Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Balkan Han Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2017
10.0

amazing stay!! started my check-in process with a free welcome drink from Ivan, one of the sweetest & most helpful hosts. surprised me with a big bed which was the cherry on top! very close to the old town. hostel offers lots of services (tours, shuttles etc). rooms were extensively cleaned everyday. hot water in showers, cold drinking water. great bar downstairs in order to meet some great people. decent kitchen, great security. lockers big enough for small. bags/valuables. THANK YOU BALKAN!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hostel Balkan Han! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I made some really good friends by simply sitting in the garden ans enjoying the complimentary coffee. It's a great stop for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

Thank you for such a great stay in this wonderful city. I was very impressed by the care taken to provide a pleasant atmosphere and the kindness of the staff. One of the best in the Balkans!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

Good spot in Sarajevo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel. Lovely staff. I 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Such a great environment. Ivan is the best and is very well connected, he helped me set up the rest of my trip in the Balkans. Best hostel in Sarajevo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Excelent experience in balkan han ! Everything you expect in a hostel you will find here ! Clean, nice, well located, great people and the best backyard ! Great tour also

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Highly recommend this hostel. Was welcomed in by a Ivan's huge smile and a welcome drink, and both he and Unkas were lovely to chat to and accommodating. The facilities were clean, showers were always warm, internet worked well and rooms were clean. Location is super close to the old town, and an easy tram ride from the main bus station. Was sad to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.0

This was the first hostel I had stayed in in about two years. The overall rating is about 9.4 on the site so I was surprised by this hostel. The rooms smelled like BO all the time and we're not cleaned at all during our stay (just the sheets changed if someone left). The same goes for the bathroom. There is an inside lounge area but it is locked at night and inaccessible to guests, so there is nowhere to really sit at night after hours. Positives: great tour of city for guests & welcome shot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Great location, friendly vibes good staff who gave me all the valuable information I needed. They also run a tour of the city, clean and tidy I had no complaints and would stay here again. Thanks for the stay. Jake.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.