Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
5.7

There's no key to the doors which means anyone can walk in a grab your stuff and no lockers in rooms. Very small hostel, didn't appear clean and staff weren't very welcoming.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
7.4

The location is super covenient, very close to coach station, underground and railway. Cleaning: I found the place very clean, there's a "no shoes" policy and I've seen staff cleaning multiple times per day. Fast internet. Downside: old/cheap/shabby furniture. I don't mind small except for kitchen space. Security: as of 08/2017 reviews still hold true, only main door locked at night; there are lockers available for your valuables (they normally offer locks but were currently restocking).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
3.4

I saw like three roaches . But I loved the location . The staff was very unhelpful and didn't care about you at all besides your money. There wasn't any locks on the doors beside the front door. So anyone could come into your room at any point day or night. Barely any space to chill in. I will never stay here again nor will I ever recommend the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
7.4

Location, Location, Location! In the heart of Toronto and although there are some cheaper options in terms of hostels, you'll save on public transport costs with this as everything is in within walking distance. Right next door to the greyhound station too. Rooms are OK, probably not cleaned everyday as they state or at least that well. Very small hostel, small communal space but worth the cash for a few days downtown!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tv864123268
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
6.6

It was just that price. Not that clean bed and floor. Not that kind staff. But it was good to leave my luggages after checking out for free.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2017
6.9

Friendly place with decent location, albeit on the grubby side.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
4.6

No locks on front door or dorm doors, meaning very easy for anyone to walk in. Staff were very unfriendly and not particularly welcoming. The cleanliness was quietionable, everything was rather old and falling apart and needed a good scrub. Very good location though, just a few minutes walk to Dundas square!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

I read the reviews and thought 'how bad can it be?'. I am so glad I ignored the negatives listed and just turned up. The staff could not have been nicer, more helpful and kind. They really helped me out of a tight spot. Also, the other guests were pretty awesome. I had a great time, definitely recommend if you are more interested in experiences than appearances. Thanks a lot Backpackers on Dundas!! Sharon (from Australia)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
12th Jul 2017
4.0

Hostel is too dirty and rundown. You dun feel secured as you dun need a key to access the hostel and the room. There is no electrical point for charging for guest sleeping on the upper bunk. When I tried to borrow the extension cord they dun even hv it. The people who work in e hostel dun seem friendly too. And the room is small. There are people who seem to stay there Long term so room is messy n cramped. Anyway there are lots of better hostel elsewhere. Dun stay in this rundown hostel!!!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2017
6.3

Basic and small with an unkempt appearance. Bathrooms are small and i saw at least one roach-like bug.I wouldn't be able to stay for more than a couple days but the location is great if you want to spend a couple days in the city. They lock the door after 11pm but there are no locks on the dorms and no security lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.