Hostelworld.com

Balkan Han Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 411 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Balkan Han Hostel Located at Dalmatinska 6, , Sarajevo.
Balkan Han Hostel
Bosnia And Herzegovina
Sarajevo Bosnia and Herzegovina 71 000 Dalmatinska 6
94% 411
43.8603505 18.4205156
Balkan Han Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Very helpful staff (Ivan), they were excellent in helping me do everything that I wanted to do in Sarajevo. The hostel itself was bright and very clean with great beds. I will definitely stay again when I return to Sarajevo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Honestly the best hostel we stayed at! The hostel host Ivan was attentive and willing to help on any queries we had, whether it was ordering pizza or booking taxis to the bus station. This hostel is a gem in Sarajevo and truly deserves 10/10! This hostel had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere so would recommend to anyone visiting Sarajevo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel with welcoming staff that's very helpful. unfortunately it was raining most of the time during our stay but the hostel has a garden where you can relax when the weather is good. We even got a free dinner while we where there. It's close to all the main attractions. The free walking tour starts just a short walk from the hostel which is a great way to first explore the city. Can recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
9.4

The owner Unkas was so welcoming! He's been one of the best hostel owners I've ever had. This is an all around good hostel. I enjoyed the tour but was expecting more from the lunch although it was delicious. Unkas arranged for a driver to take me to the airport but next time I would just take a cab, it was more expensive than I think it should be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.1

Great location it is 5 minutes walk to the old city, very good atmosphere the owner always is there to assist if you need any information. I will definitely stay there again in my second visit in Sarejevo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostel for a good price in a nice location close to all the hot spots. Staff was friendly in helping me whenever I needed. 👍🏾

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.6

Everything is generally to a high standard. Their tour is really good and I highly recommend it. It's in a great location right in the centre of the amazing city of Sarajevo, kitchen and common areas are really nice. Few downsides - shower room is very cold even in shower. A fridge upstairs would be nice also. To be frank, the wifi is awful. Took hours to connect at times and even when it was connected was painfully slow. Bar would be nicer if it was cheaper, €1 for a small sarajevsko???

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, If a 1 € beer is too expensive, you can always buy a beer in the supermarket for 0.7 € and drink it in all the common areas of the hostel. In the case of our WiFi, you are the first one who said it was slow and that you couldn't connect, maybe there is some problem with your phone. Btw, we have three different WiFi connections, you should have asked. Cheers

29th May 2016
9.4

Unkas is a great host. He brings guests together, he's a fun conversationalist and a comfortable host. The 30€ tour is definitely worth the time and money. The beds are excellent. Garden is nice and location is very convenient. If you sleep on the bottom floor with the windows open, ear plugs are recommended as traffic is strangely loud as it zooms up the adjacent hill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

It is a great hostel. And so friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2016
9.1

We were recommended the Balkan Han from a friend. It was a really good hostel, although the shower was terrible (almost 20 seconds of warm water and then freezing cold). Staff are really nice and accomodating. They have a bar where you can get 1 Euro beers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.