Hostelworld.com

Backpackers on Dundas

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.3
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
72% 562
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
5.7

Bugs in the washrooms, shower and lounge. All these rooms are very close to the kitchen area! Only old china, cups were not really clean and not enough. I used me travel cup and travel cutlery, because I felt, that their's were to dirty. I did not really know, whom was the manager. There were many people sitting behind the desk, maybe volunteering, maybe they were paid for it. The one, I think was the manager, was not friendly. He also had an open dispute witb one of the guests, so he left...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.7

How do you count cows? With a cowculator

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th May 2016
5.1

I really wanted to like this hostel because the location is amazing...but there were cockroaches in the kitchen and mold in the bathrooms :( The rooms also don't get locked, so it doesn't feel especially safe to leave things on your bunk. Because of these things, unfortunately, I don't think I would recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
7.4

Nothing to complain about, I didn't see anything negative that's mentioned in the reviews. The room is clean, and the night is quite. It isn't perfect, but it works.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
6.9

This wouldn't be my first choice of hostel but it was very close to all the main attractions and staff kept the facilities very clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
5.1

This place was so sad. It was hard to find with no clear sign. It was extremely small and somewhat clean. The older staff were very nice and helpful but the younger guy seemed very disinterested in being there and was not very welcoming. My friend and I met some cool people in our dorm so that was nice! We were just there for one night and didn't take a shower because of the cleanliness of the place. I was a bit worried to leave my personal belongings behind but I used a locker.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
10.0

It was really great! The hostel is conveniently located on Dundas, across from the Greyhound station. The people were nice and the whole process was very smooth. We were even able to keep our belongings there for a few hours after checking out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jonahwinters
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Right downtown, cozy, friendly, affordable. Dining area, mini kitchen, laundry, and separate TV/lounge room. If the hostel is full, you might have to wait for your turn in the washroom or shower, there's only 2 of each. The only downside is overnight parking is more pricey in this area -- $24 overnight in the garage across the street, $35 overnight in the hotel garage next to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

I have chosen this hostel due to its location. Super close to bus station. Also very close to major attractions in Toronto either by subway or even walking! The guys who were working that day were very nice and friendly and willing to give advice on what to see and where to go in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • MissBanner00
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
6.0

The bad: Cockroaches, two flights of stairs and no elevator/lift miserable owner, too small, no drinks after 11, sheets that don't fir the bed, female-only room overlooks the busy street so if the light is on people can see you sleep/getting dressed from the street, lack of toilet roll... The good: the location- just next to the subway and next to the huge mall (Eaton Centre) and , heaters in rooms, TV room, large dining table, freezer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.