NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backstreet Youth Hostel Reviews

3 Ren Min Road, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained


225 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Great hostel, knowledgeable and helpful staff. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your support and recommendation to others. =) Team Backstreet


I would improve lightning in bathroom and wifi does not work in rooms, only at reception but the rest very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestion and review. We have recently implemented LED lighting to improve energy efficiency as well as improved lighting in all the bathrooms.


Nice place to chill out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're glad you found a nice place to chill! =) Team Backstreet


The best hostel we have stayed in so far (China) It is super clean, the food is decent, the staff are excellent. They were really helpful & gave us some good trip & travel advice. Highly recommened. I did lose some things though but its my own fault for leaving it out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry that you lost some items. Be aware that there are petty thieves everywhere and that includes hostels. We hate those who steal and take the necessary steps to minimize theft from occurring with surveillance cameras installed in all public areas of the hostel. Those caught are taken to authorities. Aside from our best efforts, all guests should always be careful with their belongings, especially when traveling.


good location, bad (bed) bugs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello guest, Thank you for staying at Backstreet. We have read your review and would like to let you know that we have thoroughly examined your room and have not found any bugs of any kind. If we are to encounter such a situation, we will take all necessary action to make sure it is fixed. Any guests who have any concerns, please let our staff know and we'll do our very best to help. =) Team Backstreet


Great location and welcoming communal area for socialising. Rice paddies tour was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Could potentially do with a few more seats in the communal area, otherwise a brilliant hostel.


This was a very cozy hostel. I was so happy to lay my head down after my long train ride. The rooms were very spacious and I loved the that the shower was in the room. The hot water worked fantastic. I also appreciated that they had lockers you were not charged in anyway for. You just use the lock you brought. The computer service is also free. I ordered breakfast there and it was delicious. Great toast! The common area was really welcoming and relaxing, especially after a long day.Staff=awesome


Had a great stay

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


awesome location, great staff. value for money great!


I wish we had stayed in greenforest another night! this hostel was fine, dorms clean and comfy. the location is not as great but easy enough to find. social area is fine but they played terrible music really loudly till late at night, meaning conversation had to be shouted to be heard. Breakfast wasn't great. little things like when we were trying to talk to staff and they started having a conversation with each other from across the room for a minute before finishing answering us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for staying with Backstreet and feedback to us your opinion, it helps us to do job better. We are located in the most central area of Guilin, all attractions are in walking distance! Our guests will ask us all kinds of questions about the travel, sometimes our staff need exchange info. before we reply you only because we want to provide you the right info. We always try our best to help everyone. Enjoy your trip in China. Team Backstreet.


The common room is quiet hot to stay. They open the a/c quite late. There is not wifi signal in all the rooms. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for staying with us. The A/C will be turned on when the temperature is higher than 25 degrees. This is also required by the government because of the environment protection. We have 2 wifi in the lobby but not in the rooms, we invite everyone coming to the common area and meet people to share your traveling experience, of course if you don't want to talk to strangers you still can enjoy your own time in the lobby. Have nice trip. Team Backstreet


It looked much better in the pictures! The only good things are the staff and location. Rooms and bathrooms are not very clean; they do have some charm and tons of natural light though.


Nothing special about this hostel. The dorm I stayed in smelt quite moldy and was dark, though it did have an en suite bathroom. Wifi had facebook access but was so slow it wasn't really worth trying.


The beds are very very hard if you stay in a private room. We couldn't sleep because of it. Otherwise the hostel was clean and friendly.


A great place to stay in Guilin, in the heart of the city, nice authentic rooms and a wonderful chill out lobby area, super friendly staff and delicious food!


Quite a good location, a bit far to walk from the bus and train stations but very handy for the river and the main shopping and restaurant areas. Decent large clean rooms - average price. Food OK but nothing special, filling but a bit bland - no chillies! There's a small outside seating area. The staff were OK and reasonably friendly but didn't go out of their way to help guests.


This was the saving grace of Guilin for us. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. The atmosphere is relaxed and we would rather chill out here than head out. It is near a food street in Guilin but Guilin itself has nothing much so head out ASAP.


Nice common space: possibility to sit outside, couches, dvd area... and also nice rooms with big windows, large bed and wooden furniture. Staff was nice, but can't help us in the way we needed it. Guilin is a lovely city but one day is enough to see all. We recommend the boot trip and some days in Yangshuo.


Easily the best located hostel in Guilin. It is right in the center of downtown near plenty of shops bars restaurants and pedestrian streets. Great staff and lounge area. Beds were clean and comfortable.


Hostel in a great location very close to centre of activity yet not on a very busy street. There's a great street food market across the street for cheap eats as well! Dorm room was big and spacious and the bunk beds had privacy curtains. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

(139 results)

View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback