Hostelworld.com

Backpackers St. Pauli

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1630 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • francescolaros1505
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.3

The hostel is alright and located in a great position in S.Pauli. The main drawbacks are that a luggage room is missing and the reception opens at 9 on sunday, you cannot check out or have breakfast earlier. Recommended only for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. If you would have read the Hostelworld description you may know that we don't provide a luggage room. The opening times during low season are announced too. A check out is of course possible if you did not use a locker key. (because of the deposit) Bringing down bedlinen, putting keycards in the locker and you are ready to leave. Easy, isn't it? :) Safe travels. Tanja

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.1

The shower door is broken and also the shower hanger. It would also be nice if every bed has their own plug to charge their respective phones. I like however size of the locker and bed. The locker is big enough to store big backpacks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. I have informed the housekeeping to check and maintain your mentioned issues. About the plugs: We provide power strips at reception for the usage upstairs. Safe travels Tanja

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.0

the bathroom was always smelly and the shower drain was clogged all the time, you have to hold the shower head with your hand since it doesn't have a stand, water temperature wasn't really steady. There was only 3 plugs in the room that is for 8 beds. On the last day of our stay we were locked out of the hostel because someone misprogramed the keycards, we were left out at 2 am in freezing temperature. We had to look for a hotel nearby and then they refused to reimburse us for the full amount.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize deeply for the keycards. This is something what never should happen. Nevertheless there was a hostel just near ours (on the other side of the road where the hotel was which you preferred to take) If you prefere to take a hotel instead of an existing 24hrs open hostel we don't see the proportionality concerning the price. So you got the price of the hostel plus of course the money you paid for the bed here. We think this is enough apologizing. (we just ask ourselves how you got into the hostel during the day? cards should not have worked since 12 according to our system)

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.3

Door required skill to open with noone to help you after 10pm, staff friendly but not forthcoming with advise etc. Very out of the way for the city centre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your stay at Backpackers St. Pauli. The district of St. Pauli belongs to the city centre aswell. Plus its located between two very popular areas for party, shopping and alternative nightlife. About the staff i must apologize if you did not get all the informations you needed. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

This hostel is adorably shabby-chic, basically. Great value for money, lovely atmosphere and you can't beat the location - 10 mins to both St. Pauli or Reeperbahn and about 15min by bus and underground to the main station/city. The room, bathroom and bed were clean, the shower was a bit beaten down but worked fine. The bunk beds are sturdy but they kinda shake when trying to get into the top bunk :) The bar/cafe/reception/breakfast room on the main floor is small and cozy. Will come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Very helpful and chilled out staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Had a very fun karaoke night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.4

I had a really pleasant stay in a four-person room, the linens and bathroom were very clean, and the check-in/check-out was efficient and friendly. Very well-run, safe, clean. I would definitely recommend this one to a friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • caylandia
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice and clean hostel with comfortable rooms. Even though it's a very small place, all the other aspects such as cleanliness, comfort and location make up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Other than the doors being kinda difficult to open, I had no other issue with this place. I only stayed there for one night and my room was mostly empty. Definitely would recommend if you want to be close to St Pauli and Reeperbahn.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.1

Near the Reeperbahn so plenty of bars for the evening. Also st Pauli is a nice area off the tourist trail. Just a couple of stops on the train to the centre. Fairly basic, but overall nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.