Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers St. Pauli

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Backpackers St. Pauli Located at Bernstorffstrasse 98, , Hamburg.
Backpackers St. Pauli
Germany
Hamburg Hamburg 22767 Bernstorffstrasse 98
83% 1611
53.5571850 9.9584470
Backpackers St. Pauli
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Other than the doors being kinda difficult to open, I had no other issue with this place. I only stayed there for one night and my room was mostly empty. Definitely would recommend if you want to be close to St Pauli and Reeperbahn.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.1

Near the Reeperbahn so plenty of bars for the evening. Also st Pauli is a nice area off the tourist trail. Just a couple of stops on the train to the centre. Fairly basic, but overall nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
6.3

Room was too small for 6 people, not enough space for belongings. But it's quite cheap place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your stay and review. Every guest has a locker, where belongings can be stored. A key is available for a deposit of 5€ at reception/bar.

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Well, probably best hostel we've ever been to! Great experience, met a lot of amazing people, incredible nice staff, all of them, GREAT mexicana hahaha. Everything was perfect: location,atmosphere, rooms, beds, bathrooms, great breakfast. The big bonus was the terrace in our room. But of course, what makes every experience count are the people. So definitely would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
8.3

One of the best backpacker hostels I have ever stayed in Europe. Great facilities, comfortable rooms and a small but cozy common area to chat up fellow travellers. The area might seem a bit dodgy at night given its closeness to Reeperbahn etc, but I felt quite safe most of the time. Would stay again here if I came back to Hamburg.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
8.0

Very friendly, inclusive and helpful staff. Although I was there over the quiet Xmas period, staff invited us to an Xmas eve BBQ and nice people. Location is a bit of a walk from the nearest U Bahn but isn't terrible. Facilities were standard for hostel of this price. Overall good place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
5.7

A hostel that to be honest seemed past it's prime. I don't know if I just visited at a bad time but the place was empty apart from a few fellow Aussies who I hung out with. The one staff member I saw there was not bothered to provide me with much more than a room key, which are actually really confusing to use. €3 for sheets is an annoying charge for something that is standard kit. Don't recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review. You stayed for one night two days before christmas eve which is in germany the main holiday. It's not a bad time - it's a quiet time. Bedlinen is announced as not included so the charge was known beforehand. Bedlinen is free if you stay three nights which you did not. I apologize for the staff which missed to provide you with informations. I can assure you that is not our style. safe travels. Tanja Bahr Hostelmanager

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
10.0

Nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Really great place. 8 bed dorm was spacious and beds comfortable. The added safety benefit of a bit locker was also appreciated. The bar down stairs is a great place to meet people and the location is good, walkable into the Altstadt in 40 mins or a 5 min walk from the Reeperbahn. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Backpacker's St Pauli is a beautiful hostel staffed by welcoming, open minded people. I stayed for the weekend and had no problems checking in, receiving appropriate linens and getting to me room. The bathrooms and rooms were kept very clean (although some people staying there do not treat it as they should). The area is not far at all from the Reeperbahn and is very close to an subway station that can easily take you all over Hamburg. The kitche. And lounge downstairs was also wellkept.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.