Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balkan Han Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

This was the first hostel I had stayed in in about two years. The overall rating is about 9.4 on the site so I was surprised by this hostel. The rooms smelled like BO all the time and we're not cleaned at all during our stay (just the sheets changed if someone left). The same goes for the bathroom. There is an inside lounge area but it is locked at night and inaccessible to guests, so there is nowhere to really sit at night after hours. Positives: great tour of city for guests & welcome shot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Clean, calm, very nice staff, nice garden. 100% recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Great stay at the hostel, and especially welcomed by the staff and their friendliness. For price, location and atmosphere I highly recommend as a young backpacker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is well located and the staff are fantastic. Ivan was incredibly helpful in sorting us some transport to Belgrade. There are few downsides to the hostel such as no free breakfast (rare in the Balkans), awkward corridor shaped socialising space and quite expensive laundry (€8). That said the rooms were large and clean and we were very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
6.0

Bathroom wasn't cleaned once in my four day stay. Kitchen floor was sticky and the kitchen rubbish bin was overflowing. 'Communal tables' outside left covered in ash and grime - also sticky. Kitchen appliances seriously lacking. There is no freezer, and only one seriously burnt frying pan and one fork (??). When I extended my stay in Sarajevo I booked another hostel. This place does have a good atmosphere, but mainly because of the other guests. It's dark and feels very unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • khidhir
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome location in the city. Superb host. Good atmosphere and can hang out in their chill out garden. They offer this awesome, cheap tour only for their guest. Great way to see the city and awesome tourguide Zlatan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2017
10.0

Great stay! Unkas and Ivan were very helpful, and the tour is good as well. Great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Not only is it clean, well located and very comfortable, but the hosts make it feel like a home from home. Unkas is very warm and friendly, and will really go the extra mile for you. I also hung out with Ivan, he's a really great guy who i for sure would call a friend of mine! We went to a concert/bar on the last night and had a great laugh with him and the other guests. Wonderful hostel experience, 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

The Balkan Han Hostel is an amazing place! The owner, Unkas, is so incredibly kind and generous and he treats every guest like family. He actually called the main hostel in Mostar ahead of time and reserved a room for me! The manager of the hostel, Ivan, offers a full-day tour of Sarajevo and the surrounding areas and I highly recommend that everyone takes it. The tour is very personal and you will hear tragic stories against the backdrop of a city still struggling to rebuild.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved my stay here. The hostel was great and Ivan was a brilliant host and really made my stay in Sarajevo memorable. Thanks for everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.