Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpackers on Dundas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 717 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.8
Backpackers on Dundas Located at 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor, Toronto.
Backpackers on Dundas
Canada
Toronto Ontario M5G1R3 126 Chestnut St, 2nd Floor
69% 717
43.6548476 -79.3862843
Backpackers on Dundas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Staff were so fun and friendly, great location and great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.0

From the bad reviews I saw on TripAdvisor I was quite scared of coming here, but it was really fine. Of course you can't expect some fancy stuff for the amount you're paying, and the place wasn't super clean, I did see some very few bugs, but that was it. Had no problem with bed bugs at all, the mattresses are covered so I don't bed bug is a real issue. And sleeping here was better than in other more expensive hostels because the beds are pretty comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Backpackers on Dundas is a truly exceptional place, filled with exceptional people. The staff is really awesome, friendly and helpful, and they really do their best to help you out and create a fun and safe atmosphere. The only downsides would be that the lockers aren't big enough to fit anything, and the cockroaches from downstairs are kind of gross. However, it's really not that bad, and it's not the hostel's fault, so do not let it stop you from coming to this great place :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
9.4

It was really a good place to live there, with friendly people. It a very comfortable place to live and I really like it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

I had a really good time there and something extremely good it's the location, very convenient. I went To all the museum and touristic area walking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
4.9

Seemed like an in between house for a lot of people. Very sketchy atmosphere and dirty. The room smelt of smoke and it was not clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
2.0

Worst place ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Nov 2016
9.7

This hostel is superb! Location, location, location!!!! Staff is amazing as so is the atmosphere. I saw the occasional small bug which is not a problem whatsoever, but keeps it from a perfect score. I thoroughly enjoy my stay here and cannot tell you how important it is to stay in this Hostel when in Toronto!! Thank you staff for such a great stay and I sincerely hope I can come back once back someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
4.9

Awful hostel. An absolute dive with cockroaches everywhere in the bathrooms and the kitchen. Some staff were great, others very unenthusiastic and difficult to deal with. There were loud, vocal arguements between some guests. The mattresses and beds were uncomfortable, plastic lined and unstable. Most guests seemed to live there semi permanently so there was no social vibe. Very bad place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
6.0

This is a good place, with very different people. The location is amazing, close tô the main points of the City.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.