Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.4
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
73% 660
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
4.0

This hostel was one of the worst I've ever stayed at - out of hundreds. When I showed up they informed me they had overbooked the hostel and I didn't have a bed. As it was Saturday night in Toronto everything else was booked, so I asked if they could contact another person who hadn't showed up yet, who ended up cancelling and I was able to stay, but in the mixed dorm not the female dorm I requested. The beds were noisy,overall it was not a good experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
7.7

This hostel was perfect for one night: close to downtown and the Eaton Centre, plus the bed was comfortable enough and I slept well. There were a few downsides: while there are several showers, there is only one toilet. This wasn't a problem for me, but it could turn into one. It's one a busy street, so it can be noisy; bring ear plugs. Also be aware that you have to take off your shoes inside; bring socks/slippers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.3

Pretty awesome. Easy to get to. Bang in the centre of everything. Clean and cosy. Can't grumble too much

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2016
7.7

It is very good location, but for such price you get what you get so cannot conplain

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
5.7

Gets the job done if you need a place to stay, but the vibe is awkward. Probably wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
5.7

There we no locks on the bedrooms and hardly any hot water (showers were freezing!), bug infestation in the bathroom, the staff febreezed the sheets in front on us after pervious occupants use and put them back on the bed, it seemed everyone who stayed their worked there. The living space had someone sleeping in it most nights which was very uncomfortable. Didn't feel safe or comfortable in the slightest! Would not recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
7.1

I stayed 2 nights in a female dorm and it was nice. They take hygiene very seriously and disinfect the bed after every stay. The location is good but be prepared to encounter some unpleasant individuals hanging out by the front door.. The kitchen is very small, so cooking wasn't really an option for me. The washrooms are few but the cleanliness was alright. The hostel is quite small with a big table as a common area in the middle, which makes it very easy to get to know other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
7.1

Not the most clean or fancy but it's a hostel and there are beds to sleep on. Don't expect much other than that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
9.1

They should be careful about cleanliness. Since the hostel is on the second floor on top of two restaurants, this is a critical issue

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
6.9

The location is great! Rooms are adequate, but the common areas, including the bathrooms and showers, leave much to be desired. Would recommend to a traveler who is not shy about staying in a no frill hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.