Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.7

Kind staff, great location and nice environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
3.7

I checked in at 11am. The front desk agent was seemingly unimpressed. He completed the check in process and gave a tour without smiling once. The whole event last about 5 minutes and before the end I saw cockroaches crawling up the walls. For $30 downtown I wasn't expecting the Shangri La but I was really disappointed with this hostel. I ended up taking up a friends offer to stay with her in Oshawa because an hour by train away from the city was better than sleeping here. It's not worth it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
4.0

Dirty, absolutely no security. Someone could've just walked in from outside into my room and stolen my laptop. Not cool

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.4

A friendly, helpful place--lots of cheap tasty eats nearby. Down-side: blinds in womens room dont cover whole window: I got a bunk with the streetlight shining in my eye all night, bright enough to read by. I didnt get a whole lot of sleep as a result. By choosing some bunks in the room, you could avoid being illuminated by as if by spotlight all night --there just wasnt much choice by the time I arrived. It'd be great if they can fix the blinds to cover whole window!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2017
4.6

I don't recommend this hostel to anybody at all, I can say this worst hostel that I have seen in my all trips. Noisy, music, people talking loudly after midnight. Rooms are not locked. I spent 1st night in room with non-travelers so the room dirty, not organized, people enter & get out alot so you cannot sleep. Mattress are not comfortable, sheets are very old. Good thing about this hostel the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
6.0

The enviroment is not only travellers amd young people, also some old people living there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
6.3

it was an average hostel - it does seem to be more an office space than a hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • tjsgml87
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
4.6

좀 별로예요. 처음에호스텔아닌줄알았어요. 엄청작고. 매트리스 푹푹꺼지고.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dekimmen8843
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

One of the guys at the reception was helpful, another was listening to music and often kept his headphones on while talking to guests or was on his facebook. There were a couple of rather weird people in the hostel because of the lower price they have; some people stay there for months which kills the atmosphere. I didnt see cockroaches but the place was not clean, bedsheets were old and the room felt like a mess. The shower was below standards as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
7.4

The location is super convenient , the insulation is not too good tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.