Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers St. Pauli

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Staff was talking to friends at the bar and took very long to acknowledge and check us in, room was good but the bed linens they said would be in locker werent and the locker was broken. Not many facilities but location was great, walking distance to all near sights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome location in the trendy St Pauli area, close to downtown. Spacious rooms with balconies and big lockers. The bar was very cozy and a good place to have a quiet beer and meet people in the evenings. Only thing I would skip is the breakfast, which is somewhat lacking in substance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
7.1

A more than adequate place to sleep if you're not looking for an experience. Glad for the lockers. Caution: another visitor had her mobile/ cell stolen from the room. It's up to people to close doors and be secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your stay. If doors are blocked with paperbins etc it is of course not safe. We changed our locking system so doors are safe if used correctly. Anyway we regret the lost of the property. We always recommend to lock belongings. Especially if you leave your room.

8th Mar 2017
9.1

Clean beds and bathrooms. Wifi was reliable in the room. Location is not ideal, far from supermarkets and city center. Bus stop within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay. Our hostel is located in a residential area. According to Google maps the Rindermarkthalle (Aldi, Edeka, bakery etc) is 650m away which is a walk about 10 minutes. Yes we are not beside main station or townhall but in the center of the most popular areas of Schanze and St. Pauli. Close to Reeperbahn, harbour and Altona. Safe travels. Tanja

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
6.9

The hostel is in a good location and there are many things that are walking distance or easily reached with the underground. The kitchen facilities are quite good and although we didn't go to the bar at reception we heard from others that it was good. The only issues were that once the bathroom has been used by 1 person it is essentially flooded, so in a room of 8 it wasn't ideal. Plus the 2 lockers we had opened with the same key which was a little worrying in terms of security

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Feb 2017
9.4

Good security. Awesome atmosphere with a clean kitchen and large table for socializing. Bar/cafe upstairs was welcoming and a good starting point for meeting people. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had an awesome time. Would come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.7

Cheap and convenient in the middle of St. Pauli district. A few blocks away from Millerntor Stadion and the Reeperbahn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, pretty good location for going out, very close to all the nightlife. I went in late February and there was almost nobody there, which on the one hand was sad because there was nobody with whom I could explore Hamburg's famous nightlife, and there was just zero atmosphere, but on the other hand, I booked a 6-person room and got it all to myself for both nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
9.4

Cool hostel in a cool area. Bar had an interesting vibe. Not new and polished but with character and comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • francescolaros1505
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.3

The hostel is alright and located in a great position in S.Pauli. The main drawbacks are that a luggage room is missing and the reception opens at 9 on sunday, you cannot check out or have breakfast earlier. Recommended only for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. If you would have read the Hostelworld description you may know that we don't provide a luggage room. The opening times during low season are announced too. A check out is of course possible if you did not use a locker key. (because of the deposit) Bringing down bedlinen, putting keycards in the locker and you are ready to leave. Easy, isn't it? :) Safe travels. Tanja

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.