Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balkan Han Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jul 2017
10.0

The owner went out of his way to help me out in a difficult situation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.7

Staff were friendly and helpful. it was clean and altho not in the old city, it's very close to it. They also do daily tours and i highly recommend it - i had a great time and learnt so much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.3

Overall great hostel! The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were big and clean but we found this hostel very noisey, the room we stayed in connected the common area with another dorm so people were always coming in and out at all hours so we had a hard time getting any sleep during the 3 nights we were there. Other than that we had no complaints. Sign up for the tour they organize! Cool spot in the garden too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.7

This hostel was amazing! It was very clean and close to everything. The staff, especially Ivan, were welcoming and helpful. The tour that you can go on from this hostel is the best, do it if you stay here. Pick this hostel when staying in Sarajevo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.1

An inside common room would have been great! But I looooved the queensize bunk beds :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Had the best time at this hostel Ivan and the girls really know how to make you feel welcome. I recommend the tour they provide the tour guide Al is a star! It was by far the best tour I have ever attended. Wish I had more time there. Thanks guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Extended our stay for 2 nights because it was so nice there. The at atmosphere is amazing and the staff is SO helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Overall solid hostel. I really recommend the tour they offer of Sarajevo. They have AC in some of the rooms but wouldn't turn it on at night even if asked, which made no sense since they turned it on sometimes during the day even though there's 1-2 ppl in the room at that time. Outside of the no AC its a great place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurenkirby855975
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.7

A great little hostel located really close to the old town and all the main sites in Sarajevo. The courtyard was fantastic for having a cold beer on a hot day and meeting fellow travellers. Unkas and Ivan were amazing hosts and willing to do anything to make sure you had a great time in their city, including organising last minute tickets for a big group of us to attend the local football match (so much fun!). Air conditioning or a ceiling fan in the dorms would be good for hot summer nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Such an incredible stay at Balkan Han Hostel. Felt so welcome as soon as I arrived. Excellent staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Definitely do the tour recommended. The outdoor garden space is an excellent space to hang out, have some drinks and meet people. Location is perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.