Hostelworld.com

Balkan Han Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hosts I've had on my travels by far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel with awesome facilities and a very warm and friendly staff. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

This place is amazing. For me, hostels are all relatively similar. Many are clean, have good facilities, and serve the purpose of getting a nights rest. It's the people in a hostel that really make it stand out. Ivan and Unkas are amazing people, and truly make you feel so welcome. I can honestly say that I now consider Ivan a true friend of mine. I took the all day tour, which was rather expensive, but totally worth it. Thanks Ivan and Unkas for the great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel close to the city centre with comfy rooms and a cheap bar. They offer a private excursion that covers the whole of Sarajevo which I highly recommend. But the best thing about Balkan Han is the staff, especially Ivan. They make you feel like you're having a sleepover at a friend's house! Will definitely return one day, next time in the high season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

Great place. Excellent customer service. You feel like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
10.0

If you are coming to Sarajevo, look no further than Balkan Han Hostel! From the moment we stood on the threshold of the hostel (in -26 degree weather!!) to the minute we left, the hospitality and amazing experience we had is hard to describe. It was like being welcomed into the home of a very good friend!! Unkas & Ivan made our experience here one to remember. From drinking Rakija, to helping celebrate one of our Birthdays, to all the suggestions of places to eat and places to go!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
10.0

Balkan Han is truly a special place. For me, the most important part of travel is the human connection. Sarajevo is a powerful place with a history that moves you. Our experience of the city -- our impression of where it has been and where it is going -- was shaped by those we met during our stay. None were more influential in this than the staff here. Sarajevo and Balkan Han Hostel have touched my heart. Thank you Unkas, Ivan and Zlatan. Your optimism is an inspiration. We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
9.1

Pretty good !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
9.1

The staff is great, very friendly and helpful. I would strongly recommend the city tour of this hostel. Is not cheap (30 euros), but totally worth it. I normally hate tours, but the guide was really cool and drove us to the greatest spots of Sarajevo, we had beers and lunch in a great local place (everything included in the price). Basically was like having a local friend who knows the city and the recent history as well as he lived to tell. ¿Only issue?, not enough showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
16th Oct 2016
9.7

Great hostel with excellent tours on offer (Zlatan is an abolute lad). Could have a few more facilities (no toaster etc, also felt like I was going to spray water over the washing machine every time I had a shower). Would recommend and stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.