Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers St. Pauli

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1859 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2017
6.9

Main negative is rude staff...also booked 2 nights, had to change rooms after the first night and couldn't get into our second room until 3pm. I've stayed in hostels all around the world and never had to pay for bed linen either. Good location though, 10 min walk to Reeperbahn.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.3

Had a good stay in this hostel. It's easily accessible from the Reeperbahn station, and the Ubahn to the main station is only 5 minutes or so. It's a very secure hostel, with key cards on the main door and then also each room. I arrived late and left early, so didn't have the opportunity to use the facilities. The bar below was a little pricey, but handy nonetheless.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
8.9

The location of this hostel is really perfect, 5 min walk to Sternschanze and the Dom, 10 min to the Reeperbahn, that was really awesome to be able to do everything by walking. It is clean and secure, the breakfast is basic but convenient. I think there are no activities in the evening in the hostel, but anyway you don't need it, you are in Hamburg! :))

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
6.6

The hostel is really well located, at a walking distance from the city center. The yard behind is really cosy and the general state of the hostel is good. The bedrooms are clean. We were upset by the way we were treated though. The staff was not welcoming. Actually they didn't talk to us at all and if so, on a rude tone. One of the staff member has even threathened us to kick us out. I don't think of myself as being disrespectful though. So, good place, bad experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guests, first of all i would like to apologize to you about the behaviour of my staff member. As our neighbourhood is pretty sensible after all the G20 summit, we have to care about loudness. In your case the noise was too much so neighbours called already. This is of course no argument to be rude. My experience with you was pleasant during our quick chat at night where i tried to explain instead of my staff member what it was all about. Safe travels, Tanja

  • mbreslin212828
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Short walk from Reeperbahn station. The neighbourhood is quiet with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were friendly and the hostel bar was cool. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
5.1

Die Zimmer sind ziemlich staubig, WC und Dusche aber noch relativ sauber. Sehr kalter und unsympathischer Empfang. 15 Minuten vor dem Check-out wurden unsere Schlüssel zum Zimmer desaktiviert.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.4

The breakfast buffet for just 5 bucks is amazing!! Also the 8 bed dorm had an ensuite bathroom, very cool. Overall excellent value for money (although it seems like prices vary depending on the day of the week).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexsm
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.1

I stayed here once and ended coming back three times. The atmosphere and staff are amazing. I felt at home. 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2017
9.4

Location is great, it's close to two different but fun neighborhoods. Everything was clean and in good condition. It wasn't too big and had a good vibe for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Great hostel in a really cool location. Lot's of restaurants, bars, cafes and boutique shops around. It's easy to get into the city to see all the sights and the hostel is comfortable and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.