Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 631 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
73% 631
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.1

Not the most clean or fancy but it's a hostel and there are beds to sleep on. Don't expect much other than that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
8.9

Stayed there 1 night with my 17 yr old daughter and her friend. Great location at the heart of downtown. Had a little difficulty finding the actual hostel. We were right across the street and couldn't see it. Sign is tucked in to the stairwell. It is above 2 restaurants. Bring your own lock for the lockers. Very nice entertainment room. Extremely helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

The hostel is great value for money. The staff were extremely welcoming and very relaxed. I was in a mixed six bed dorm and had no issues except for the room was very bright in the morning so I'd recommend one of the larger rooms if you like to sleep in. Lockers are provided in the rooms and you can buy locks for $5. Kitchen facilities are basic but sufficient for basic cooking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
7.1

We saw cockroaches in the room, toilet and kitchen. The guy asked me to change from my girls room to a mixed one without reason. Only good thing its location! no need of transport

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.4

This is an outstanding hostel with a perfect location and lovely staff. I stayed there for two days and really enjoyed it. The hostel is right in downtown Toronto so you are able to visit most spots with ease. Although it's not super big and with limited rooms but people there are all very nice, ready to answer all your questions. All in all, it's a hostel worth recommending without any doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.7

I really liked the place and the people there were amazing! It's comfortable and I would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.9

Good hostel, right across the road from the greyhound coach station, if that's how you arrive in Toronto. There's a market just down the road, the hostel was clean and up together, the staff are helpful they'll even do your laundry if you pay them to. Good facilities: kitchen, bathroom, showers and a tv room. Oh and wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
8.9

I have a great time at BOD. The staff are amazing and the location is great. The only issue for me, specially for being a woman, is that there were only two toilets for all the people, in addition to extra two showers. But in general I did not wait in line for using it so it ended up not being so bad as I thought it would be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.4

The hostel was small and made me feel I'm home. In terms of security, they do not provide a key to the room or the entrance for the guest. No towel provided. The hostel is located on one of the main street in downtown of Toronto and I saw many restaurants on the way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
6.0

Nice enough staff. One guy is quiet and not social. Most are volunteer workers. Cockroaches are rampant all over the kitchen and bathrooms. You kinda get used to them. They say it's because of the restaurants below them. Carpets in the dorms are filthy. Needs vacuum or new floors. Kitchen is tiny. Bathrooms and showers are tiny. Reminds me of my uncles apartment. Location is good. The hostel makes you want to be outside. And there's lots to see and do in Downtown TO.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.