For a hostel that is located in the desert , it´s pretty good. No breakfast and the wi-fi is not bad.


97%

Wonderful place to stay, people from the hostel are great, the offered tours are awesome and the ambiance the evening is just perfect ! I will come back for sure !

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. Comfortable beds, clean and tidy rooms. Friendly staff, nice fireplace and bar. Bit hard to find and out of town but not to far to walk.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

One of the toilette was closed in the night. The other was broken and the door cannot be locked. There is another one hidden in the other building. The bar always plays loud music, even when nobody is there, until pretty late, around 9-10pm maybe. wasn't sure if the bed clothes are always new for a new guest. found a hair string on the pillow.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a great time, nice atmosphere, quite well located and friendly staff. Beds were comfortable but could be cleaner. Good value for money, no doubt

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is perfect to stay in San pedro. just 5 minutes from the "center" but shops are close by and tours include pick-up there... The tours they sell are really good as they only work with company they know and with who they never had any problems. The beds are so comfy and warm.Bathroom and kitchen OK. Lockers in the common area.Hammacks, fireplace,... They rent bikes that are nearly new... Perfect!


66%

Cool hostel in general. No breakfast but thats everywhere in San Pedro. A little outside of the town center but the town is like a 5 minute walk so not a big deal. Cool bonfires with food. Would definitely go back.


94%

Nice hostel, friendly staff and cozy atmosphere.


89%

The hostel was full, with only 5 toilets!


86%

Nice place, good deals on excursions, a little expensive and out of the way.


91%

great, but difficult to find


91%

Rarely in S.A. do I come across 1 good kitchen in a hostel, but this place has 2 well stocked kitchens for use. The nightly campfires really adds to the atmosphere. The staff were great, and if you like cats, this is your place. One suggestion is to add a sign on the road for people looking for the hostel as it can be a bit tricky to find as there aren't labelled street names where the hostel is. Definitely recommend staying there.


80%

Can't expect much being in the desert but a good hostel. Clean and warm showers. Warm beds too.


83%

Great hostel and they accomodated our large group very well. I loved the bonfires at nights. They also were super helpful booking tours especialy for our 10+ person group!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all San Pedro de Atacama Hostels

Please give us your feedback