X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Balmers Herberge Reviews

Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3827 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The hostel was a fun place to be, with its own bar and lots going on and a good atmosphere. Security was not so great - there were no lockers in the rooms, just some you had to pay by the hour for. It is located about 20 mins walk from each of the train stations. The staff were all friendly if you had any questions. The cleanliness of the rooms is good, but the bathrooms are not so good - the shower next to our room didn't drain well so it was full of water with hair floating in it.


83%

Good hostel, bit of a walk from town but good for getting up to the mountains.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are situated a short 15 minute walk from either train stations however there are regular local busses (we provide you with a free bus pass for the duration of your stay) and taxis too.

71%

Although there is a bus stop in front of the hostel, the buses' schedule is only till 7pm, after that, i have to walk from the train station for 25mins. Overall, it is of value to stay.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

little noisy and uncomportable bed. :-( wifi is good..

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy to set up excursions and activities. Awesome environment!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A confortable hostel for backpackers located in a place a bit far from station (15 min walk) a lot of korean and asian people which will give an advantage to them. The sound isolation system is not so perfect so you will hear your neighbours easily during the days and our room was just adjacent to the men WC, bravo! The rest are okay, the staffs are nice and helpful, the breakfast is free, which is not normal in interlaken, in spite of quality, it is quite appreciable to enjoy the stay here.


86%

We got great recommendations from the staff, which was really helpful seeing as it was a pretty cloudy/rainy day and it wasn't obvious what to do. Balmer's had a very good location in terms of getting to the smaller mountain villages via public transportation, even though it was in a relatively unexciting area itself. The breakfast provided was great for ease, but it was pretty average in quality. Overall, though, we had a great time and it was the best hostel for it's worth to stay at!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Balmers staff were very helpful with activity suggestions. The rooms were clean. I loved that they had hammocks for guests to use in the courtyard area. The one suggestion I would make is to have more outlets to charge electronics in each room. I was in an 8 bed room and there were 7 outlet plugs. It took some negotiating with roommates and using a splitter had with me to charge our phones, cameras, and iPads.


89%

Awesome staff and people. Room and showers are very basic, but def the most fun I have had us while staying at this hostel.


80%

Basic rooms and facilities but amazing people, staff and a great time. I would definitely recommend staying there especially to solo travelers who would like to meet nice people to chat with


83%

everything is of good quality, but just one reminder: there are many Korean living in this hostel and they would probably be your roommate if you choose a large room. As Korean girls (not knowing about boys) go to bed early, like lying on the bed and ready to sleep at 11pm, so it can be very troublesome if you want to stay up late and do your own stuff inside the room. Apart from this, everything is fine to me :DD the location, the environment and the room~


97%

Lovely hostel in ideal place.


83%

Hostel is pretty nice but not a great value for your money. Breakfast was not good


54%

The kitchen was not clean. The hostel staff should check the kitchen from time to time to make sure the kitchen is always clean. Otherwise, it will be very hard for the hostel to make it clean because almost all guests seem to be university students.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review, our night staff clean the guest kitchen thouroughly in the evenings when there is noone using it, during the day the guests are expected to clean up after themselves....it is a shame for others when not all guests help out.

94%

A very cool hostel has everything thing you need there and the staff were very helpful when booking activities to do during the day, would recommend this hostel!


94%

Great place, great facilities and atmosphere. Only downsides are kitchen can get crowded and there should be lockers in the room. I had to carry my passport around the whole time as I didn't want to have to pay per hour to lock it up. But it was fine as interlaken feels very safe. Other than that awesome place.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a fantastic time at Balmers. Easy to take the bus from there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you had a great time at Balmers !!!

60%

Stayed in double room, without locker and hanger. Shared bathroom. Shower too small and sometime hot water is not available. Kitchen is to small, especially when many guests cooking in the same time and also lack of cutlery, some stoves did not work, so we had to queue up for cooking. Location is quite far from Interlaken Ost. Free breakfast but very BASIC, only 1 kind of bread, corn flake and milk, no oats, coffee/tea. Luggage storage is available but NOT FREE, price depend on storage size.


63%

한국사람 엄청 많고 시끄러워요. 조용한 여행하고 싶다면 비추


23%

This hostel is not at all clean, family friendly and safe. I would not recommend staying for anyone except for teenagers.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(141 results)


View all Interlaken Hostels

Please give us your feedback