X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers on Dundas Reviews

126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
521 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

There are no locks for luggage unless you have a very small piece with you. There are many bugs in the restroom, I hope not that many in the bedroom.


83%

Great place to stay, the staff was very friendly and it was located in the middle of downtown. The facilities were also very clean and well kept

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place to stay! Very friendly staff that wanted to be your friend and a decently spaced area. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.


86%

Simple and basic hostel. It's a pretty small hostel all round except the rooms. Plenty of space for a couple of bags per person. 2 rooms are on the street front so ask for a back one if your a light sleep. All in all I'd rate in 7/10.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, close to Eaton Mall and many restaurants, cafes and stores and very friendly and helpful staff. However, the bathroom was outside from bedroom and it;s too tiny for shower.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I think that the kitchen a bit small. also there is no room for locking the bags. the staff are excellent.


94%

Everything was so clean, the staff were all really friendly. It would have been nice to have tea or something available to make it feel more welcoming. It was nice to have access to the kitchen facilities. I liked the shoe rack, it made me feel at home. The entertainment room looked nice, but I didn't have time to use it.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

I would not stay here again. There were tons of cockroaches all over the room and bathroom. They had a white powder I presume to be cockroache bait in the rooms that got all over my clothes and bag. The staff were not that pleasant to deal with. The location is perfect though for access to greyhound.


86%

Excellent location and very friendly staff. Only problem is the cockroaches we saw in the bathroom which give an unclean appearance. Better if you eliminate the plague! Thanks for the rest!

  • 11th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was really nice and the location is perfect for a trip to the city. Unfortunately there were some ants running around in the bathroom/kitchen. The staff was really nice.


54%

One toilet for the whole hostel. shower pressure was absolutely horrible. seemed to be more staff than guests, and was hard to tell who was on duty. Barely any space to store things in the tiny fridge as most guests are relatively long term and had alot of food.


91%

Nice hostel, the 10 person dorm is really packed and the community area has no windows, small kitchen with everything you need.


37%

Terrible hostel: insects at washroom,fried smell from kitchen and if you want to lock your items you have to buy locker at shop


57%

Security was ok. Location was not bad, close to some good attractions and to the subway, but still being a weird neighborhood. Staff was the worse, they basically new nothing about the city. We asked for a good place to hangout during the night and end up in a even more weird street, nothing made for tourists, we had to find a cab and the driver was able to take us to the right place. Atmosphere not good either, they make you remove your shoes to walk in the common area, like the bathrooms?!?!


66%

Excellent location for the hostel as it is in the center of the city. However, a few adjustments to the facility I believe this place could be worth more in value. There are indeed bugs in the bathroom and kitchen, but none in the bedrooms. A charge for lockers, towels, laundry and key should have been listed on the website. A more knowledgeable staff of the area to ALL guest and not a select few (had to discover eateries on my own). A FREE water cooler would be a nice touch during the summer.


46%

Cockrochers every where in thé bathroom and kitchen. I do notre recommand this hostel at all .

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Nice location. Close to Greyhound and citycenter. No real kitchen and a lot of cocroaches inside the bathroom. Only 2 toilets for 30 people and very cold rooms.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Everyone was really nice, and I always felt at home and welcome :)

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Well, everything was ok - location is very good, staff is helpful. Guys work really good - all the time they care about to clean the floor, to put new toilet paper etc... The one problem is cockroaches. Anyway, I would like to stay there again.




View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback