Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
71% 704
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
2.0

Worst place ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.7

This hostel is superb! Location, location, location!!!! Staff is amazing as so is the atmosphere. I saw the occasional small bug which is not a problem whatsoever, but keeps it from a perfect score. I thoroughly enjoy my stay here and cannot tell you how important it is to stay in this Hostel when in Toronto!! Thank you staff for such a great stay and I sincerely hope I can come back once back someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
4.9

Awful hostel. An absolute dive with cockroaches everywhere in the bathrooms and the kitchen. Some staff were great, others very unenthusiastic and difficult to deal with. There were loud, vocal arguements between some guests. The mattresses and beds were uncomfortable, plastic lined and unstable. Most guests seemed to live there semi permanently so there was no social vibe. Very bad place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
6.0

This is a good place, with very different people. The location is amazing, close tô the main points of the City.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel will definitely stay there again! Awesome staff. Great location. Right near the greyhound station! A short walk from Dundas square & the eatin centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
3.7

I cannot in good conscience recommend this place to anyone. Not enough room to write all the problems. -Cockroach on the breadboard, 3 in the microwave. 1 up my leg. - 5:30am: screaming by a maybe literally insane woman, then incoherent loud rambling. For about 10 minutes. - no room for storing ingredients, despite 8 people in a 20 person place it was stacked. - next guest said she was in a mental asylum once. - internet is broken on desktop - offered 1 day refund of 7. Never got it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
7.1

Good location. No frills but does the job. Could really use more toilets though...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bexie21
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
6.9

It was fine for a night. We booked a female room and ended up in a mixed room. Bedding was good. Busy street loud, blinds had broken so a lot of light was coming through. Shower was dirty. Otherwise we were out of the hostel most of the time. Fine sleep just wear headphones and an eye mask. I had a pretty good sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
6.6

I never saw so many cockroaches in any other hostel in any country I visited,they are everywhere, kitchen,shower and toilets. If you and cockroaches are not the best friends,skip this hostel. The water presure was awful and it's frustrating when in the middle of shower the water stops to flow. Beside the staff are helpful and beds convenient,the location is perfect.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
5.4

Very small place. Some of them seem to be living for a while. The place is messy near their beds, and with foul odor. Saw a couple of cockroaches as well. They need more washrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.