Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
4.6

No locks on front door or dorm doors, meaning very easy for anyone to walk in. Staff were very unfriendly and not particularly welcoming. The cleanliness was quietionable, everything was rather old and falling apart and needed a good scrub. Very good location though, just a few minutes walk to Dundas square!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

I read the reviews and thought 'how bad can it be?'. I am so glad I ignored the negatives listed and just turned up. The staff could not have been nicer, more helpful and kind. They really helped me out of a tight spot. Also, the other guests were pretty awesome. I had a great time, definitely recommend if you are more interested in experiences than appearances. Thanks a lot Backpackers on Dundas!! Sharon (from Australia)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Jul 2017
4.0

Hostel is too dirty and rundown. You dun feel secured as you dun need a key to access the hostel and the room. There is no electrical point for charging for guest sleeping on the upper bunk. When I tried to borrow the extension cord they dun even hv it. The people who work in e hostel dun seem friendly too. And the room is small. There are people who seem to stay there Long term so room is messy n cramped. Anyway there are lots of better hostel elsewhere. Dun stay in this rundown hostel!!!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2017
6.3

Basic and small with an unkempt appearance. Bathrooms are small and i saw at least one roach-like bug.I wouldn't be able to stay for more than a couple days but the location is great if you want to spend a couple days in the city. They lock the door after 11pm but there are no locks on the dorms and no security lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
5.7

The hostel was not clean and it did not have a good vibe. Location great but I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
3.1

Location is great but the staff is not friendly at all. I felt unwelcome immediately. The facilities were severely lacking and I i kept getting bit by something in my sleep and woke up with sores on my body the next day. I would never stay there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jul 2017
4.6

Some constructive criticism: cleaning bathrooms and shower facilities daily would be welcomed. I didn't see anyone doing any cleaning on the site during my stay here. Put some more pictures on your website of the actual hostel as all I could see were people enjoying themselves outside of the hostel. Good point: location is ideal for most tourist-type activities and if you want shopping- it's just on your door step.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
6.6

It is in a very good location and it is cheap. But, it's also small, the mood wasn't that good and I did not feel comfortable about the electrical instalations, it did not look safe. Basicly, for that price is Ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Jun 2017
6.3

Staff was friendly but not very helpful. It looked like they don't know the city themself. Saw a little cockroach in one of the toilets. Location is good, pretty close to the greyhound busterminal, but also close to a shopping mall and the city hall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
6.9

Small... Cute and cosy.... I really enjoyed the staff.... Branca... Ran and bavin were simply awesome!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.