Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2017
6.0

Not really much atmosphere ..: only two toilets! requested to have shoes off? Good location really Central.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2017
4.9

The hostel is in a good location, not to far from the bus station and shopping centre. Hostel isn't clean and there's only two toilets/showers for the entire place. Was checked in and shown around by someone staying there, not the owner- who didn't engage with me once during my stay. He stays in his own next to one of the dorms and has a bathroom and fridge in the public space that no one is allowed to use. CCTV everywhere just makes you not feel welcome.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2017
3.4

The storage room is the living room to which everyone has access to. You have to take off your shoes to which everyone has access to as well. The facilities are dirty, the carpets are covered in stains and the staff minds their own business and doesn't really care. I paid 38$ for a 6-bed mixed and believe that this was overpriced for a hostel like that. The only positive point is the location, which is central on Dundas Street.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Sep 2017
8.6

This place is alright for a few nights. The staff are absolutely awesome (especially Patricia) and the whole place has a homely feel. There are long-termers but don't let that get to you, they're lovely and will answer your questions happily. I bonded with one guy over the really (and I mean really) bad snorer in our room! It's an office space turned into a hostel but it serves it's purpose. I saw staff disinfecting beds and doing the laundry so it is clean! Definitely needs renovations though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2017
2.3

There's a huge mess around this hostel, full of bugs everything so sketchy. Actual office facilities full of beds, antisocial staff you say hello they stare at you looking like if you were E.T. STAY WOKE!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2017
7.4

The experience is good because of the people who stayed there. It's kind of cool to meet people from other regions,had great conversation and exchange of stories of travelling experience. Special thanks for to Staff from Germany, Patricia Keblowski who was always nice, friendly, helpful, informative. She was always cleaning the place. Unfortunately, the place was old building, some insects came on the bathroom despite she cleaned most of the time. The owner should call for home pest control.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2017
7.1

Cosy little place. Location good, right next to the bus station!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2017
6.0

Meh... Friendliest and most helpful "staff", didn't actually work there and were guests I had mistaken for workers. Although workers do rotate over time so definitely don't base a decision off my personal experience please.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
5.7

There's no key to the doors which means anyone can walk in a grab your stuff and no lockers in rooms. Very small hostel, didn't appear clean and staff weren't very welcoming.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
7.4

The location is super covenient, very close to coach station, underground and railway. Cleaning: I found the place very clean, there's a "no shoes" policy and I've seen staff cleaning multiple times per day. Fast internet. Downside: old/cheap/shabby furniture. I don't mind small except for kitchen space. Security: as of 08/2017 reviews still hold true, only main door locked at night; there are lockers available for your valuables (they normally offer locks but were currently restocking).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×