Hostelworld.com

Backpackers on Dundas

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
73% 545
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
9.4

Right downtown, cozy, friendly, affordable. Dining area, mini kitchen, laundry, and separate TV/lounge room. If the hostel is full, you might have to wait for your turn in the washroom or shower, there's only 2 of each. The only downside is overnight parking is more pricey in this area -- $24 overnight in the garage across the street, $35 overnight in the hotel garage next to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MissBanner00
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
6.0

The bad: Cockroaches, two flights of stairs and no elevator/lift miserable owner, too small, no drinks after 11, sheets that don't fir the bed, female-only room overlooks the busy street so if the light is on people can see you sleep/getting dressed from the street, lack of toilet roll... The good: the location- just next to the subway and next to the huge mall (Eaton Centre) and , heaters in rooms, TV room, large dining table, freezer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
8.6

We stayed in for one night. The location is perfect, 1 minute from the bus station. We were able to reach every point of interest of the city by walking. The check-out was at 11 a.m but they let us leave the backpacks and use the facilities untill 8 p.m., free of charge. The bed were confortable, the bathrooms were clean. We didn't use the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
5.1

The website says it has free parking, and that's why we chose it. However when we got there, the hostel says it doesn't have any free parking, and we need to find it by ourselves. The parking around is $6 flat rate. The first night, it was very noisy as people watched movie and played music outside the room. The most important thing is the customer service is not good. The guy at the counter didn't care about the customers and couldn't understand our request at all! Not recommended!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
5.1

Creepy, but does the job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
4.3

honestly it was not the best experience. we originally paid for an 8 bedroom dorm and we're given a 10 bedroom dorm without any warning. when I realized the "manager"(some snobby kid) said he gave us the room because there's more space when I said I wanted the room I originally paid for he said there wasn't one available. the staff walked in and out of the room all morning well before checkout to make sure people were awake and leaving. my issues weren't resolved they care only ab

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2016
6.3

There are no locks for luggage unless you have a very small piece with you. There are many bugs in the restroom, I hope not that many in the bedroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
8.3

Great place to stay, the staff was very friendly and it was located in the middle of downtown. The facilities were also very clean and well kept

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
8.3

Great place to stay! Very friendly staff that wanted to be your friend and a decently spaced area. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2015
8.6

Simple and basic hostel. It's a pretty small hostel all round except the rooms. Plenty of space for a couple of bags per person. 2 rooms are on the street front so ask for a back one if your a light sleep. All in all I'd rate in 7/10.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.