Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers St. Pauli

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1708 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Lobby/sitting area is pretty small and felt a bit cramped when larger groups were in there and around the bar. Rooms were spacious as well as the lockers, however my locker was broken and i don't think ever fixed while I was there. The kitchen and common area downstairs were nice, but it could have been cleaned more often (mainly people not cleaning up after themselves). Location is a bit far from u bahn stations and the city center, but it's a beautiful area to walk through, so I didn't mind!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.9

very nice place to stay, great location and helpful staff, look forward to staying there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
7.7

Hostel is clean and has a great location (10 mins from Reeperbahn). However, there was quite a poor environment to meet fellow travelers. There is a small common area in the basement, however no one was really there all weekend. If you're looking for a quite place to stay, this is ideal

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your stay. You were staying on a weekend where we hosted several small groups of 3-5 people. They preferred to explore Hamburg instead of staying all day in the hostel. Sometime it helps to spend a bit time at the bar to get infos and maybe make contacts. Just a thought. Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Great time! The only problem my group had was lugging or luggage up three flights of very narrow stairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. The kitchen is an alternative option to store luggage. Its just by the mentioned stairs. ;)

18th Apr 2017
8.6

Good hostel nice value. Fun neighborhood everything I'd want in a hostel Only complaint was the door handles and trying to get in the room was a pain at times. Everything else was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were mostly in working order although the shower head in the dorm bathroom could not be attached to the wall and the toilet seat was not fixed down. It is easy to meet other travellers as this is a proper backpackers hotel, as opposed to a youth hostel. It can get noisy outside from local people in nearby bars, so if you are light sleeper you might get disturbed. Security is good and you get a locker for a €5 deposit. Well situated to sights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel in a great neighborhood. Really friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds, etc. A great value in a great city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Location is ideal if you are here for a partying / site seeing visit. Only downside was that the handle for shower in our room was broken, so you had to physically hold it up with your hand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location, staff and place. Good for solo travel or with a group. Should be made more clear though about check in times and reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.7

Nice place, friendly staff, great location in Bohemian area of Hamburg. Will stay again if I'm in Hamburg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.