Hostelworld.com

Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken)

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 2,258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 2,258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.5
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken) Located at Alpenstrasse 16, , Interlaken.
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken)
Switzerland
Interlaken 3800 Alpenstrasse 16
93% 2258
46.6844082 7.8618121
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof (Hostel Interlaken)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
10.0

A good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Staff was so happy and helpful. Facility was very clean and well organized. We would stay here again. Location was perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Very good hostel. In close proximity to just about everything you need/want. The staff were quite helpful as one of them recommended an awesome hike for me. My only knock was that it does have a hotel feel to it as it hosts a lot of families (slightly contradictory to the name "Backpackers Hostel"). Regardless, I would definitely stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
10.0

Front desk staff so helpful and friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.6

This place is great in ALMOST every category. Perfect location in city centre, amazing helpful staff, nice facilities. But the breakfast was quite limited - only toast and muesli. Also I would not call this a backpacker's hostel. There were a few backpackers, yes, but mostly tourists from Asia with giant suitcases, families with small children, and school groups of adolescents. Several of my roommates were unfamiliar with polite hostel etiquette and were inconsiderate of others in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.6

Amazing place. Can see why it was rated #1 hostel in Switzerland!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jun 2016
9.4

Expensive but excellent hostel, right in the middle of town. Unfortunately I had really rude roommates, which was a downer, but the hostel itself is amazing - super clean with great facilities (including a free laundry) and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.4

This hostel was amazing! The nicest staff that will help you with anything you need. The hostel was very very clean and there was a good breakfast in the morning. Location is 5 min walk from town. Only thing is the atmosphere is not very social, lots of Korean and Asian people that stick with there groups but totally worth the stay in this great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.9

The staff is the highlight of this hostel. They are fabulous, very friendly and knowledgeable. They were very helpful with maps and ideas for different hikes and outings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.0

The staffs were very welcoming, the amenities are as shown in the pictures. However, most of the Korean guests are very inconsiderate, they tend to occupy many of the facilities (kitchen, laundry facilities) causing much inconvenience to others and making the atmosphere less happy. We cannot not fault the hostel for this. Overall, we had a great time in Interlaken, apart from living with discourteous guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.