X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Balmers Herberge Reviews

Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
4013 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The place itself was quite large, many different areas to hang out depending on what you want to do. Staff was very helpful when it came to activities in the area. Only downside was no lockers in the rooms, lockers were on the main floor and you had to pay


63%

This would be an awesome hostel to stay at with a group. There's a big club and lots going on, but as a solo traveler that can be a bit much and sometimes makes it harder to meet people. Still, I think out of all the hostels in Interlaken, Balmers is among the better selection.


86%

It was good but the disco is too loud at night, too much.


66%

침대시트나 베게 카바를 자주 가는지 모르겠네요 제가 누었던 자리엔 뭐가 묻어있었어서 좀 별로였어요....잘때도 간지럽고 ㅜㅜ


57%

Quite a noisy old building. No where to store luggage and valuables except lockers which were quite expensive.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

SO if a review was based on first impressions, Balmers would get a decent rating. Looked great, fairly helpful employees, and clean. However, if you're one of those rare hostellers who's too exhausted for "Balmers Nightclub" downstairs, STAY FAR FAR AWAY. No joke, earth-shaking dubstep kept us awake until 3am on a Thursday. Then drunken clubbers stumbled around our room til 5am - is anyone ever sober here? Basically no sleep for 72 hours. For the price we paid, it's insulting. One word: Respect.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My absolute favourite hostel that I have stayed in so far. Such a great atmosphere and it was just a really cool place to stay. Located a little out from the train station but it has its own bar/club and is close to outdoor interlaken as well as other food places. We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. I look forward to returning and spending more time here! Definetally recommend this hostel


100%

Loved it! Had a really good time. Wonderful spa!


91%

Only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. The bathroom and showers were a little strange and could get frustrating if there were more people there but it was fairly quiet when we stayed in mid-May. Overall a great hostel and terrific place to stay.


74%

Balmer's is great for meeting other travelers. It is located a little bit far from the center of Interlaken but is closer to the river and the landing spot for hang-gliding and paragliding. The Balmer's club is the only dance club in all of Interlaken so its is a great place to stay for that. The staff are friendly and it is a perfect location for making friends from all over the world. You can make reservations for your adventures from the front desk and there's a bus stop right in front.


97%

Great hostel. We were treated well by the staff, and the room was in good condition. Best part, however, was the social atmosphere... very easy to meet new people and hang out in the common areas. Would definitely recommend.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything in the hostel closes way too early. Why is the game room closed so early and why do you have to sign out the ping pong equipment and stuff. Late at night is when your customers would like to play such games. It was discussed multiple times as we were confined to the dinning area. Drinking card games was all we could play.


80%

I think that somethings on the website were a little deceiving. For example it said private bathroom so we thought that meant our own bathroom but in reality it was sharing it with everyone on the floor. Everything was clean and there wasn't any kind of problems and the staff was super nice. Just the description was a little confusing. I also thought it was very generous of them to allow us to use their lockers even though we were checked out!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at, would strongly recommend it to anyone and everyone. The staff are great, free breakfast is quite good, atmosphere is awesome as well; no complaints whatsoever!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the amazing review, so happy to hear you had a great time!!!

83%

Really good atmosphere. There is a patio/back yard area that's really nice. Has a decent breakfast with toast and yogurt that's included in the price. Bus pass is included in the price which is good. Bus is also right across the street for getting to Lauterbrunnen. Only thing that is bad about the place is the locker's. You have to pay for them every 24 hours and pretty pricey for large lockers, around 10 francs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wishing you safe travels, thank you for your review!

91%

I really liked the overall vibe and character of the hostel. I didn't like that you have to pay for lockers but everything else was wonderful. The staff were super friendly and helpful, there was always stuff to do and it was a really fun place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we love that you found it always fun! We like to provide secure lockers with video surveillance as a lot of the rooms in the chalet are too small to fit lockers inside. Unfortunately when you provide this service it never comes free...would be nice though :-) .

77%

I think you are paying more for the name of the hostel than you are for the quality. But either way we still had a good stay despite the bad weather!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Quiet, nice and clean. Staff was super sweet :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yey!! Our Staff are Sweet!! Thank you!

89%

Balmer's has its own heritage in Interlaken and I was happy to stay there. A little different than other hostels, cozy atmosphere in the dorms and awesome chill places and a bumping bar underground at night. Had to pay for lockers though and a bit far from train stations. Don't pay extra for breakfast, go to a bakery for same price. I wish I had come in the summer when things really get going. But free foozball and ping pong and pool so hey I can't complain!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and happy to hear you had a good time!

86%

Great hostel! Super clean and had a good breakfast. Easy to locate as well!


(79 results)


View all Interlaken Hostels

Please give us your feedback