Hostelworld.com

Balkan Han Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5
Balkan Han Hostel Located at Dalmatinska 6, , Sarajevo.
Balkan Han Hostel
Bosnia And Herzegovina
Sarajevo Bosnia and Herzegovina 71 000 Dalmatinska 6
94% 372
43.8592869 18.4195983
Balkan Han Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
10.0

The people working at the hostel are amazing, extremely friendly and always try and bring the guests together for a better atmosphere. A bar inside with a tv and projector to watch any sporting events and a beautiful outdoor area where you can even bring your own alcohol and chill in the hammock. Good facilities and comfy beds. Location is in the center so easy access to everywhere. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice hostel with a nice relaxing backyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Great hostel and staff. Would definitely recommend it over other hostels because they set a great atmosphere. Unkas, the owner is awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
6.6

The hostel owner wasn't friendly and creepy. He wouldn't let us drink our own beer inside the hostel because he claimed his "bar" had alcohol. He made us go outside to drink and then kept yelling at us to be quiet all night because the neighbors would hear and call the police. It was a Saturday night and he could have easily let us come drink inside in his bar - we had also bought drinks from him earlier. There were also cameras all over the hostel...I don't recommend this place. NO

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry you felt this way. You are able to drink your own alcohol within the hostel common areas however in the bar we can only allow you to drink the alcohol we serve. We have a beautiful outdoor deck to enjoy during the summer and the kitchen area during colder times that you are free to drink your own alcohol within. Generally our guests appreciate the added security of our cameras to be able to track if theft of their belongings happened. All the security cameras are only located in common areas. We are located in the center of Sarajevo, which means we are surrounded by neighbors, who we have to respect. This means that after 22:30 we have to keep the noise to a respectable level. Our guests are still able to enjoy outdoor areas but must be wary of the level of noise otherwise the police will be called and the hostel fined. it is only because of this that we must tell our guests to lower their voices, but never that they must go to bed.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.7

The hostel is amazing! Extremely clean and beautiful decorated. The staff was so helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Mar 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. Probably my favourite of our trip. The owner and the staff are all excellent. They really took the time to talk and get to know you. The tour of the city was great and very handy as we didn't have a car. This meant we saw things we probably wouldn't have seen easily otherwise. Communal areas were great and the beds comfy. This probably won't be the last time in my life I will stay here :) Thanks guys for a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessicacapo
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jan 2016
10.0

Unkas was amazing! We were the only ones in the hostel at the time, but he made us feel very welcome. He gave us welcome drinks and a map to show us all of the local places in Sarajevo, and we enjoyed every recommendation of his. The room was very nice, he upgraded us to a bed instead of two twin beds. We accidentally booked for the wrong day, and he accepted us anyway without a problem. We loved our stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2015
10.0

Thehostel was excellent. Caring and attentive If i could give a numeric score it would be 100%! Ivan was a marvellous host

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2015
8.0

Really nice hostel very close to the center. Nice staff and good red wine :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.